We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arkle House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
City Hotel(Derry)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
172
38
15
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
38
15
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate kitchenb blovely homefull irish breakfastlovely decoroff street parkingexcellent accommodationcity centrepleasant stayhome away from hometwin roomshort drivefirst floorfamily roomwould definitely stay here againyogurttea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from 2 nights stay at Arkle House B&B in Derry, and we had a wonderful time. We had no complaints, and were quite happy with the accomodations. The B&B is in a lovely old home - which is our favorite kind of B&B. From the very first, we were made to feel at home by the very helpful, friendly landlady. The B&B is tucked away in a quiet residential area, so things were always peaceful. It is only a short drive into the center of town; if you take a taxi, it's about a 3.50 (sterling) fare. The gardens are beautiful. Derry's a great town, the people seem to be working hard to get past the unfortunate history of the Troubles. Everyone we had any dealings with in town - from cabbies to wait staff at restaurants - were uniformly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be going back to Derry, and when we do, we'll be staying again at Arkle House.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pljmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The room was quite small - the smallest of all the B&B's we stayed at on this trip. The bathroom was like a closet - I could barely fit in and I'm not that big a person. Also there wasn't alot of closets and drawers to put our stuff in. You get what you pay for I suppose as this was also the cheapest B&B we stayed at.
However, the service was impeccable. Extremely friendly host who came all the way downtown to meet us so we could follow him to the place. We never would have found it on our own. Also, when we went downtown he gave us a ride since he was going downthere anyway and saved us the cost of a cab. (Cabs weren't too expensive anyway.) The breakfast was also good, the first place where we got to try some Irish black pudding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank live2travel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was a very nice place for our recent stay in Derry. The house was warm, comfortable, and inviting. Our host was friendly and very helpful, especially with one particular need that we had. There was a nice restaurant and market close (walking distance), and we used both. The guest kitchen was very much appreciated. Our room was quite small, as was the bath, but given the little time we spent in the room, it was not an issue. Breakfast was very good, and promptly served. Car parking was much appreciated. Cab fare to the City center was very reasonable, so we left our car parked while we explored the area. Overall, a good value in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Nice and clean B&B with big rooms. The rooms are nicely decorated and the whole house fells very comfortable. It's close to the City but very quiet with a big garden. The owners were very friendly and helpful. Try the irish breakfast there, it can't get much better ;)

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathiezzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

just back from a 3 night stay at Arkle House and I can thoroughly recommend. With a large party of 8 which included a baby we were worried about facilities but we need not have worried, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. The little kitchen for guest use was an added extra which came in very handy when feeding the baby. Sally and her husband are lovely hosts and we felt very at home, nothing was too much trouble (a sneaky glass of wine while waiting on a taxi was much appreciated). House and grounds are beautiful, breakfast is top notch and we will hopefully return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenS4517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews