We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Welcome, Grand Stay”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Paisley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grand Welcome, Grand Stay”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Arrived on a cold, bright Friday to the warmest of welcomes. The reception staff could not have been friendlier or more helpfull, guiding us to shops, bars and attractions with true charm and wit.
Our room was spacious, comfortable and had a magnificent view over the River Foyle and the Peace Bridge and a comfortable bed ensured a good night's sleep to prepare for the day ahead.
Dinner in Thompson's Restaurant was excellent and the staff, once again were friendly and attentive. Breakfast was also enjoyable with an excellent selection and again very helpfull staff attending to specific requests.
I would definatey recommend 'The City' to anyone visiting Derry and will certainly return hopefully during the European City of Culture year. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel to book and ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Jim D,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you have taken the time to post a lovely review, we are only happy to help and glad the warm welcome brightened up your travels, we look forward to a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,015
    621
    221
    89
    46
See reviews for
347
856
59
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here in Nov with extended family after getting a good offer. Hotel was lovely, clean great breakfasts, stay were friendly and helpful and great with the kids. Our deal included a 3 course meal each night in the hotel which was really nice and didn't leave us hungry. Great location, we left the car in the underground car park the whole time we were there. There are only 40 spaces available so make sure you check in on time if you want to be guaranteed a spot!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittykat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Kittykat0
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you and your extended family were able to avail of one of our great offers and your stay didn’t disappoint, keep your eye out for more similar offers and we hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Myself and my wife had a weekend break in the north west and decided to stay in the hotel and have breakfast in the morning.
our room was the standard room but I would class it as being above standard compared to other hotels.
Slept well in the room,staff were nice and the breakfast in the morning was the best bit for me,delicious!
only pitfall.......the drinks in the bar were much more pricey than the bar,s in surrounding area,s.
all in all,a pleasant stay.....I'L BE BACK!

Room Tip: standard room for me was fine but if you want a view...it will not be for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear Paul R,
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your stop off while touring the North West, we are glad we impressed and look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Lovely hotel.. Staff helpful.. Executive room had great views over the river and peace bridge . Breakfast was really good, very tasty with loads to choose from. location is brilliant, right beside all the bars and shops . Love Derry .. Would definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalyemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Dear dalyemma,
Thank you for your review, we are lucky to be both city centre and riverside giving great views and proximity to all city centre benefits; we hope this enhanced your stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed Saturday night and enjoyed great food in the restaurant. Staff were great and all very friendly. We made use of the pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Room was clean and very comfortable. Very handy to town and sights. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Louise F,
Thank you for your review, and your recommendation, great to hear you had time to try all our facilities, and the location helped make your stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

The high level of personal service offered by the receptionists at the City Hotel, Derry during my two day business stay was second to none. I made several requests for help ranging from assistance with my friend's laptop, to booking taxies and making recommendations regarding what to do and see, were always met with a genuine smile and immediate action. The food in their Thompson restaurant was also excellent. I will certainly stay with them again upon my next visit to Derry.
Martin Caulfield

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTIN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear MARTIN C,
Thank you for your review, and for your praise of our staff, we are pleased we could be of service and hope to see you again for your next business or leisure trip.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

lovely food lovely rooms did have noise though from the room above drills hammering. would recommend. service was fantastic. very central would defiantly visit again if I was going up to Londonderry. went on the walking tour which was great

Room Tip: ask if any work is going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Food and Beverage Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2013
Dear Tracy2266,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the rooms and food, apologies for any noise due to improvements to be completed soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Food and Beverage Manager City Hotel Derry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing