We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay. Friendly staff, great food and facilities.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay. Friendly staff, great food and facilities.”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed Saturday night and enjoyed great food in the restaurant. Staff were great and all very friendly. We made use of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Room was clean and very comfortable. Very handy to town and sights. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Louise F,
Thank you for your review, and your recommendation, great to hear you had time to try all our facilities, and the location helped make your stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    641
    223
    96
    47
See reviews for
365
873
62
261
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The high level of personal service offered by the receptionists at the City Hotel, Derry during my two day business stay was second to none. I made several requests for help ranging from assistance with my friend's laptop, to booking taxies and making recommendations regarding what to do and see, were always met with a genuine smile and immediate action. The food in their Thompson restaurant was also excellent. I will certainly stay with them again upon my next visit to Derry.
Martin Caulfield

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear MARTIN C,
Thank you for your review, and for your praise of our staff, we are pleased we could be of service and hope to see you again for your next business or leisure trip.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

lovely food lovely rooms did have noise though from the room above drills hammering. would recommend. service was fantastic. very central would defiantly visit again if I was going up to Londonderry. went on the walking tour which was great

Room Tip: ask if any work is going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Tracy2266,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the rooms and food, apologies for any noise due to improvements to be completed soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnmoney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights here with my daughter on a half term break. Choose the hotel as it had a pool. Went to use the pool and was advised by a member of staff that the pool was full to capacity. I counted about six people in the pool. My daughter was very disappointed to not be able to use the pool as was I. The member of staff was quote blunt. I will be making a complaint to reception when I check out. Pity as up until then had been enjoying my stay. This hotel is classed as four star but not worthy of it in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flick1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Bebverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Flick1972,
Thank you for your review, due to Health and Safety guidelines we have a maximum bather restriction of 16 people at any one time, at times of high volume such as mid-term break we may have to restrict access or duration in the pool for short periods this enhances guest comfort rather than crowding the pool.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Stayed for 2 nights valentines weekend, Great central location short walk to main shops bars and restaurants. Staff were so so friendly always greeting you and opening doors. Restaurant satff particularly nice. Bar was always very busy and good buzz about. Used Gym which was well equipped with weights bikes etc . Steam room and Jacuzzi and small pool also. Breakfast was excellent and dinner was great on the saturday noght. Excellent value in all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcgag1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear mcgag1984,
Thank you for your review, we are glad you choose to spend Valentines weekend with us and pleased to hear we didn’t disappoint, we hope to see you again throughout the year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Everyone else is banging on about the staff so I'll not go on about it, but quickly; I don't know when I was last made to feel so welcome on arrival, and so appreciated throughout a stay.

Very good breakfast, decent lunch, very good dinner. Modern, clean, fast wifi, good shower pressure and...

I can't help it: the staff.

Such fantastic staff.

Room Tip: High floors avoid road noise, but windows are modern and keep the noise out well
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear ADInglis,
Thank you for your review, we appreciate all feedback and also feel our staff is our best asset, we thank you for the kind words and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in Feb this was our second time staying here and we were not disappointed. We got parking in the hotels car park which was very handy as on our previous stay we had to pay for parking a short walk down the road.
We stayed in the 6th floor in a superior room, with views over the river Foyle and the peace bridge, we could not hear the road below. The room was spacious, spotless and private, the hotel seemed to be full to capactiy and we only seen other guests on the ground floor.
We had a few drinks in the bar during our stay and we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. At night time the bar/lobby came to life and there was music on both nights we were there, with a big crowd of residents and locals enjoying the entertainment. We could hear the bass of the music in our hotel room, it was quite loud but the music seemed to stop around midnight when the hotel went quiet again.
We did not eat dinner in Thompsons as we had other plans away from the hotel, however we did eat breakfast here on the two mornings. The first morning we both went for a cooked breakfast and were disappointed that within 5mins of sitting down to eat the food was cold to eat and touch. The second morning we had to wait 5/10 mins on a table as the restaurant was full of other guests. After being unimpressed the first morning I did not opt for a cooked breakfast but my partner went for some cooked items and reported that the food stayed warm for longer. Breakfast was obviously chaotic for staff on this morning but when we asked for tea and coffee (as it was not offered) they happliy obliged. All in all a pleasant stay, in a central location to explore the city of culture.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Ciara16,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you returned and again had a lovely stay, maybe next time you will get a chance to try our food and service in Thompsons restaurant.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing