We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel and staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed in the Belfray on Saturday night. Found the staff extremely friendly and welcoming, especially Sally on reception. Had a lovely room, beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean - as was the en suite which was a great size. We had a meal in the bar that evening and the choice was fantastic and service excellent. Would definitely return as it is excellent value for money and taxi fares are really cheap into town.
Leslie and Linda

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindajc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear "lindajc_13" Leslie & Linda,

On behalf of the entire Befray Team, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your fantastic "5*" comment on your recent stay with us.

We take pride in the knowledge that our guests enjoy the "Belfray Experience"

We look forward to welcoming back to the hotel.

Regards,

The Belfray Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    46
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
192
143
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

This hotel was wonderful, staff very friendly and helpful especially sally at reception. rooms clean, bright and roomy, the food was also excellent would definitely stay again. only downfall it was hard to get a taxi back from town.

Joanne from Newry

Room Tip: Room 115 was very big and would happily sleep 3/4 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Dear "Joanne C"

On belhalf of Sally & the entire team @ the Belfray, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your kind comments following your recent stay with us.

We like to go that little extra to ensure that we leave guests with a lasting memory of their visit.

The team look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Regards,

The Belfray Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We booked this hotel for a motorcycling holiday over Easter and what a great time we had. it was a wet and miserable ride and crossing so when we eventually got to the hotel we were ready for some comfort and we were not disappointed.
The staff were friendly and very helpful, they even sorted out secure parking for our bikes. The room was modern clean and very spacious, it was warm and had a lovely big bath.
As for the food this was out of this world and plenty of it, in fact they could cut the portions down and make more money and no one would complain.

All in all a great hotel and one I would not hesitate to recommend.

Norman

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laynesdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear "laynesdad"

I would like to thank you on behalf of the entire "Belfray Team" for posting your kind comments on your recent stay with us.

As you stated the weather was not great, hopefully during you next visit the sun will be shining.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the "Belfray" experience from service, food, accommodation and customer service.

"Keep on biking & be safe"

Regards,

All @ the Belfray Country Inn Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

we had a great night. lovely menu and food was very good for families. would recommend to any one. all staff were excellent and very friendly, nice atmosphere. the hotel in general is very clean and welcoming we will be going back soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Front Office Manager at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Dear "clare w"

On belhalf of the "Belfray Team" we would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel.

We take pride in ensuring that a visit to the Belfray leaves a lasting memory

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

All @ the Belfray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

I spent a period of six weeks in the Belfray staying as a guest with my son after having a house fire. The owners, managers, kitchen staff, reception staff,bar staff,housekeeping staff and restaurant staff were excellent. We were made feel very welcome and got to know everyone well over this time. Nothing was ever any bother and everyone was very courteous and helpful throughout our stay. I ate with my son each evening in the restaurant and the food was excellent with a great range of food on the menu.
Also on a Sunday we had a carvery lunch which was excellent with the restaurant very well run as it is extremely popular and busy on Sundays. On Easter Sunday my entire family and some friends had Sunday Carvery lunch which was beautiful and very generous portions. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and will visit again and again. Anne & Keelin O'Kane

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Anne and Keelan thank you for posting this review-we know how hard it was to lose everything in the fire.We hope we made you feel at home as we all knew how you felt.
It was a pleasure to look after you both and please do call in when passing to say hello-your both just like a part of the Belfray Family
Love from us all and hope your new home will make you both very happy again
John Brian and All the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

On a recent visit to the belfray i am delighted to say it was a wonderful experience for myself and my invited party..It all started with the warm welcoming we received..We were showing to are tables and presented with menus..we were allowed just the right amount of time before are order was taken..I would like to say how helpful and pleasant the staff were..Our food arrived beautifully presented and i must say speaking for myself and my friends it was delicious..We went on to have dessert and irish coffees and again we were surprised with both presentation and service..I would go as far to recommend the belfray country inn to any one looking to dine either as a family or just for a great night out for drinks..Atmosphere and staff all around so helpful looking forward to seeing you all again soon..

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholat500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thankyou for choosing The Belfray Bistro for your meal.We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening.It means a lot to Staff and Management Team to know that they are doing a good job.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
John Brian and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We just celebrated our twins christening @ the belfray. The staff made the whole day very special for us going that extra mile to make sure everyone is catered for. No job too big for brian & his staff. I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We also celebrated our wedding there 3 years ago-again faultless. The food is to die for.and the staff so very friendly. Thanks for everything brian xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arob27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are thrilled that your journey from Belfast brought you to enjoy our Hotel.
Thank you for your kind review .We put through the Carvery on Sundays around 1100 persons on average and it is great to here that we keep up standards and service and that your experience was pleasing
We hope to see you at the Belfray in the near future.
John Brian and all the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,947 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Property: The Belfray Country Inn
Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing