We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautfully restored church”

First Derry Presbyterian Church
Ranked #29 of 136 things to do in Derry
Attraction details
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautfully restored church”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This church was extensively damaged by petrol bombs and dry rot. It has been beautifully restored. The stained glass windows are quite colourful for a Presbyterian church. The exterior is also very impressive.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonah_Noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Church / Fabulous hospitaility”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Architecture & History.

We had coffee and scones served during a Fund Raising Coffee morning: Excellent

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank cjrossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely building”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Minister, David, is a charming man who is justifiably proud of his church. Possibly worth going to a service if you are there on a Sunday.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank littlesisterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our best experience on our trip to the city:)”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We were greeted so well by a lovely gentleman on arrival to the church on Thursday 22nd August 2013, he took the time to tell us alot about the history of the church and took time to enjoy a general chat with us and we also got a lovely solo from one of the male voice choir members who also took the time to talk to us and share some of his experiences of the church. We left feeling so touched at how friendly and welcoming they were. The building was beautiful we definitely recommend a visit:)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Killymaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmore, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A beautiful building and lovely people!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had visited the Guildhall and a visit to the church was recommended by the staff there. We decided to call in and we were shown around by two lovely people who told us all about the history of the church and the refurbishment and the information about the stained glass windows. It is a beautiful building and well worth a visit, don't walk past!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ditravel3136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed First Derry Presbyterian Church also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to First Derry Presbyterian Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing