We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice in a month and would go again!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Workhouse Museum and Library
Londonderry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Been twice in a month and would go again!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I visited the Museum with my boyfriend a few weeks ago as he as just moved into the area around the workhouse. We met the tour guide at the top of the stairs and he took us on an impromptu yet very detailed tour! He really made our day. We were the only people in the museum at the time and yet the whole time he was was talking, all we could hear were footsteps and banging doors! I got spooked on a few occasions but it was exciting. It was amazing to learn the history of the area.
I came home and told my mother everything we'd seen and heard and SHE wanted to go so this morning she and I went up. This time there was a female guide and she was fantastic as well. We were more interested in any ghostly sightings or noises and she told us so many stories, we both got the chills. I highly recommend visiting the Workhouse, you'll be welcomed by the warmest people. Can't wait to hear how this paranormal team get on in it! The female guide told us about how the Derry Journal did a piece on the workhouse museum a few years ago and how they were supposed to stay overnight in the building to see if it really was as haunted as they say - and they only lasted to 1am!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    6
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhos on Sea, North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Atmospheric and Challenging”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We visited this museum on a trip to Northern Ireland. First, it is not easy to find and the signing for it should be improved. It took us a while to locate it.

However, once having found the museum, what a treasure it is. The space for the Spitfire collection was very good. The workhouse part of the museum was just incredible. It is small, has little in the way of exhibits but it is wonderfully evocative and challenging. The second floor is closed to general visitors without a guide for health and safety reasons (and I can understand why). the guide on duty the day we visited did not normally work there (usually at the Tower Museum). She apologised at the beginning because she did not know a lot about the place - she need not have apologised as she was fantastic and walked round with us and explained the history of the workhouse and what life would have been like there. Sorry we didn't get the guides name but thanks for bringing the place alive.

We were entranced by the stories of possible ghosts / noises heard in the place. And then all three of us (me, my wife and the guide) heard footsteps when we were on the top floor.

It was a great visit all aided by the guide.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcolmC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.wales
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if in area”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This place was very good but not signposted from the road which is a shame. We did eventually find it and the young woman took us round the workhouse. It was a good little tour as there was just the 3 of us. There was a spooky atmosphere and we heard footsteps running along us in one room and there was no one else there! It was interesting to visit and the guide was very good. Hard to imagine these places existed. Thank goodness they are now just museums!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janinnwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haywards heath
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“WW2 display ver good: workhouse museum being refreshed”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We liked this little museum. They have a section on the second war associated with a Spitfire that was recently uncovered. This is a first rate display. The workhouse museum was moving down a floor when we visited, so I can't comment on this.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Closed !”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just in case anyone is thinking of visiting the Workhouse Museum - it is currently closed. and we had to walk up 3 flights of stairs to find out ! Accurate signs urgently required >

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Janey 3352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Workhouse Museum and Library also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to Workhouse Museum and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing