We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but poor service”

Fairman House Independent Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairman House Independent Hostel
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but poor service”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed here for a night a while ago, must say i would never ever return!

The hostel did have a good location and was close to the town. The rooms were also very clean.

However the rooms were very small with no facilities at all! They didnt even have mirrors, the toilets were 3 floors down so began to get very very frustrating! The breakfasts were basically non existant, didnt have one the entire time. The room was very nosiy due to the pipes constantly rattling! Im a very light sleeper so didnt get any sleep and the owners i felt were even quite rude! To be honest we felt extremely uncomfortable staying here and would never stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura186484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    7
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
8
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Family owned business with a family feel to my stay. It's close to the city centre and I also had a chance to visit done integrating museums in this area. For those looking to learn more about the history of this city this hostel is good to stay in. I also had a lovely breakfast included in the reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undernewskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed in a quad with my family for one rainy night in Derry. Although my family is accustomed to a bit more space (!), the room was clean, beds were comfortable and we managed to get a good night's sleep. Breakfast was modest, but more than we expected! It's easy to walk to the Bogside neighborhood and north of town, but is a bit far for an extended walking tour of Derry. Liam and Stella were very welcoming and made us feel like family. Stella helped me make porridge in the morning, and my dad and I talked with Liam over breakfast about his own experiences during the 'Troubles.' Great storyteller! Derry has a special place in my heart.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Hostel was quite good but didnt like fact that owners hovered around place a bit too much. Was quite offended by views of owner who had very strong opinions on city but was quite happy to take money from people he obviously doesnt like. When you book into a place to stay you dont need to be bombarded with what they think about where you are staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheekygirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

the hostel was very quiet and much more like a b and b than any other hostel i have stayed in. in fact if it didnt have a kitchen , that is definitely what it would be called.

i was surprised when we discovered the location just how far out of the city centre it was. it seemed closer on the map , but when you have to come back from the city centre up the big hill . it is just too far. we sort of regretted that we didnt stay at either of the other hostels as we passed both of them on the way back home.

both seemed to have more other backpackers coming in and out. i am just surprised that no one else mentioned the poor location in the other reviews that we read.

maybe they were just b and b people, not hostel people.

a nice enough place but too far away from everything and too quiet to be called a good hostel. maybe a good choice for my parents , but even they wouldnt like going back up that hill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We came here and stayed in the twin room on the top floor. It was nice that it had two separate beds instead of bunkbeds. The kitchen and bathrooms are newer and in very clean condition. There was great wireless reception even in the top floor, and a large TV on the main floor for entertainment. The hosts are incredibly friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Real beds (not bunkbeds) in top floor twin room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemoosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I brought a group of students from America here. From the word go it was GREAT! Couple who owned it were fantastic. Students could cook till 10pm. they could make their own breakfast, watch TV, free wireless, clean rooms and bathrooms. Very convenient to the city also. Will definitely stay there again. If I ever bring students back, this is the place we will stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pugachev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.6 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
1,947 reviews
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
0.7 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Hostel Connect
Hostel Connect
#2 of 23 in Derry
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairman House Independent Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairman House Independent Hostel

Property: Fairman House Independent Hostel
Address: 2 Fairman Place, Derry BT48 7LD, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Fairman House Independent Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Fairman House Backpackers Hostel, we offer our guests excellent accommodation and facilities at a competitive price. We are located less than 15 minutes walk from Derry~Londonderry City Centre, Fairman House offers a convenient, central location whether you are visiting the City for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairman House Independent Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairman House Independent Hostel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing