We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was expecting - over-rated/overpriced, better deals elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elagh View bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 44 Derry B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting - over-rated/overpriced, better deals elsewhere”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night in August 2013 whilst visiting Londonderry/Derry. After reading reviews online, I had high expectations for Elagh View, was thinking something special - unfortunately it did not deliver. Don't get me wrong, the B & B is nice, and the owners are lovely, but it is nothing more than average, and fails on some basic elements.

Pros:
1. Owners - very welcoming and pleasant.
2. Location - great for us out in the rural countryside, near Donegal border (via Buncranna road - 5 mins and you are into Southern Ireland) - not good without a car.
3. Views - from breakfast room, stunning countryside.
4. Parking on-site, included

Cons:
1. Cleanliness - the kitchen was awful, dirty pots everywhere, old toast pieces left out, dog/cats roaming in and out of house, around guest areas.
2. No tea/coffee/kettle in room.
3. We booked a double with ensuite, but got a double with separate/shared bathroom (we didn't mind, but shows disorganisation).
4. No toiletries.
5. Small towels (1 per person).
6. TV didn't work in our room.
7. No wardrobe in room.
8. Bed/mattress uncomfortable (springs)
9. Breakfast - no fresh coffee (cheap instant stuff, but there was lots of tea),, irish breakfast (cooked) was quite dry/bland, but fruit salad and cornflakes nice.
10. CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED AS A METHOD OF PAYMENT - just so you know.

All in all, it's OK as a B&B, but I wouldn't stay here again out of choice, and would recommend looking elsewhere if you want something special/different/luxury, or just good value for money. For what it is, this place is slightly over-priced (65 ish per room).

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreo_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary F, Owner at Elagh View bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
I am so very disappointed that you felt we did not live up to our excellent reputation. It is obvious from the review that you were annoyed that I had to contact booking.com when you did not return for over 4 hours to settle your bill.

Please accept my sincere apologies if I caused you any embarrassment for it certainly was not my intention, I just felt that it was necessary to call them in case you simply forgot as you had said you would return within 15 minutes.

It is easy to write things from a place of anger and I don't judge you for that if you felt that I embarrassed you.

For the benefit of future guests I feel that I have to correct some of the information you stated that is 100% factually incorrect or misrepresented.

1. Yes we do have a miniature Pomeranian dog called Foxy but at no stage is she allowed in guest areas.
2. Yes we do have two outdoor cats that are never in the house as I and my son are allergic to them.
3.You did not have a shared bathroom you had a private external bathroom.
4. There is no kettle in the room but guests can help themselves at any time to tea and coffee in the dining room.
5. We supply all guests toiletries including hand soap, hand lotion and toilet rolls.
6. Each guest receives a pack of three towels,face,hand and bath.
7. To this day we have been unable to find a fault with the Television.
8. No wardrobe as such but sufficient storage and hanging space.
9. PLEASE NOTE CASH IS ACTUALLY OUR PREFERRED METHOD OF PAYMENT.

I am in the business to provide the best level of service I can, I really do try to live up to my excellent reputation, I love meeting new people and you both seemed like a lovely couple and I can honestly say I am sorry that things turned out the way they did. I wish you all the best.

Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    8
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in Elagh place. The b&b is beautifully kept. The hosts extremely friendly and helpful. I wouldn't let that it is outside the city put you off. It's a beautiful rural location with fabulous views and is only €5 in a taxi into the city. Couldn't have asked for anywhere nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skiseron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived after a full day of driving from Cushendall. Mary met us and showed us to very clean rooms. She was most accommodating and recommended good restaurants and good tours for the next day. The breakfast in the morning was
excellent and a little different than the previous B&B's that we stayed at. After a full Irish breakfast you don't need to eat for the rest of the day or at least until the evening.
We wish we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LethbridgeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay with Mary and Jimmy. The bedroom was very comfortable wit a really cosy bed and lovely shower. The breakfast was very well cooked. Mary gave great advice on where to visit. A very good stay - thank you.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank North-Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Good convenient spot for touring or visiting Derry/Londonderry, quiet and beautiful view from breakfast room. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast, very kind and helpful hostess who advised us on local visits. Do check the website before arriving how to get there as our sat nav was somwhwat out of date and could not locate it

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 850CandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was very happy with this choice while visiting Derry. It's a 10 minute drive into the city and close to beautiful drives in Donegal. Mary and Jimmy are friendly, welcoming and informative. The view from the breakfast room is stunning. My room was beautifully clean and comfortable, with the sheep in neighbouring field as mentioned by another traveller. The only downside was the path to front door runs outside the window so not much privacy on long light evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Some B&Bs are like small hotels, others are like family homes. Elagh View is the latter. It's a large, pleasant one-story house whose bedrooms have been concerted into guest rooms. The rooms and bathrooms are quite small, but very clean and functional. The proprietors are extremely kind and helpful people, and they helped us with directions and restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was very good. The location would be a bit awkward for someone without a car, but if you do have one this is an excellent alternative to a city hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
3.0 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
2.8 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,048 reviews
3.8 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bridge B&B
Bridge B&B
#3 of 44 in Derry
59 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Arkle House B and B
Arkle House B and B
#12 of 44 in Derry
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elagh View bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elagh View bed & Breakfast

Property: Elagh View bed & Breakfast
Address: 28 Upper Galliagh Road, Derry BT48 8LW, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elagh View bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are visiting the North West of Ireland or just planning a relaxing break away to the countryside and you are looking for the finest luxury accommodation that is value for money, then quite simply you will not find somewhere better than Elagh View Bed & Breakfast, it ticks all the boxes: Beautiful picturesque location yet very central Elagh View is uniquely situated in the suburbs of the City of Derry-Londonderry in Northern Ireland. The Bed & Breakfast is surrounded by stunning countryside overlooking the mountains of Co Donegal yet only 15 minutes from the City centre, 15 minutes from Derry City Airport, 20 minutes from Blue Flag Beaches in Innishowen Co Donegal and 60 minutes from Belfast International Airport, making it the perfect location for exploring Northern Ireland, the City of Derry-Londonderry and Co Donegal. Premium luxury accommodation Having been newly renovated in 2011, Elagh View Bed & Breakfast would rival any luxury hotel. Each en suite room has been finished to a high standard complete with a power shower, flat screen TV, hair dryer and work station with WiFi internet access. Guests also have exclusive access to the large visitor's room, where you can sit back & fully enjoy the beautiful peaceful Countryside. 5 Star Service Elagh View Bed & Breakfast is owned and operated by Mary & Jimmy Foster, from whom you are promised a very warm welcome. Their aim is very simple; to provide the very best luxury affordable accommodation and customer service in Ireland, to ensure each and every guest has a trip they will always remember for all the right reasons. Local activities at discounted rates If you fancy a more active activity, we recommend walking, fishing, Golfing or horse riding, all within 10 minutes from Elagh View Bed & Breakfast. We can provide maps with suggested walks through the hills of Co Donegal at varying lengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elagh View bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elagh View Bed & Breakfast Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing