We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location and staff.”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights dinner, bed and breakfast at the City Hotel in early April 2013. Firstly, we parked for free in the underground car park directly underneath reception so, with their being a lift, no dragging cases for miles. The receptionist was efficient, very friendly and welcoming. Our room was large, clean and well appointed and with a great view over the River Foyle (even better at night).

Food in the restaurant was brilliant, and again came with friendly service. The staff simply can't do enough for you, but more than that, they have a genuineness in how they go about it, those smiles aren't fake.

The location could not be better, seconds walk to the shops and restaurants on the city side and with the new pedestrian "Peace Bridge" just yards away, a nice walk to the Waterside and St. Columb's park to work off the breakfast.

This was my second stay at the City Hotel. The first time being several years ago, it was good the first time but what a difference a few years makes, it didn't feel like the same place.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Dear Vincenze,
Thank you for your review, we also thank you for making a return visit and taking the time to post your experiences and comments on how we have improved, we do hope your next stay will be as “brilliant”.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Room where of a good size and clean
Hotel had loads going on a nice bar and is in a great location. Parking a a problem and if you've a loaded car and going on else were been sent to public car park across the road is not the best. Breakfast let the hotel down every thing for the cooked breakfast came from a deep fat fryer. Staff great and very helpful I wod stay again but give breakie a miss

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear Aidan W,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you would stay again; it may interest you to know in addition to our buffet breakfast we also offer an al la carte service for some items cooked to order and delivered directly to your table at no extra charge.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

a very enjoyable weekend break- food very good - staff very welcoming and friendly- having a child with special needs was not a problem and she had a wonderful time. hotel was very clean and great location in derry- shops a walking distance. People in the hotel and derry city all very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ornac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear ornac_13,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased your family had a lovely time, and it was a pleasure to help with your needs, I believe your family made a lovely impression on the staff, thank you for taking the time to comment.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stay here twice brilliant hotel friendly staff restaurant was great and good menu my opinion best hotel in Derry City.night time there was a real buzz about the hotel and the entertainment was brilliant

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MARTIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear MARTIN G,
Thank you for your review, and the words of recommendation, we hope to see you again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

went to derry city hotel over the easter break with hubby and kids. we have stayed here before quite a few times. overall an enjoyable and comfortable stay. reception staff friendly, beds comfortable but i would have liked the double to be a queen size instead. food lovely as usual. sevice very slow on the first night but on the second night it was prompt. breakfast tasty and lots to choose from. the swimming pool and spa were clean and there is enough space to bring a buggy down which i liked. we took the train to portrush which was nice as well for the kids. this hotel is right in the middle of the city so close to all the shops and bars. hopefully will beback soon!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules35Omagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear jules35Omagh,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a great time again, staying with us over the Easter break and look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at The City Hotel on 5th & 6th April, we had initially booked for one night but enjoyed it so much that we stayed for a 2nd night. On arrival, Ciara on reception was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. All the staff were friendly, approachable and efficient and the service overall was excellent. The Hotel was clean and the food in the restaurant, delicious.The pool area was clean and well staffed and a great way to keep the children entertained. We thoroughly enjoyed the entertainment in the bar area, which created a relaxed and enjoyable ambience. Overall, we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacque186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear jacque186470,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you chose to extend your stay and had a lovely time, I’ve passed your kind words on to Ciara also, and we anticipate a return visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, efficient service and very central. Would reccommend this hotel to anyone visiting L/Derry. Will be returning again as enjoyed the hotel and everything about my stay including the shopping, restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLBallymena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2013

Dear ClaireLBallymena,
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us, it’s nice to hear you will be returning to stay with us again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager City Hotel Derry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
696 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing