We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for the Derry area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elagh View bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 42 Derry B&B and Inns
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for the Derry area”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Situated north of the city centre by a few miles this B&B gives you rural peace with a lovely view. Mary is a very attentive hostess. She saw that we were welcomed with tea and biscuits on arrival. The room was comfortable with a nice shower room with a very nice shower. Mary gave us various recommendations for eating out. In the morning we had a good Irish breakfast. At £60 for the two of us I reckon that we had outstanding value. And by the way, everywhere was scrupulously clean and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
40
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Myself and friend stayed 1 night for radio one big weekend , Mary and her family were very welcoming and made our stay very good , the b and b is only a short taxi ride into Derry city centre and Mary helped with getting taxis, the room was very comfortable and clean the full irish breakfast next morning also went down a delight :)), Mary is a very friendly woman makes you feel at home , I had left a pair of earrings that meant a lot to me in the room Mary posted these back to me which I thought was very good of her and much appreciated. I would definitely recommend for anyone to stay in this lovely b n b with lovely surroundings :))

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clodaghsmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and we could not have had a better stay! Nothing too much trouble for the lovely Mary and her husband Jimmy. The breakfast was great too and plenty of it. Rooms very comfortable and clean and the views are amazing! If you book this B&B you will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseCorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My fiancee and myself stayed for 3 nights at Elagh View for Radio Ones Big Weekend in Derry. Mary and her family were so friendly and accommodating throughout our trip and really couldn't have done any more for us than they did. We relied on taxis for the majority of our stay and Mary was more than happy to sort us out with a local taxi company to take us in and out of the town. Elagh View is only a 5-10 minute car/taxi ride from Derry city centre and has a great view of the surrounding countryside. All in all, we can't fault our trip. Mary puts in so much effort and hard work and you really feel at home during your stay. Definately the first place we'll look at when we come back to Derry in future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cold_Hot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
259 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Our stay was brief but we enjoyed the warmth of the proprietors welcome and general helpfulness with information and suggestions. Our room was very comfortable and compact though there was enough room for us and our considerable luggage. Our sat nav found the location though it is not that easy. The only down for us was that Sunday breakfast was not til 8.30 - very late for us as we like to get away early before the traffic. However for those after a relaxing weekend it would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deejay17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Want to thank Mary for her warm welcome, even those we got lost, she stayed on phone until we got there. the room was beautiful, clean & cosy.
coming in from a wedding, mary offered us tea/coffee n water, she was so friendly and full of chat. The breakfast was far more than we could eat, but it was that nice we ate everything. We will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I had booked a single room with separate bathroom but as Mary had a ensuite double room free she let me have this for the same price. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed was very comfy. The shower ensuite was so clean and pleasant. Lovely big fluffy towels. Free WI Fi available. Coffee and every kind of tea under the sun was available in the dining room. I was due for a very stressful day after my stay and Mary made me a herbal calming tea before bed. I had a lovely breakfast the next day. Could not fault this place at all and if I ever need to overnight in Derry again I know where to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresefarthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
1.7 mi away
Pennyburn Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Ashgrove Villa B&B
Ashgrove Villa B&B
#8 of 42 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cathedral View
Cathedral View
#5 of 22 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arkle House B and B
Arkle House B and B
#12 of 42 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#6 of 42 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elagh View bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elagh View bed & Breakfast

Property: Elagh View bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 Upper Galliagh Road, Derry BT48 8LW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elagh View bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are visiting the North West of Ireland or just planning a relaxing break away to the countryside and you are looking for the finest luxury accommodation that is value for money, then quite simply you will not find somewhere better than Elagh View Bed & Breakfast, it ticks all the boxes: Beautiful picturesque location yet very central Elagh View is uniquely situated in the suburbs of the City of Derry-Londonderry in Northern Ireland. The Bed & Breakfast is surrounded by stunning countryside overlooking the mountains of Co Donegal yet only 15 minutes from the City centre, 15 minutes from Derry City Airport, 20 minutes from Blue Flag Beaches in Innishowen Co Donegal and 60 minutes from Belfast International Airport, making it the perfect location for exploring Northern Ireland, the City of Derry-Londonderry and Co Donegal. Premium luxury accommodation Having been newly renovated in 2011, Elagh View Bed & Breakfast would rival any luxury hotel. Each en suite room has been finished to a high standard complete with a power shower, flat screen TV, hair dryer and work station with WiFi internet access. Guests also have exclusive access to the large visitor's room, where you can sit back & fully enjoy the beautiful peaceful Countryside. 5 Star Service Elagh View Bed & Breakfast is owned and operated by Mary & Jimmy Foster, from whom you are promised a very warm welcome. Their aim is very simple; to provide the very best luxury affordable accommodation and customer service in Ireland, to ensure each and every guest has a trip they will always remember for all the right reasons. Local activities at discounted rates If you fancy a more active activity, we recommend walking, fishing, Golfing or horse riding, all within 10 minutes from Elagh View Bed & Breakfast. We can provide maps with suggested walks through the hills of Co Donegal at varying lengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elagh View bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elagh View Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing