We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very slow”
Review of The Bentley Bar

The Bentley Bar
Ranked #18 of 188 Restaurants in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$23
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Bentley Bar is situated on Market Street in the heart of the City. For one of the best pub food experiences in Northern Ireland The Bentley Bar commits itself to good food and customer service.With live music every night of the week and only a 30 second walk from the Millenium Forum The Bentley Bar is the perfect place for your pre-theatre drinks. Visit us and take take advantage of our pre-theatre drink promotions.As well as our award winning pub grub we now offer evening meals in our all new restaurant the bentley steakhouse. So if you missed our lunchtime specials, call in and try some high quality restaurant food and extensive cocktail menu.
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very very slow”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Went for a mid week lunch, bar was not empty but not busy either. Waitress took our order fairly quickly but food then took over 45 mins to arrive, not acceptable for lunchtime and no apology. My food came (pie) and while it was nice it was pretty obvious it had been sitting under the heat lamp for a long while- not great

Helpful?
Thank LouiseThomas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi there,
We are very sorry that you've had this experience at our establishment, we always strive for superior customer service, and above that, customer satisfaction. We can only assure you that such a wait for your food is an anomaly and we hope this wont affect your decision to come visit us again in the future.

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    116
    44
    24
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OLT Men's Health night.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

After an exhausting and totally exhilarating day out mountain biking we took approximately 30
of the lads, mostly in their 50 s back to the Bently for a meal and a night's craic.
Everyone commented on the quality of the meal; the service was also superb , the staff being both approachable and very helpful and obliging.
We 'll certainly be back again!!!
Importantly food and drinks were very affordable.
Thanks to all who made our night so special.
Charlie O Donnell.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charlieodonnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We're really glad you and the lads enjoyed your visit, we're always really excited to hear back from customers and even more so when they've enjoyed their meals!
Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Eat in here quite often really excellent food and good portions good value for money and good service very friendly staff

Helpful?
Thank lmcc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thanks so much for your kind review, we're glad you enjoy visiting us and that you like our food, we always strive to provide quality food at reasonable prices, and we always appreciate positive feedback like this.

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Why o why”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

From what I seen the customer definitely does not come first, I stood at the bar for over 5 minutes while 3 of the bar staff stood and had a talk about their lives, then one decided that a few customers needed served. Even know I was there first she proceeded to serve people before me I was just about to walk out then someone came over to me, How anyone can give this place 5 stars if beyond me

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rgm666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We're very sorry you've had this experience and that you feel this way about our premises, I assure you customer service is our number one priority and is the one thing our staff are always encouraged to strive towards. We do hope you'll consider visiting again

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent food, good prices”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We were a party of eight for an evening meal and I think everybody was happy with their meal. We had a seat which offered a view of the busy kitchen which was great. We shared starters which were very nice; these included ribs, potato skins etc. They had tasty sauces for accompaniment. Mains were very good. Steak was great, chicken curry was great. Tobacco onions, a Derry speciality, were yummy! We had bottles of Peroni which always hits the spot. The Guinness was good and the desserts luscious. This is a good all-round restaurant which we were impressed with!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HudsterZero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
105DanM, Public Relations Manager at The Bentley Bar, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
We're thrilled that your party and yourself enjoyed your meal here at the Bentley, We always strive to provide excellent food at reasonable prices, and it's always a pleasure to hear back from our satisfied customers - Thank you so much for your kind review!

Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bentley Bar also viewed

Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 
Derry, County Londonderry
Derry, County Londonderry
 

Been to The Bentley Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing