We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Hotel, Derry...Great location and staff!”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
478 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“City Hotel, Derry...Great location and staff!”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at the City Hotel for two nights in August 2011. One of the things we really enjoyed about this hotel was the location. The hotel is right along the river, easy walking distance to the wall around the city, restaurants and attractions. The hotel staff was quick with our check-in and very pleasant tat answering our questions. The room was basic, clean, quiet and we had a view of the river. Our breakfasts were terrific with many choices...a big thanks to the staff...we had a great visit.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Takarehi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we have made many improvements since your review, we do hope you may return and let us know how we have improved.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,007
    612
    214
    86
    44
See reviews for
341
845
57
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel Management schools should look to the City Hotel when training students to work in the hotel industry.

5 Star customer service from porters to front desk (Keiva) to restaurant (Carla, Emma & Co.) to housekeeping.

I work as a professional tour manager and have stayed in hotels worldwide. This is the best all around hotel one can experience. I encourage you to visit Derry and stay at the City Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your review of the City Hotel and your kind comments. I will be sure to pass this feedback to our team of staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

I stayed at the City Hotel for two nights in August. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The included breakfast had a large selection of choices. My room was clean and pleasant enough. It rates a strong 4 star. You can't beat the convenience for walking around the city. Check Peadar's for local traditional music.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SailingJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Many thanks for your review and feedback of the City Hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymena
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed in a junior suite which was nice snd spacious but bathroom very tired looking and basic. Food was good, breakfast was fantastic (best fry in a hotel) and service was great at check in and while dining.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzSherratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Many thanks for your review of the City Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2011

First time I have ever experienced a 4* hotel where you cannot sleep after midnight because there is a wedding party going on below. Sleeping guests seem to be a secondary at this hotel as it probably makes a good profit from weddings.

Overheard a number of other guest complaining about the noise at breakfast . Shame as it is otherwise a very good hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid at weekends as all rooms are noisy !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review. At weekends we would have wedding functions on the 1st floor of the hotel and entertainment does stop at 1am. We always try to ensure those guests not attending the function are allocated a room on the upper floors of the hotel and we apologise if this was not the case for your stay. We do hope you will come and use the City Hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Another hotel that didn't match expectations. The location is first class being adjacent to the city walls. We expected no room in the car park and that was the case. However, there is inexpensive parking close by. We received a warm welcome and got to the room quickly. The room was no better than a budget hotel and was very dark. Despite a wedding party in the hotel, the room was quiet so had a resonable nights sleep. Breakfast was very poor. Food and service needs attention. All in all a reasonable pit stop but 4 star it is not.

Room Tip: If you want more light, ask for a room facing outward and not internally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deedi2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to feedback regarding your recent stay with us. As part of an energy saving 'green' policy we are using energy saving light bulbs in our bedrooms which may make the room appear darker upon entering although normal lighting levels are restored within a few minutes. In terms of the hotel breakfast we aim to offer a variety of fresh food to cater for all needs although i certainly will take on board your comments. We hopefully will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Both the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. The hotel was very busy but we were dealt with quickly.

The room was large but was no better fitted out than a budget hotel. In addition the room was showing signs of a hard life with paintwork damaged and cracks in the walls. The bathroom lighting was very poor and I could not see to shave in the mirror.

The internet access is free but you need to get a code from reception which was not advised on arrival.

On returning to the hotel in the evening about 11pm there was a live singing act on in the lobby, the sound of which carried through most of the hotel. This put us off having a drink in the bar. Many of the pubs around here have singers on as well, but at least you can choose not to go in.

The breakfast was not of the standard expected of a 4 star hotel. The sausages in particular were very cheap looking and heavily spiced to disguise the poor taste of the meat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter45133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Further to your review of the City Hotel, we appreciate your feedback and comments. The City Hotel is classified as a 4* by the Northern Ireland Tourist Board and we annually receive a full inspection in order to maintain this classification. We have recently refurbished rooms within the hotel and received great feedback from this. If you do plan to stay with us again in the future please do contact me directly. Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing