We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VISITED AGAIN IN JULY AND JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“VISITED AGAIN IN JULY AND JUST GETS BETTER AND BETTER”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I usually go to the City a few times a year and this time went in July to escape the madness of Belfast City. We stayed from 11th-14th July and had an amazing time. Nothing a problem for staff; restaurant food amazing and even though there were coach loads of guests from all over the world and the hotel was obviously busy, service was 100% as usual and they don't let anything slip at all.. Same attention to detail.....
Would recommend this hotel every time for staying in Derry...
Leisure pool is great for family, reception area with lovely sofas for tea/coffee/snacks and the bar in the evening at weekends for entertainment.....made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank licrogib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear licrogib,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you are made to feel very welcome, we do hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    629
    223
    94
    46
See reviews for
354
861
60
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I'm a regular visitor to this hotel, probably twice a month whilst working in Derry, it has to be the friendliest and best hotel in Derry

I find the rooms superb, though the superior rooms are well worth the small upgrade price. I was recently upgraded to the Junior Suite, room 518, it's first class, simply Devine I love these rooms, lovely furnishings, huge bathroom, nice lounge separate from the bedroom and huggggee bed! Great views if the peace bridge and river Foyle!

Love returning, thank you for looking after me so well

Room Tip: Upgrade to room 518
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigbird1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Bigbird1334,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to return to us each time on business, we understsand that the little touches that make business customers feel at home are priceless, if there is ever anything we can do to help your stay please let us know.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This was our first stay at the hotel with our 2yr old son, we would definitely come back. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was fantastic and very comfortable. The breakfast was lovely, and the hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the town, and the peace bridge, there was lots to do. I have recommended this hotel to friends, and would recommend this for couples and families.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room over looking the river, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Jenny M,
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us to friends and family, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

stayed here recently with my wife , first time in northern ireland on what was part of a tour of ireland , booked one of the rooms on the 7th floor , keycard access in lift a nice touch , very well appointed room one of the best beds i have ever slept in ,complimentary soft drinks and treats, air con, and fab smart tv with the likes of netflix free, again a nice touch , but a big mention for the two ladies at reception very pleasant and really welcoming (sorry names escape me) and a great recommend for a restaurant ,bar really lively and live music, all in all a great experience , will return to derry and will stay here , now the minor quibble, car parking is a pain so prepare for that otherwise great night was had

Room Tip: stump up the extra for the 7th floor you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear stais,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted that your first visit to Northern Ireland didn't disappoint and that you may be making a return visit to stay with us again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gortahork, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Lovely hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food was delicious and plentiful. I could not fault anything about this hotel. Very happy with my experience. Will be staying again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear Jenna W,
Thank you for your review, and your kind words, we are pleased to hear you will be returning again soon.
Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Right next door to the Peace Bridge. We got a great room on the six floor overlooking the peace bridge. This place is right on the river next to all the action downtown. Not much is open after hours and the metal shutter of all the shops come down and you will be walking down empty streets. I would recommed this hotel if you want somthing that is close to all the key places that are in londonderry. The room was very hot, we did not have AC, on the lower floor our friends had AC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ2020DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear DJ2020DJ,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you seemed to enjoy your stay especially the location suiting your needs, thanks again.
Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

stayed in City hotel on Sunday 28 July as we were going to the Nile Rogers concert in The Venue. Parking below hotel was great and our room had a fantastic view over the River Foyle and The Peace Bridge. Dinner which was included in the price was delicious, the pork was cooked to perfection and the blueberry ice cream served in a brandy basked was lush!
The bed was massive and so comfy. Together with a brilliant concert, we had a night to remember. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alley999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2013
Dear alley999,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location suited so well for your concert and night out, we hope you will return for a more leisurely break.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest relations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing