We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Belfray Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
derry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

my sister got married in the belfray friday the 30th august. as a family of 6 girls me being the oldest,and not takin anything away from the rest of the girls and they agree,the attention everyone was shown especially the bridal party was amazing. Brian the owner was full hands on, to me it should be upgraded to 5star

Room Tip: didnt look for facilities my kindle is playing up i cant fault brian daphne or anyone of his staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sineadeDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    48
    10
    0
    1
See reviews for
196
142
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Were do I start??? Well attended a wedding last week at the Belfray and from start to end it was faultless. Brian, the owner was hosting theb wedding and he was a scream so funny and got the crowd going, although funny he was so professional and a perfectionist in co-ordinating his wedding team. He is such a darling, if I had attended a wedding here prior to my own I definately would have booked this venue - 4 star but should be a 5 star!!!!.

Food - We had a 5 course meal and I have to say its the nicest food I have ever tasted, nicer than any other wedding I have been to including my own!!!

Breakfast was served until 10 am, which was a little too early, but well worth getting up for, they offered all usual; cereals, yogurts, juices, hot food but my favourite was the french cinnamon swirls covered in icing and extra large croissants.

Service - The service and hospitality from all the Staff at the Belfray was outstanding nothing was a bother to them. They were all very professional.

Decor/Rooms - The decor was so luxurious; there were no corners cut or expense spared when decorating this venue. It was the nicest 4 star hotel I have ever been in, it is designed like a 5 star with all the luxurious heavy pelmets and curtains, expensive wallpaper, gorgeous velvet chairs, enormous crystal chandeliers, thick woolen carpet, etc. We stayed in a standard room and it was beautiful; with rich gold heavy curtains and gold carpet the bed was so comfortable I would have loved to have stayed an extra night.

We are visiting the Belfray again at the start of October for the Gala night and I cant wait. I am also in the process of chatting my boss into booking it for our Christmas party.

Thank you so much to Brian and all your wonderful staff for making this wedding an unforgetable day x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrookeDerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for a wedding last year what can I say it's beautiful the food was gorgeous the staff were very nice and the two fellas that run it just treat u like one of the family beautiful location for a wedding reception

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nats981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

My wife and I recently stayed in the Belfray Country Inn for 1 night. This was our 1st visit to the Belfray and will definitely not be our last.

While the outside is nice enough, bright and clean, it is only when you walk into the Belfray that you really appreciate the surroundings. Everything is of good quality and professionally and elegantly decorated. A lot of money has been spent to get this high standard of finish.

We stayed on a Monday night so it was not over crowded but there were plenty of people about.

From we arrived on Monday afternoon until we left on Tuesday mid morning, the service we received was outstanding.
We enjoyed a beautiful meal in the bistro from the dinner menu for residents. This is a great package (BB+EM) and the menu was extensive enough to suit most people. The food was of the highest standard, but not fine dining which I hate, and the portions were plentiful, which I love. We also saw customers having the carvery when we arrived on Monday afternoon and it looked excellent both in quantity and value. We intend to try the carvery in the near future.

Our room was beautiful with good quality fixtures and fittings and the most comfortable king sized bed we have every had in any hotel, ever, and this is our 6th hotel stay in 2013 so far.
Breakfast the next morning was of the same high standard as dinner, with a good selection of cereal and fruits etc and all the usual cooked options. Best full cooked breakfast also.

Service and staff. I have left this to last as I feel it requires to be highlighted. From the receptionist, room attendants, bar men and in particular the restaurant and breakfast staff, are without doubt the Belfray's greatest asset. Well dressed, polite, efficient, and obviously well trained and their respective jobs. A nice thing to see was the staff wearing white gloves when they reset the dining tables and the carvery servers cleaning the serving area spotless after the carvery had ended. Obviously hygiene is of great importance to all concerned. No rushing about when busy and their standard never drops.
Well done to the management in setting the standards and employing great staff to deliver.

We are a well travelled middle aged couple who like decent quality, decent value, and decent service for our money. Pound for pound the Belfray is without doubt the best value place we have EVER stayed and dined in. We have paid a lot more for a lot less in other establishments in Ireland, the UK, and abroad.

Well done to the owners of the Belfray and maybe the owners of other hotels should pay the Belfray a visit to see how a good hotel should be ran with the customers being the most important part of any striving business. I can see the Belfray being around for a long time with repeat customers happy to spread the word.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfr800061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfray, Owner at The Belfray Country Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
thank you so much for your detailed review -we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us -we ook forard to welcoming you back in the near future
regards
john-brian and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I attended my brother's wedding reception in the Belfray Country Inn in mid-August 2013. I've been to this establishment a few times before and never disappointed and this time was no exception. The decor, the staff, the food was all top class. However the icing on the cake (no pun intended) was the work done by Brian, the co-owner. He acted as MC during the event, introducing guests and speakers, and even poking good-natured fun at some of them. He was funny, original and unique..he helped make the day even better. He payed homage to his own serving staff, which was deserved. I thought the drink prices would be the usual hotel rip-off standards but was surprised at how close they were to city pub prices. I didn't like some of the menu selections for starter and dessert (I'm a very fussy eater) but the kind staff suggested alternatives, which were not on the set menu and got them for me, they were delicious...top marks for doing this! To sum it up...you can't go far wrong choosing this Hotel for a wedding reception, or anything else that you may need to celebrate.This place is simply excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at the Belfray with our 7 year old child for a few nights and we had a wonderful time. From the time we arrived until we left the staff were fantastic. Service in the bistro and at breakfast was top class. Food was delicious and the menus were varied and catered for everyone. Rooms were spotless and very comfortable. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CMoy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

From start to finish the staff were very accommodating and professional, we were made very welcome and the meal was first class. We then went into the lounge and enjoyed bopping the night away. My mum and dad had a fantastic night.. Will definitely be back again and would highly recommend The Belfray Country Inn......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123mcguigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.8 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
3.9 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belfray Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belfray Country Inn

Property: The Belfray Country Inn
Address: 171 Glenshane Road | Drumahoe, Derry BT47 3EN, Northern Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Derry
#2 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#3 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#8 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belfray Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Faughan Valley countryside just 3 miles from Londonderry city centre is the stylish 4 star Belfray Country Inn.All 19 bedrooms Bedrooms are well-furnished and have comfortable beds with memory foam to ensure a good nights sleep,a plasma TV and free WiFi. Car parking is also complimentary.Our rooms are easily adaptable to offer a choice of accommodation from family rooms to our popular Executive rooms. Our stylish Belfray Bistro serves food all day, every day, and hosts live evening entertainment at the weekend.Weddings and conferences are also catered for in our lavish Ballroom which has tiered levels, own lighting and sound system.The Belfray is ideally located for The Historic Walled City, the beautiful North Antrim Coast or the scenery of Donegal. The Belfray Country Inn is the closest hotel to Altnagelvin Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, HRS, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Belfray Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belfray Country Hotel Derry
The Belfray Country Inn Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing