We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay at this fantastic spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Ulverston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One night stay at this fantastic spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This hotel is brilliant, set in nice countryside just outside Derry. Rooms top class, and service friendly and very helpful. The bar is good, especially the guinness. It's a taxi ride into Derry, though this is pretty cheap. The restaurant is very popular so it is advisable to book if you ant to eat there. All in all very difficult to fault

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David499564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    46
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
192
143
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was my first visit to the belfray and i have to say i will certainly be back.We had a surprise party for my parents 50th wedding anniversary,the food was excellent and the decor of the hotel was fantastic,everyone in the party was commenting on how nice it was.The staff were very friendly and catered for our every need,a special thanks to the lady and gentleman at the till at the end of the evening for your patience you know who you are.Thanks for a very enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 336MARKb336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montpelier, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful evening at The Belfray in June of 2013. Exhausted from our previous evening we were able to peacefully spend the early afternoon and evening overlooking a lovely glen with cattle and magpies. The room was well stocked with complimentary teas, coffees, cookies which made us feel welcome. The decoration was lovely and it was absolutely clean. Wi-Fi was easy and reliable. The bath was nice with a big opaque window and large tub. The dinner was HUGE, wonderful (wonderful!!, we packed up the remainders for lunch the next day!) and very well priced. There was a ball going on that evening with a live band in the ballroom and we did not hear a SOUND! Bliss! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
we were so glad you decided to call in and see us at The Belfray and that your experience was a positive one-thnkyou for your kind comments and hope it is not to long before we see you again
john brian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We were tired and hungry when we arrived and completely rejuvenated when we left the next day! Our room was beautiful and beautifully appointed (the only washcloths in Ireland), the staff was warm and welcoming, Bed was marvelous! The new elevator was fun and made for conversation! We ate in the lounge and the food was prepared perfectly and the wait staff was knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was terrific - again with a great wait staff. Highly recommend - everything was done perfectly!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roseleen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
the pleasure was all ours -we are always so grateful for customer feedback especially when our guests have enjoyed their time with us.Thankyou for your kind appraisal and hope very much to see you again
regards
john brian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

My husband and i stayed at this amazing hotel for 3 nights as it was my stepdaughters wedding .
When we arrived we were met by a lovelly helpful receptionist Daphanie and only got betterfrom there .The room. the decor the. staff. SECOND TO NONE . The wedding itself was faultless Brian the owner along with his partner John put on one of the best weddings i have been too, nothing was too much trouble the food was fantastic 5 courses in all !!!! The. actual ballroom which was set out for the wedding was stunning it took our breath away . The change over for the evening was very organised.
The morning breakfast was served by Ann. who was very helpful and attentive .
We shall definately return !

Room Tip: We did see most of the rooms they were all equally stunning The only downside no air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
it really was a pleasure hosting your big day-it is with such pride we look upon your favourable review and that we have helped in making your day one that you will never forget.
you guests were so courteous so it was enjoyable for staff and management alike
thankyou for choosing The Belfray for your special day
We hope that you will call and see us soon
regards and congratulations again
john-brian & all the Team x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel and attended a road safety business seminar organised by the Northern Ireland Road Safety council on the 27th June 2013. Everything about the Belfray from the decor, food, accomodation, staff and overall experience was FIRST CLASS, and I would recommend this wonderful place to everyone heading to L'derry. In particular all the staff are incredibly professional and helpful, nothing was too much trouble, I've not quite experienced service like it, and Martin gets a special thank you from me for the thoughtfulness (and amazing shortbread)!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685Tracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
thank so much for your kind review-we try and make our guests part of the family at The Belfray and thankfully this time we succeeded-we are so glad that your Breakfast-Conference was a real success.Hopefully we will see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

It was my first time at the Belfray Country inn hotel and it is definitely the best customer service I've ever had! The hotel and room are very clean and decorated with taste and style. The bed is amazingly comfy.
The restaurant and bistro serve delicious food, big portions and reasonable prices. The service is just EXCELLENT!!!! The Toffee & Malteser Pavlova is to die for. I recommend that hotel and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyVanille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Property: The Belfray Country Inn
Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing