We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lurgan, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - would recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed in the City Hotel for nights on a B&B and 1 evening meal offer and could not fault the hotel in any area. Check in was quick and efficient. Our room (532) was spotless and well equipped. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent both breakfast and evening meal. The restaurant was very busy on the evening of our meal (a good sign) but we were still served very quickly and did not have to wait long between courses.

The hotel is in an excellent location, just 5 minutes walk from the City Centre. The leisure facilities (pool, fitness suite, sauna and jacuzzi) were very well maintained.

All in all we had a great stay and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PortyAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    606
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
337
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on business. Arrived early so my room wasn't ready however the reception changed me to another room with ease.
The room was huge with 2 double beds and a large bathroom. It was at the back so no views but very quiet.
Had dinner in the restaurant and the food was very good.
Used the pool and steam room in the mornings which was also very good. Breakfast was a buffet with everything you would need.
The hotel is situated right in the city centre with shops , restaurants etc nearby.
All the staff were very friendly.
The only small gripe I would have is the dinner menu didnt change and the 3 specials were not to my taste so I went out to eat on the second night.
There is a Chinese restaurant a couple of minutes walkl away called the Mandarin. I was impressed with their menu as it catered for coeliacs which my wife has. I'll be back

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerryBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

I do like the City Hotel, very friendly, helpful staff and a great layout and atmosphere.
However, I will not go back to the Sunday Buffett as I've just eaten there for the third time in two years.
I am a vegetarian and the other family members I dine with are not. When we were seated I have to order the vegetarian option which has been the same for two years!
Consequently, the others make their selection at the buffett table and I wait and wait, when the others have almost finished their meal my Goat's Cheese Tart arrives. I feel discriminated as a vegetarian and I will not be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate comments and take on-board all feedback, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I cannot say enough in the way of favorable comments, about this hotel. Great friendly service and extremely helpful staff who go the extra mile (e.g.made sure we got into the parking garage OK and met up with us in the garage to check). Great lounge bar too and nice buffett style breakfast with several good selections.The location is a close walk to all the local sights, the Derry Walls, the Peace Bridge, great restaurants and lots of shopping. We very fortunate to have a beautiful view of the Peace Bridge and the river from our room. Wish we had stayed an extra night, but sad to say our scedule didn't allow for it.
I would highly recommend staying here when you visit Derry.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room and higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I booked a break in the city hotel for 3 nites, I loved it so much I stayed a fourth. It really is a lovely hotel, fabulous food, good service, good clean spacious rooms, only negative points were the pillows were a bit hard, but overall had a great time and would throughly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mybreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

We had a great stay in Derry at the City Hotel. The room was immaculate. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Service was excellent. Parking is right on site. The hotel is in an excellent location, within easy walking distance to all attractions.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samandtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all your comments and hope to earn a 5 star review for your next visit, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We have just arrived back from a 2 night stay Derry city hotel, the staff were very helpful from the desk to the house keeping staff, the rooms are clean and well laid out. our room was over looking the river, beautiful day and evening views. Breakfast was delicious, fresh and a wide range of food was available. The hotel is ideally situated in a central area but you still get a relaxed atmosphere. We will definately be back to the city hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a river view and an upgrade was only £15
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happychaps10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2016
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your kind words and are happy to be of service, thank you for taking the time to review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing