We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Ranked #19 of 43 Derry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Just average B & B”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pluses...This was a convenient location near city center and Peter was a friendly and helpful host. They served a great breakfast, and there was free parking on street if available.
Minuses...The room and bathroom were VERY small and there was no hairdryer.
I realize the B and B's in this area are mostly older buildings, but I was glad we were only here for one night!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NhWishfultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    39
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
14
59
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I booked 3 rooms for American friends and myself for 2 nights and compared to all other places we stayed around Ireland, it did not come up to expectation. It is well situated but the rooms are very small, I was glad I was in my room on my own. The carpet looked as if it hadn't been hoovered for days, the dressing table was not cleaned the second day 'because there were personal items on it', and the blankets were very dated, barely reaching across the bed.

Room Tip: If a couple, ask for their largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banner2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
522 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Been traveling thru Ireland for over 15 days. I've been in some wonderful b&b. I realize these are old buildings and rooms can be small. This room was incredibly small. Bath is size of a broom closet. Owners didn't understand what I was speaking. Not a good stop. Keep looking and find another spot.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B&B is located on the edge of the Bogside which was an ideal location with an easy walk into the centre. Parking was free across the road and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

It was unfortunate the weather was so cold, but there wasn't anything they could do about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed here with my parents when they came to visit in December. I normally would stay in hostels but this was a good choice for them. The owners were friendly and the house felt like it had alot of history. I would prefer to stay again at the hostels in the city, but for my parents this was a solid choice. Very comfortable, central and the place had alot more charachter than the possible alternative choices of hotels..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janinew597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed here on a weekend trip from Belfast. The place was easy to find in our rented car with a GPS. Parking was of no problem as it was a saturday night. Once you stepped in you wouldn't think you were in a B&B. The place is soooo....... homely. It is like staying in a Irish friend's home. Peter is such a great host; showing us all over the house even though we were only staying one night. The place is warm and comfortable.

Then he took out a map and indicated the various locations of restaurants and sights. From Saddler's House it was a very short walk into town centre. We had dinner at Flaming Jack's which was very good. The next morning, it was drizzling but that did not deter us from joining the walking tour (a must do!).

Prices were reasonable and we would definitely choose Saddler's House again if we were to return to Derry. The only downside is the ensuite bathroom shower. It is very small and I would think too small for the average caucasians. But we asians are on the small size!

Room Tip: Don't choose the front room esp on a saturday night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GasmanPenang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

If you are looking for a smart modern place to stay then The Saddler's House is not for you. If you want somewhere comfortable and close to the heart of Derry then you should consider it. Joan and Peter are very friendly and are happy to share their extensive knowledge of the area with you.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threekiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 12 in Derry
1,993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Derry
Travelodge Derry
#11 of 12 in Derry
452 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#4 of 43 in Derry
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory

Property: The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Address: 36 Great James Street, Derry BT48 7DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Hotel Derry
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing