We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at The City Hotel on 5th & 6th April, we had initially booked for one night but enjoyed it so much that we stayed for a 2nd night. On arrival, Ciara on reception was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. All the staff were friendly, approachable and efficient and the service overall was excellent. The Hotel was clean and the food in the restaurant, delicious.The pool area was clean and well staffed and a great way to keep the children entertained. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment in the bar area, which created a relaxed and enjoyable ambience. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacque186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear jacque186470,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you chose to extend your stay and had a lovely time, I’ve passed your kind words on to Ciara also, and we anticipate a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,429 - 1,435 of 2,095 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, efficient service and very central. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting L/Derry. Will be returning again as enjoyed the hotel and everything about my stay including the shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear ClaireLBallymena,
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us, it’s nice to hear you will be returning to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Went to the City Hotel in Londonderry, what a lovely time myself ,my daughter and two grandchildren had. Staff very nice ,food good, cleanliness ,and leisure facilities. Reasonably priced, only slight downside is the parking at Hotel its first come, but on saying that the one across the road was very cheap.Would definately go there again next time up that way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJT1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear DJT1953,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to spend a family trip with us, it’s great to hear you had a lovely time and would consider returning once more.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

great hotel friendly staff value for meal excellent in the heart of the city and a minutes walk to our lovely new peace bridge,meal for two 29.95 includes 2course meal and a bottle of wine brilliant,a must stay when coming to derry views surperb.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear marion m,
Thank you for your review, its great to hear from our locals as well as our guests from out of town, thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Delighted that on my second visit to the City Hotel it was a huge improvement, staff as usual were great, the shower perfect. Maybe my last visit was a once off as I feel I can now fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Paul B,
Thank you for your review and for choosing to return we hope every future stay won’t disappoint.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a beautifully run hotel situated right by the banks of the River Foyle, meaning some of the rooms have spectacular views. The location is perfect for sightseeing. The hotel is extremely well run, clean, tidy and the staff are friendly - and for a nice change, mostly Irish rather then East European. We had an excellent meal deal in the restaurant and the food was good. There was a negative and that is the swimming pool but we're assesssing this separately as we are not clear whether this is run by the hotel or is a concession. The facilities here are basic. Not enough showers. Curtains instead of shower doors. Frosted glass partitions between the individual showers so little privacy. A warning notice missing a letter. The difference between the standard of care in the pool area and in the rest of the hotel is very marked. Having said that, there is a pool, a jacuzzi and a steam room and the whole area just needs a little TLC. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and intend to return. The owners have done a good job and you will enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnNotsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear JohnNotsmith,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its staff, we appreciate all your comments and have passed concerns on to leisure centre for remedial action, we thank you again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Wow,we had a terrific experience in the City Hotel. From the minute we arrived at reception we were made to feel most welcome. The receptionists, bar and restaurant staff and cleaners were all exceptionally friendly. My wife and I had a lovely 3 course meal on Easter Saturday night and we then were entertained by a highly entertaining and talented 2 piece group who were great singers. The breakfast next morning was everything you could ask for and we both definitely intend to return and we would thoroughly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lovely room on the sixth floor with a terrific view across the Peace bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joedesignsIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear joedesignsIreland,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to spend Easter with us, we are pleased to hear you had a lovely time and the staff you encountered all impressed.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing