We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arkle House B and B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arkle House B and B
Ranked #11 of 47 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Travelled to Londonderrry last week for work reasons and stayed at the Arkle House.Excellent bed and breakfast and was made to feel really welcome.Breakfast is out of this world and you will not go hungry there is that much choice.Very clean and comfortable guest rooms.All in all i would say well done to the owners and i hope to visit again,but next time for leisure rather than work.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    36
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
55
71
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymartin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our first time in Londonderry was made all the more special thanks to the fantastic stay at the Arkle House B&B. This lovely period house is about 5 minute drive from the city centre. Not only is it handy for getting around, but it is also very peaceful and makes you feel right at home. This is because the owners, Sally and Terry are very welcoming, and make their home feel like your home. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The beds are so comfy that you feel like you are sleeping on a cloud. There is also a kitchen that the guests can use if they so like to make and eat diner or even a cuppa whenever they like. Another plus is the excellent breakfast. You can start with a selection of fresh fruit, cereals and juice before your cooked breakfast. I recommend the full 'Irish'. You may need a wee walk afterwards to walk it off lol. If you are looking for comfort and value for money then the Arkle House is the right place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamiltor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Derry/Londonderry is a fantastic and historic city. I has traveled to Derry for a business visiting and stay in Arkle house. The location is wonderful and very convenient to shops, superstores and city center and it is a very cozy place to stay. Sally and Terry are the most friendly, welcoming people I have met. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhiheng Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

As my first time in Derry, I was lookin for a cosy B&B and I was not disappointed with Arkle House.
From meeting a friendly face when we arrived to a hearty breakfast I can't recommend this place highly enough. Will be bragging to friends about stopping here when in Derry and hope to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tighttid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

As a native of Derry who now lives in Glasgow I demand a great place to stay when I return home for a short stay and Arkle House is one of the best Derry has to offer, in fact I stay nowhere else when I'm back. I've stayed there now at least once a year over the last 6yrs and each time is as good as the last. You have a beautiful house to stay in with lovely comfortable bedrooms, each with it's own en suite which are all very clean and well maintained. Off street parking is also a great advantage of this excellent guest house, not to mention the close proximity to Derry City centre. Beautiful Donegal is also minutes away by car. I think Arkle House's best attributes are the the fantastic hosts you get in Sally and Terry. Both are always there with a warm welcome and broad smile not to mention a great breakfast in the morning. So, if you want great accommodation at fantastic value for your money then Arkle House is the place for you. As I said earlier, it's Derry at its best!.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJMDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delavan, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had spent a long day in Northern Ireland, so we hoped we would find a good B & B in the city of Derry. We lucked out and found a delightful place in the Arkle House. The location was wonderful, as we could walk across the street for a priced right restaurant and an ATM. The Arkle House was very neat and comfortable with hosts that are very friendly and helpful. The morning meal was very good. I'd recommend this B & B. to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Derry/LondonDerry, What a fantastic city. Absolutely full to overflowing with history.
My stay at Arkle House was, for me, a home from home. Immaculate, cozy and very comfortable to say the least. The proprietors, Sally and Terry Cassidy are 2 of the most friendly, welcoming people I have met. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Breakfast was plentifu and varied and a great start to the day. About 5mins taxi ride into the city centre so, if you prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle, this B+B is ideally situated. A well kept garden area gives beautiful surroundings in which to relax and offers plenty of parking space.
Looking forward to my next visit and would highly recommend Arkle House to anyone visiting this this part of Northern Ireland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHAUN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.2 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Groarty House & Manor B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkle House B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkle House B and B

Property: Arkle House B and B
Address: 2 Coshquin Road, Derry BT48 0ND, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arkle House B and B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arkle House described in the original brochure as a "Gentleman's residence", was built around 1900. The property has been recently refurbished, with great care taken to maintain the original charm and ambiance of this lovely old building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Arkle House B and B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkle House B And B Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing