We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Competent staff, Clean, Free Parking - cant ask for more...”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Competent staff, Clean, Free Parking - cant ask for more...”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Meh...
I stayed with my girlfriend for one night, £99 for B&B. We were being lazy and didn't want to drive back to Belfast. I can;t say anything bad about the hotel, but I'm not thinking about when I might return.
It's central. it's clean and the food is very cheap!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Are_we_there_yet,
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts, we are pleased you found the location and value to your liking, hopefully we can enhance your stay next time, maybe ask about an upgrade to a suite so you can experience fully what we have to offer our guests.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    613
    215
    87
    44
See reviews for
341
847
58
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed at the City Hotel for two nights, and enjoyed our stay. We didn't have breakfast included in our room rate, but enjoyed the opportunity to get up a little later and have a breakfast bap in the bar, which was very good and reasonably priced. The bar/lobby staff were all friendly and courteous. Our room was fine, with a comfortable bed, although I do agree with other reviewers about the temperature of the room. The bathroom was quite basic but certainly adequate, and served its purpose. The location of the hotel was great for what we needed, city centre location but not too noisy, and also close to the quay and Peace Bridge. We would definitely be happy to stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Rhiannon S,
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear the location was ideal for your needs and you experienced our friendly and courteous staff. It’s always good to hear that guests would be happy to stay with us again when visiting the area.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Stayed for two nights for a family reunion. Easy to get to and in a great location in the city. Staff very efficient and friendly. Car parking can be an issue as the hotel offers limited parking but there is a car park next to the hotel at a cost of 5 pounds overnight which is fine but between certain hours there is an addition fifty pence per hour charge. Would return to this hotel when back in Derry.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMFUlster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear AMFUlster,
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear your stay with us for your family reunion went well and hope to welcome you back on your next visit to the city

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Having read some of the reviews on this hotel I decided to add my view. I have stayed in this hotel at least 4 times over the last few years. Even though my family have relations in derry, my husband and I have sneaked away to the hotel to stay because we like it so much. We don't even tell the relations!!! I have always found the accomodation, service, food and especially the staff more than satisfactory. The staff always have a smile and are always courteous. I don't know what people expect from the accomodation here but I have never found it lacking. Yes maybe it is a tiny bit tired but what do you expect from a hotel as busy as this. I think it is a credit to the staff that it is so tidy and clean given the volume of traffic through it. There are great deals available in this hotel too especially if you are lucky enough to get a Supervalu Break. I love this hotel and will be going back as soon as I can get a babysitter again!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking River Foyle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tibbles75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear tibbles75,
Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review of your experiences over the years staying with us and do hope you get a baby sitter organised for your next visit soon!


Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed for two nights beginning of August, this is a really nice city centre hotel within easy walking distance of the centre of Londonderry. The rooms are comfortable and clean but unbelievably hot and the windows have little safety straps which means you can only open the windows a little bit.
The restaurant served great food and was well attended with customers who were not resident, always a good sign for me.
Breakfast was buffet and good and plenty.
The staff were all friendly and helpful.
All in all apart from the heat a good value hotel

Room Tip: Ask for AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grahammckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear grahammckenna,
Thank you for your review after your stay with us in August and for your kind comments, it may interest you to know for your next visit that we do have a number of air conditioned rooms and the facility to put fans in rooms upon request during times of extremely hot weather. We are pleased you enjoyed the food and the staff and hope to see you again

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Hotel was vary good value, but rates no more than average
It's location is good, right down by the river next to the peace bridge, although the centre of Derry is quite small so that may apply to most hotels.
Free underground parking has limited spaces, but we arrived quite late and managed to bag one
Reception staff were very friendly and helpful
The room we had was very large which was a surprise. The standard and condition of fixtures,fittings and furnishings was acceptable rather than high
The free buffet breakfast was fine
If you want to use the swimming pool, you have to use a swimming cap, so pack one or buy them for £2.50 apiece from the leisure centre reception

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Hoohoobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Hoohoobug,
Thank you for your comments we are glad you found the location and value to your liking and experienced our friendly and helpful staff, we hope to welcome you back for 2013 city of culture celebrations.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel few months ago. All staff encountered were a pleasure. Upgraded to a superior room which was a nice touch. Used the leisure facilities which was the only part of the hotel that seemed a bit dated and tired. Breakfast the next morning was good however a few more continental items would make it better

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Daniel M,
Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased you had a lovely stay with us. It may interest you to know we have recently upgraded all our resistance equipment in our leisure suite which maybe you can avail of on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing