We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to Derry. Wonderful location, right in the heart of the city, and very accessible when driving. Had dinner in the restaurant and had an absolutely beautiful meal. We got a great deal in the restaurant. Very helpful staff and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    607
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
338
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

I spent a Saturday night in Derry with a crowd of friends, we stayed at the City Hotel and also had a meal there. The meal was fantastic value, 2 courses for two people with a bottle of wine only 29.95, around £15 per head you could not beat that, the restaurant staff were very attentive and when we asked advice on where to go etc in Derry, they were more than helpful. The rooms were lovely, clean and very central to everything. There was music in the foyer later in the evening and we had a bit of a dance. We had a lovely time and there was a great buzz around the place. We had a lovely breakfast in the morning self service style. Will definitely go back for another night out. Could not fault this hotel.

Room Tip: PArking can be a slight problem we parked in a carpark accross the road from the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

a fantastic hotel , room was brill overlooking the river and peace bridge, ,fitness suite was first class ,all staff were very friendly ,espeically denise on reception who most helpful and made you feel very welcome,breakfast was great.this was our tenth time at this hotel so i think that says it all,hoping to go back soon

Room Tip: any room that has river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keano333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This hotel was great, the location is perfect for shopping breaks and other interesting sights of the City. We have been here a few times now for shopping / leisure breaks and it fails to dissapoint on each occasion. It is within easy walking distance of the shopping centres, bars, nightclubs etc. Hotel food was really nice with a good variety, breakfast was more than enough and left us ready for the day. Staff are very friendly and helpful and could not do enough for you. Rooms are very comfortable, we had an executive room with double bed, computer desk, tv, easy chairs, nice spacious bathroom, fresh towels etc.

Car parking is quite good with ample parking across the road from the hotel and also their own car parking. There are facilities for disabled drivers parking at the entrance.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a nice view of the Foyle and the boats which is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we have made many improvements since your review, we do hope you may return and let us know how we have improved.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

I was really excited to be staying in the city hotel as family members had stayed here before and stated it was great. What a disappointment!!!!!. arrived at 3.40pm check in at 3pm. Allocated a room {4th floor} entered it absolutely stank of stale smoke{requested non smoking on my booking} and room appeared quite dull {requested room with nice view and spacious - view was of river foyle}. i went down to the reception spoke to receptionist and she changed my room {reallocated 6th floor} room was brighter but as the receptionist stated i would be facing a wall as my view!!!!! also noted that there was a portable fan in the room but didnt pay much attention to that at the time!!! came back to hotel at approximately 10.30pm. i wasnt expecting to be sleeping in the heat i was. i tried to open window but it only opened fractionally turned on the fan and all that was doing was blowing out hot air!!!! luckily i had juice with me. i went through 4 bottles of juice. eventually i could not stick it any more and at 5am approxiamtely rang reception to bring up a jug of iced water {which they did quite quickly may i add} and also told the night porter that room was extremely warm. 35 minutes later the water was luke warm due to the extreme heat in the room. i slept approximately 2 hours the heat was so uncomfortable. went down for breakfast at 9.30am was tasty and plenty of variety which was a plus. overall i was really disappointed with my syay due to hardly any sleep. i left hotel more exhausted that i arrived :-[

Room Tip: request air conditioning!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, General Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for taking time to post a review
We were disappointed to read your comments in respect of your stay.
I was pleased to see that the reception team dealt with your request to move rooms in a professional and prompt manner and that you were happy with the service you receive during the period of your stay.
Getting the correct temperature for every guest is a difficult task as you will appreciate everyone will have different preferences but it is something we will review going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were over in N Ireland for a wedding. Had a couple of nights in derry before going to Enniskillen. Had a great stay in this hotel. The room was large, well maintained and spotlessly clean. Took the kids to the leisure club and had a great time in the pool. The best thing about the hotel are the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Would not hesitate to reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alant1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we have made many improvements since your review, we do hope you may return and let us know how we have improved.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Great room, river view, massive bed, breakfast was great. The wedding couldn't have went better. great hotel great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deeoh-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2011
Thank you for posting your comments after attending a recent wedding at the City Hotel. We hope you will return to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing