We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homemade bread and marmelades for breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Derry
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Ranked #20 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Schwerte, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Homemade bread and marmelades for breakfast”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

On a short roundtrip through Northern Ireland my mom and I stayed at the Saddlers House.
We enjoyed our time there a lot.
Joan and Peter were soft-hearted, really friendly and helpful. Joan's homemade soda bread and the marmelades were extremly delicious! But also all the rest of the breakfast was perfect.
The location was very central but still quiet and parking was free on the streets.
We can definately recommend the Saddlers House.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Defrost_Hallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    39
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
13
59
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Joan and Peter gave us a great welcome and offered any help we wanted.
The Saddler's House is in an excellent position - just a short walk from the city wall and the centre of town. The river - The Foyle - and the Bogside murals are also within ten minutes walk.
The Saddler's House is a characterful old town house and our twin room was at the top of the building. Joan, our helpful hostess, lugged my companion's rather large suitcase all the way up there. We had left it in the hall to go back down for...... so that was a lovely surprise. Peter kindly took it back down at the end of the stay!
Now on the downside our twin was petite/small and the ensuite shower room was absolutely minute. We were glad we are both quite slim! But, Joan had previously told me The Saddler's House is an old town house and the twin at the top was not that spacious - so maybe we shouldn't have been surprised. Yes, indeed that ensuite had definitely been squeezed in!
On the up side the beds were comfy, the duvets good and the water in the bathroom was hot.
However the room was rather noisy as it faced onto the street and, we did take a long time to get to sleep as the curtains also let in quite a bit of light. I think if they put up the other half of the double glazing and had thicker curtains it would make all the difference to the noise level. As far as I could tell only one other guest room in the house faces the front so any of the rooms at the back would probably be lovely and quiet.
Tea and coffee making facilities were discovered in the bedside cupboard and there was a hair dryer.
Breakfast was OK but not brilliant - but we had been exceptionally lucky with our other experiences - so maybe our expectations were too high. The toast you cooked yourself which was fine and there were lovely fruits and delicious yoghurt to start with, along wiith fruit juice, jams, butter etc as desired.
Unfortunately though I had a very cool coffee experience and my companion's vegetarian breakfast choices ended up as a very tiny portion of scrambled egg with just one half of a tomato which both looked fairly forlorn on the plate prior to the additionally requested baked beans arriving. We had previously advised one of us was vegetarian so maybe some mushrooms would have been an excellent addition along with a more generous scrambled egg portion! Still, what was there was tasty, as was my bacon! I also had a larger portion of scrambled egg so had obviously drawn the longer straw ;-)
That said the kitchen staff were kindly and Peter, who was on breakfast duty, couldn't have been more helpful - even assisting with our online check-in for our flight later that day. He also warmly and kindly offered us space to return to warm up or change before our onward travel later in the day. Well it was a very grey, rainy Derry/Londonderry we were visiting that day!
So all in all a very individual place to stay with quirky bedrooms, friendly and helpful hosts, tasty breakfasts, interesting pieces of furniture and a great stair carpet - just a short stroll from the centre of town.

Room Tip: My advice would be not to go for the top floor twin at the front - well not until they have fixed th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Can't understand the negative comments by other reviewers - not only did we love the place, but so did the other guests we met at breakfast, including two well-travelled Canadians. It is quirky and unstandardized, so perhaps wouldn't suit someone who preferred a chain hotel, but it has huge advantages. The location is excellent and within easy walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. There is free parking on the street, and some secure car parks not too far away. The bed was great and so were the pillows and bedclothes. When we stayed, the house was very, very clean! And it was also full of beautiful art works and antique furnishings, with a nice sitting room for guests, so if a small bedroom bothers you, you can use the computer or read or watch TV there instead. Our bedroom was quite small, true, but we don't care much about that on a short trip. And we loved the old wood-panelled bathroom, with its proper bath and its restful domestic atmosphere. We would stay there again and are telling our friends about the place. The hosts were friendly and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: We had the room overlooking the garden, so no traffic noise, even on a Saturday night with street ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grainnemhaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NH
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Pluses...This was a convenient location near city center and Peter was a friendly and helpful host. They served a great breakfast, and there was free parking on street if available.
Minuses...The room and bathroom were VERY small and there was no hairdryer.
I realize the B and B's in this area are mostly older buildings, but I was glad we were only here for one night!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NhWishfultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I booked 3 rooms for American friends and myself for 2 nights and compared to all other places we stayed around Ireland, it did not come up to expectation. It is well situated but the rooms are very small, I was glad I was in my room on my own. The carpet looked as if it hadn't been hoovered for days, the dressing table was not cleaned the second day 'because there were personal items on it', and the blankets were very dated, barely reaching across the bed.

Room Tip: If a couple, ask for their largest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank banner2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolis
Level Contributor
502 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Been traveling thru Ireland for over 15 days. I've been in some wonderful b&b. I realize these are old buildings and rooms can be small. This room was incredibly small. Bath is size of a broom closet. Owners didn't understand what I was speaking. Not a good stop. Keep looking and find another spot.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank seetheworld010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B&B is located on the edge of the Bogside which was an ideal location with an easy walk into the centre. Parking was free across the road and the owners were very friendly and helpful.

It was unfortunate the weather was so cold, but there wasn't anything they could do about that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No8 New Bed & Breakfast Derry-Londonderry
0.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Abbey Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory

Property: The Saddlers House and the Old Rectory
Address: 36 Great James Street, Derry BT48 7DB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Hotel Derry
The Saddlers House And The Old Rectory Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing