We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was by far the best wedding reception I have ever been to.We booked overnight accomodation Everything about The Belfry was exceptional, the food,the accomodation,the service and all the staff on duty.I must give a special thanks to the door staff who were courteous and helpful.
A great big thank you to both owners may your business continue as I and many friends will be there again.

Room Tip: The bridal suite will delight any bride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamellaDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

After a scenic route from Belfast Airport along the coast to the Belfray Country Inn we arrived tired and hungry and got a very welcoming reception from the front desk. The room was wonderfully large,nicely furnished and had a huge very comfortable bed which I immediately described as "sumptious". There was plenty of hanging space and plenty of coat hangers. The only let downs were the shower, it was more of a trickle than a shower and went hot and cold which was surprising, and the view, or rather, the lack of as we looked onto a flat roof and a wall. The rolling hills and nice views were on the other side of the corridor.
The Belfray Inn is a popular spot for weddings (which is what we came for) and the food, music, service and decorations could not be faulted in any way. The food was very tasty considering the amount of people they had to prepare for and it was still hot when it came to the table, not always given at such large functions. We also ate at their restaurant the evening of our arrival and the food was good, portions adequate and prices reasonable. The draft Guinness really does taste different! The Belfray is on a main road just outside Derry and within easy reach of other main roads that lead to the coast or inland so whereever you want to go is easy to find.
Would stay there again if we ever had occasion to travel to Derry in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get the room with no view. I think it was Room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BB22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

I was at a wedding on 5 july 2012 in the belfreay.
Was very happy with first impression, has that country inn look about it.
While waiting to move in to dinning area was not impresed with bar area we were put into
to small but a small hitch. Hope you will recItify that if you do renovation.
Lay out of dinning hall excellent Bride and Groom sitting down while rest of guests looked
down on them very well planned.
Servic and staff excellent food excellent 10/10.
Stayed that night room excellent 10/10
Breakfast fresh and well cooked compement to chef.
Definitely lives up to is reputation.
View from back of hotel breathtaken especaly when sun is going down.
Will be back again for a meal.
I have to doff my cap to the oweners Brian and john and his fantastac staff.
Overall impression 10/10 plus absolutely amazing.

Room Tip: Just read the reviews all true and honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

My wife and I stayed between the 11th and 18th July 2012 and we were not disappointed it lived up to all the 5 star ratings on this site. As well as eating in the Bistro during our stay we also attended a family Birthday for my sister in law on the Saturday evening and a family lunch in the Ballroom on the Sunday and everything from the staff to the quantity and quality of the food was excellent. Credit to Brian and John for a first class establishment.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was recently a guest at my cousins wedding at The Belfray Country Inn, Drumahoe. In all my life I have never enjoyed a wedding so much, the staff were ever helpful, nothing was a bother to them, their mannerism was outstanding. All praise to their manageress Geraldine and her fantastic team. The day certainly was a special occasion, not only for the Bride and Groom. The owners Brian and John made each and every one of us feel special. I'm 54 years young and have never had such a wonderful fun packed day, the entertainment (cabaret) was awe inspiring, the service fantastic and the meal was by far the best I have ever had at a wedding, the sound system and the lighting have to be seen to be believed. I know that I will be booking my own family occasions with The Belfray Country Inn. Hats off to you all and thank you for making the wedding a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms are located perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I would just like to say that The Belfray County Inn is the best hotel in the North West. Me & my husband just want to say how all the staff made our wedding evening reception an amazing one!!! Brian, John, Geraldine & all the staff you made sure me, my hubby & all our guests had a fantastic evening we will not forget. The service & professional standard of this hotel is the best & the food was just delicious....our guests raved about the food & the atmosphere was just brill. The personal attention, care & professionalism we got was superb. The honeymoon suite was perfect and well catered for. I would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion especially any bride&grooms to be...just perfect!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We had the chance to stay at The Belfray Country Inn in our most recent trip to Ireland. We just wanted to write and say thanks to Siobhan, the front desk manager. She absolutely went out of her way to be helpful to us in terms of directions, accommodations and even helping us book our reservation for a B and B down near the Dublin airport. She truly enhanced our trip to Ireland with her friendliness, helpfulness and eagerness to help. We are so thankful to her.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maine276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £65 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing