We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were over in N Ireland for a wedding. Had a couple of nights in derry before going to Enniskillen. Had a great stay in this hotel. The room was large, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Took the kids to the leisure club and had a great time in the pool. The best thing about the hotel are the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would not hesitate to reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alant1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we have made many improvements since your review, we do hope you may return and let us know how we have improved.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    621
    221
    90
    46
See reviews for
347
856
59
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great room, river view, massive bed, breakfast was great. The wedding couldn't have went better. great hotel great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeoh-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for posting your comments after attending a recent wedding at the City Hotel. We hope you will return to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for one night with friends. Rooms were stylish with great views of the Peace bridge. The room was very hot, but we opened the window as soon as we got there and it was ok If I could have changed anything it would have been the pillows, they were really hard and I found them difficult to sleep on. The staff were friendly and helpful, we ate in the restaurant as their deal of two courses for two people plus a bottle of wine was too good to miss and the food was delicious. Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were attentive. All in all I would recommend the City Hotel for a great city stopover.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alih68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thanks for reviewing the City Hotel. We will take on board your comments relating to the pillows in the rooms although overall we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

One of the most pleasant experiences we shared when visiting Derry city which we have done many times.great location to access the historic and beautiful city for tourism or and shopping trips.

The hotel ticked all our boxes and we would recommend it for comfort, good food and plenty of choice in same and as a vocal point for a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river Foyle at the back of the hotel have a great view of the river and the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RESIDENT_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the City Hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the restaurant was great (and reasonably priced) but it's the small things that jar, e.g. not being able to park in the hotel car park (public car park across the road but would have liked the hotel to cover the cost of the parking fees as their car park too small to accommodate their guests), having a broken bathroom mirror (rm 530 if management are reading!), and no bathroom door hook (it had been broken and not replaced), cobwebs in the room, dirty glasses not being removed, the lifts were "shuddery", not great when you are with someone who doesn't like lifts in the first place, also they didn't follow their own eco policy and replaced the towels everyday - I don't mind that one little bit but if you say you're doing something then do it. It's a nice hotel but for a 4* I do expect more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Further to your review of the City Hotel, thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We advise all guests that we have limited car parking underground at the hotel (40 spaces) although we do offer discounted car parking in the multi storey next door which is extremely reasonable for city centre parking. In terms of your other comments we certainly will investigate these further. We pride ourselves on the standards we offer our guests in the City Hotel therefore please be assured we will look into this matter. In the meantime if you are returning to the hotel please contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stayed at this hotel in Sep. 2011. Difficult to find car park as the hotel is near a busy roundabout.
very comfortable ,staff excellent. food good value.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enixam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Further to your review of the City Hotel, thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments. We hopefully will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

I am just back from a nice long weekend break at the City Hotel in Derry (2 couples) and felt i should write a wee review as i was so pleased with it. The hotel itself is well located at the edge of the city just outside the walls and overlooking the Foyle and the Peace bridge 2 minutes walk has you in the heart of the city and an added bonus there is free car parking for residents in the basement of the hotel (though spaces are limmited and allocated on a first come first served basis).
We stayed from Friday - Sunday leaving on Monday on a package deal of 3 x B&B and 2 x 4 course dinners and i have to say i was more than pleased with the whole experience. On check in we were greeted pleasantly and allocated our rooms quickly and efficiently, we asked about upgrades and ended up getting upgraded to 2 suites with fantastic views and all mod cons for just an extra £45 per couple for the 3 nights.
The suites were lovely, modern and well maintained, very spacious, large bathroom with bath and double walk in shower etc + robes and slippers supplied. living/office area with large flat screen t.v. desk and chair + coffee table, sofa and chairs whilst also being tastefully decorated. It was also well equiped with trouser press, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge with complimentary soft drinks, water and snacks.
The bedroom was spacious with large sliding robes, a comfortable king sized bed, dressing table and another flat screen t.v.
The package we got included breakfast and dinner (on 2 nights) and these did not disappoint either. The service was excellent the choice was good and on both nights we ate at the hotel all members of our party really enjoyed all of their courses without exception. Breakfast was also fairly good, i've had better but with a fairly good selection of hot and cold buffet breakfast items there was something for everyone and i certainly had nothing to complain about.
As i mentioned the hotel is 2 minutes walk from the heart of the city with many shops, restaurants, cafes and bars etc. but the hotel also had live entertainment on both Friday and Saturday nights so we did not have to venture too far later on in the evening for some entertainment. there was plenty to see and we walked the walls and did the tourist thing, All in all a good time was had and i would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for rooms overlooking the river Foyle as the view is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeBelfastTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Many thanks for the detailed review of your stay at the City Hotel. Im delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing