We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having used this hotel previously for an after funeral meal for family and friends and found the service and quality exceptional, it was my first choice when I needed to arrange a similar meal at very short notice. I called in and spoke to 'Conor', advised him I needed the meal (in excess of 40 persons) for the following lunch time. On checking, he discovered the hotel was booked up for functions. I was very disappointed, expecting to be told I would have to look elsewhere. Not so. After a short discussion, a compromise on setup was agreed and 'Conor' accommodated my requirements.
He could easily have turned me away but in the true spirit of the staff at The City Hotel he went that bit extra to try and solve my predicament at such a trying time. The meal and the service was still at its impeccable best.
You will be hard pushed to find a hotel that is as family friendly or staff as committed to providing a friendly, personal and proficient service. The staff, generally, could not be more pleasant and helpful.
Thoroughly recommended and will certainly use the hotel again, though hopefully not under the same circumstances.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank EDocBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear EDocBe,
Thank you for your review, I can only say we are pleased we could be of service during what we understand to be a trying time and are more than pleased we could help, I thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    992
    600
    212
    84
    44
See reviews for
329
837
56
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had a very enjoyable weekend break at the City Hotel, very good location in the centre of everything, we had a lovely view of the Peace Bridge from our room on the 6th floor, enjoyed dinner in the restaurant followed by music in the bar area, after a very good breakfast the next morning we walked the City walls, did a bit of shopping around the shopping centres, relaxed then it was out for dinner with a good selection of restaurants and bars close by. We could not fault a thing so will surely go back another time in the future.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong if you're at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Wanderer024,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear the location suited your needs so well and delighted to hear you we be making a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
261 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The rooms were a bit small and out dated. The bathrooms also needed to be updated. The view out our room window was of the Peace Bridge and the Clock tower. It was wonderful, especially at night. The food was very good. The elevators were a bit slow. It was nice to be right in the city and able to just walk out of your room and walk around the city or over the Peace Bridge.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Peace Bridge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldBridgeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear OldBridgeTraveler,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the wonderful view and the good food.
It may interest you to know we have a constant improvement and renovation policy at the hotel and look forward to you experiencing some updates upon a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Have stayed here twice this month on business.

Both stays were consistent.

Check in was quick, easy and staff friendly.

Rooms are basic enough - beds & pillows I felt where too hard. But other than that all good.

Restaurant very nice with plenty of choice. Staff friendly and attentive.

Breakfast self service buffet and also good. One thing I would like would be more 'healthy' options.... fruit, yogurts, porridge. Don't get me wrong I love a fry but everyday isn't good!

Location is good - walking distance to centre.

Small car park in basement - I had no problems getting parking any day.

Free Wifi for guests but you were given a 24hr voucher. A little annoying that you had to pop down to reception to get it renewed when 24hr period expired but I'm sure they have their reasons for this....

Gym adequate and pool small but again fine. Have a jacuzzi and steam room but no sauna.

Good hotel in good location. If I stay in Derry again, I'll stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dxb09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear dxb09,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you will choose to stay with us again, it may interest you to know we do indeed have healthier options as you mentioned for breakfast your server will be happy to help with any items prepared straight from the kitchen, we also have softer pillows available upon request.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencolmcille, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the City Hotel, a one night birthday treat! We got a gorgeous double room, to the front of the hotel, with a fabulous view of the Foyle and the new Peace Bridge. The room was large, comfortable, and really luxurious. We went out for dinner nearby, and returned for a charity event in the hotel ballroom. I used the leisure centre the following morning, and had a very enjoyable swim. All in all a great hotel. There is cheap parking just across the road, and the hotel staff are very helpful and personable. Will definitely return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitrionanicseoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear caitrionanicseoin,
Thank you for your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your birthday celebrations with us and took time to enjoy the leisure facilities and location.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
down
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I love the couches in the bar area to have lunch. The staff are great and the food wonderful.It is ashort walk to the 3 shopping centres in the town. I had a great cappuccino here, and I am fussy about that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladylynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear ladylynda,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you took time to relax with a nice cappuccino in the lobby and hope you will return in 2013 for the city of culture events.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed one night at the City Hotel in Derry in October of this year, and I wished we could have stayed longer! It is a beautiful hotel, very clean with a modern look. The rooms are spacious and elegant, and the hotel facilities are superb! There is a really nice bar and a seating area with couches to relax with a drink, or coffee or snack. The restaurant was fantastic too! We had our evening meal there, and the food was excellent, as was the service. Prices quite reasonable too, a 3 course meal and bottle of wine for 2 people was only 40 euros! They also have a really nice fitness centre and pool, although I didn't have time to use them, I had a quick peek for our next trip. The staff were superb, right from the moment we walked in the door. Very friendly, and always helpful and accomodating! One of them even helped us park the minivan we had rented in the underground parking (which is free if you stay) :) The location is perfect too, right on the Foyle river, with a view of the new Peace Bridge. Within walking distance of everything, the old Derry town walls are about a 3 minute walk away. I highly recommend this hotel, and will gladly book another stay there the next time we visit Ireland! :)

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad choice of room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Services Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Lauren C,
Thank you for your review, we are particularly pleased you enjoyed the location as you travelled so far, and also found the value and food fantastic, we look forward to your next visit and glad we could help.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest services manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing