We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in comfortable surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Having returned from a stay at The Belfray, I can honestly say I feel like I've been to stay with friends. I received a warm welcome on arrival and in the restaurant. When I arrived in the restaurant it was already getting busy but I was given a quiet table and presented with an a la carte menu and a set price menu. I chose to dine a la carte and was spoilt for choice. The food was lovely; fresh, perfectly cooked and well presented. Not cheap but fairly priced for the quality and portion sizes. The room was very nice; not huge but perfectly adequate. The bed was very, very comfortable - so comfortable I didn't want to leave. The hotel looks as though it's had a fairly recent makeover and it should be noted that it has been done sympathetically and tastefully. The staff are exceptionally friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble for them.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clockwork_Angels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 574 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

Las Vegas Spectacular night 29/09/2012.
First sight of the Belfray gave me a good feeling that we had sellected a great hotel for a good night of first class dining and entertainment. The owners Brian & John are to be commended on the way the Country Inn is run and the friendly staff they employ, they all make you very welcome which made the evening a very pleasant one. Looking forward to the Christmas party night.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyJoeEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed 20/21 of September and we were more than happy with our room which was very comfortable, the staff were very friendly and treated us like lifelong friends instead of just people passing through. We had dinner both nights in the bistro and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced. The hotel is about 3 miles from Derry/Londonderry city centre so is a good base for sightseeing without being in the city itself. If i am back up that way again i will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: city side rooms would be quieter especially when there is a function taking place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear kcon52,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us this week.

We & our staff appreciate all comments given & we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belfray Country Inn.

Regards,

John & Brian & all the Belfray Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I live only live up the road from this establishment so I never stayed as a guest however I have attended many functions in the hotel and have used the bar for drinks and food a few times. What I would say is that if you are coming to the Londonderry area and you are looking for food or somewhere to stay the Belfrey is well worth considering. It is run very professionally but with a good local flare. Its prices are fair and represent good value for money. I have yet to get a bad meal there. Its a good place to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarryNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear BarryNorthernIreland, ( Neighbour )

Thank you for posting your review following your recent dining experiences with us @ the Belfray.

We look forward to welcoming you back & trying out our New Menus, beginning on Monday 8th October, with lots of new mouth watering dishes & some firm favourites.

See you soon,

John & Brian & all the Belfray Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My son Richard and NEW daughter-in-law Kerry Leckey had their wedding reception at The Belfray Country Inn last Saturday 8th September 2012 and it was absolutely amazing. The owners Brian and John were so welcoming and all of the staff were so friendly and happy to help with anything. Everything ran so smoothly and the day was just PERFECT. I would highly recommend it to anyone for a wedding or any other occasion. A massive Thank you to everyone at The Belfray.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AssumptaLeckey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Dear AssumptaLeckey,

We all @ The Belfray are delighted that Kerry & Richards Big Day was perfect.

We take alot of time & effort to ensure that all our weddings are faultless & leave you wanting for nothing which in this case seems to have happened.

We look forward to welcoming yourself & the whole family back to the Belfray in the near future.


Regards,

John & Brian & the Belfray Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Attended a wedding yesterday 5/9/2012 and all I can say that the whole wedding experience was excellent. The food which is always the talking point at any wedding was fantastic also the snacks of fish and chips later in the evening were yummy. Staff were very helpful and polite. Only downside I have is that we were not able to stay overnight and enjoy the hotel longer. We hope to book in for either Christmas or the New Year celebration night this coming week. Thank you owners and staff for a most enjoyable day we had a fabulous time. Madeleine

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeleine_D263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was by far the best wedding reception I have ever been to.We booked overnight accomodation Everything about The Belfry was exceptional, the food,the accomodation,the service and all the staff on duty.I must give a special thanks to the door staff who were courteous and helpful.
A great big thank you to both owners may your business continue as I and many friends will be there again.

Room Tip: The bridal suite will delight any bride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamellaDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
667 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,303 reviews
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,099 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £65 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing