We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice B&B, good location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Ranked #22 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Myself and my husband stayed in Derry for one night, it is a great city. The Saddlers B&B was nice, full of character, great hospitality and a great breakfast. We had a really nice big room with a tiny bathroom! However just to note that if you are a person who does not like dogs then maybe avoid it as there was a big dog wandering around the kitchen at breakfast time who did smell a little. Overall we would return and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phantom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2011

Saddler House was so spacious and well appointed that we almost wanted to stay indoors, but the charm of Derry's old town was too strong a pull. Derry is full of history, tragedy and hopes for peace, and it's most definitely worth a lingering visit. You cannot find a nicer place to be your home away from home, than Saddlers House.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCtraveler1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Friends told us to avoid being in Derry for the 12th of July due to the possibility of "troubles" on that day. We took their advice to heart and only allowed one night in Derry. That seemed a shame at the time and in introspect. Yes there were isolated incidents in the city, but none near where we stayed.We woud have been totally safe, but moved on per the advice.The irony of mentioning this to our innkeeper was humurous. He advised us to mention this to the tourist office staff at the city "i".

We didn't do this because they were swamped with tour bus people at the time we went back.

We were booked at the Merchants House, but were told to check in at Saddlers House to get keys, etc on arrival. The owner James showed us a room on the street level which seemed a wonderful option after nights of climbing multiple staircases in our preious location. We took the room, and agreed to go to the Merchants House for breakfast the next morning. The food was just as expected. Offers of full Irish breakfast, which had lost it's appeal days before, but we were perfectly wsated with eggs, ham/bacon, mushrooms and some tomatoes. The craic was the best part of the meal.

When seated at a large table full of strangers, someone must start the conversation. Make it happen. The next thing you know the innkeeper is throwing you out so they can get ready for the next waves of guests Meanwhile you will discuss so many topics in such short amounts of time you feel like you are back in debate class at school. I had discussions about Obama, the Brit PM, the Murdoch scandal, the value of the pound/euro/dollar and so much more.

Lost my train ofr thought there,,, Saddlers House was all ours for the night. Very comfortable and a nice fridge to store our picnic lunch. I;m sure Mershants was just as lovely..Can't imagine any negivity applied to either..

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auntie_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Derry is a terrific city to explore and learn about, and The Saddler House is a wonderful B&B. My wife and I and another couple stayed here during a recent trip to Derry and No. Ireland. It's a sweet little place. Pleasant and informative hosts, quiet street, great breakfast, excellent location for exploring the city. Just leave your car, and walk the town. We'd highly recommend it as the perfect complement to a visit to a fine old city with an interesting but bloody history.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David-Mila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

The Saddler’s House

My husband & I have spent 185 days on the road in the last 8 months and this is one of the places that will stand out in our memory, and that we will happily recommend to family & friends. We spent 6 nights at the Saddler’s House, after deciding the make Derry home base for day trips in Northern Ireland. We were very happy with both Saddler’s House and with our time in Derry. This is a wonderful B&B that was recommended in our travel guide. The owners have other accommodations available, another B&B around the corner (3 minute walk) plus some self-catering options. We saw the other B&B, Merchant’s House and we also recommend it.

Things we like about Saddler’s House:
* The owners are friendly & positive. Very helpful with questions & requests.
* The location – it was an easy walk to the city walls & city centre (about 8 minutes, and I’m a slow walker) and the location was quiet at night.
* Saddler’s House has a sitting room for guests – I like having a room to go to outside of my bedroom. The sitting room was comfortable, with couch, chairs, desk/computer, TV.
* The house & rooms are clean & well maintained. Our room was average in size, a double bed, a comfortable chair, a dresser & a side table. The towel rack in our bathroom was over a room heater – a nice touch in the morning.
* The shower – it had a glass side instead of a curtain, I prefer glass.
* Many nice touches including Denby dishes at breakfast, antique furniture & live flowers.
* It is excellent value.
* The best breakfasts we’ve had in several months of travel, and it was included with our booking. The hot options cooked to order were: sausage, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, eggs & potato bread. The cold items were: breads, cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, yoghurt and wonderful prepared fruits (over the 6 days there were always at least 4 available and included peeled grapefruit in a light syrup, prunes in juice, strawberries, whole plums in a light syrup, apple & fruit compote). Also juices & coffee/tea.


Things we liked about Derry:
* Easy day trips to lots of beautiful spots, including Giants Causeway, the rope bridge at Carrick Reid to a pretty island, and the Inishowen Peninsula (although you would not be able to all this in one day).
* The walking tour offered by the Museum of Free Derry (http://www.museumoffreederry.org/)
* Walking around Derry & around the top of the old stone wall surrounding the city
* It has been name UK City of Culture 2013, and it was a good feeling city to walk around
* Lots of good dinner options for evenings out
* It is an affordable city

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caanaadaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Saddler's House was good in nearly every respect. The room was small but clean, and the hosts were very pleasant and helpful.

I'm very tall, and it was a little tough to move around in the small bathroom, but the location, great breakfast, and advice was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saintpaul_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Well situated, period building. Good breakfast. Friendly owners. Friendly bulldog called Bertie who will be your best friend until your breakfast plate is removed.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.1 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
661 reviews
1.3 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory

Address: 36 Great James Street, Derry BT48 7DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range: £40 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Hotel Derry
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing