We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Treated well and fed well. Away for a weekend as a group couldn't be more pleases. Rooms clean and tidy and food great. Would be back in a heartbeat. Great views from the room of the foyle and guildhall. All local conveniences within walking distance. GREAT :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Jonnie C,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a great time and would return again in a heart beat, high praise indeed.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,065)
There are newer reviews for City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,065 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times, and never been disappointed by rooms, staff, or facilities. Lovely central setting, with great views over the Foyle estuary. Nice function rooms, and decent bar food. Friendly bars.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MadDocNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear MadDocNI,
Thank you for your review, and for your continued custom and support, we thank you for taking the time to post.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The City Hotel is perfect for a visit to Derry. It is central to everything. Staff so helpful and welcoming even during our stay with Celtic Festival and over 200,000 visitors to city. Nice breakfast. Riverview for us with large room. Note no air conditioning but small fan in room. Windows open. Walk easily to walled city and beautiful pedestrian bridge. Near shopping mall and lots of bars and resturants. A real value for the dollar and the best location for concerts on the nearby stages. It was a great find for us on our Irish adventure. Check it out !

Room Tip: Request riverview on upper floor for view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear Darinda H,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful time on your Irish adventure and time spent with us during the Fleadh, we hope you take home lovely memories and speak fondly of us, so that friends may visit in the future.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is well worth a vist. It's in a prime location, with lovely views of the river/peace bridge.
Had a lovely room, with great kingsize bed, overlooking the river. Breakfasts were nice and of good quality. Staff couldn't of been more helpful and were very friendly.
The only problem I found was with the lighting in the room - not bright enough, and most difficult in the darker mornings/evenings when trying to apply your make-up!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 998Lelly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2013

Dear 998Lelly21,
Thank you for your review, and lovely comments about our staff, we also are addressing your lighting concern, so thanks also for that, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Comfortable with friendly and well-meaning staff, what could be wrong?

First, the lighting in the rooms is dreadful (except in the bathrooms!). Snazzy pretty lights, but not one is bright, and reading is difficult. I know some people like it fairly dark, but they should have one good light per bedroom, which people who do not want strong lights can just turn off.

Second, the restaurant staff, especially at breakfast, do not listen to what you say, do not bring what you ask, but clear things away before you have finished. Well-intentioned no doubt, but unresponsive and inefficient.

Room Tip: Great views over the river!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear David S,
Thank you for your review, and for staying with us, i've passed your comments to our breakfast and maintenance staff for review, thanks again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I must say from the time I stepped up to the reception desk in this hotel I felt so welcomed.The staff were so friendly and helpful.The hotel was clean comfortable .and nothing was a bother to any of the staff if you asked for anything..I would recommend this hotel to all my friends ..and it was so central to everywhere.you could park your car and walk around the city..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Kay D,
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us, we are pleased to be of service and hope to be again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

As part of our wedding package the hotel included an overnight b&b stay with a 4 course dinner on our first anniversary. I decided as a treat to book a second night and make a weekend of it - I was definitely not disappointed. We stayed on the luxurious 7th floor of the hotel - suites reflective of the city of Derry and some of its famous people. The floor is accessible only to staff and guests and my husband and I knew we were in for a very special weekend from the minute we stepped out of the lift. We stayed in the 'John Hume' suite which was not only luxurious in its surroundings but was very historical feeling with its decor - specific to John Hume himself! We had our anniversary dinner on the first evening and it was delicious - the staff were so friendly and personable with us -its these small wee things that added to the great weekend. Breakfast the morning after did not disappoint either - it has everything you could want. We also spent time in the gym, pool and steam room which was a great way to relax. All in all we had an unforgettable first wedding anniversary in an amazing city centre hotel with the greatest staff we've ever come across. I hope to spend many more wedding anniversaries here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank derrybrowneyedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear derrybrowneyedgirl,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you chose to treat yourself with a prolonged stay on our 7th floor and we had the chance to impress you, we also hope you spend many anniversaries with us through the years.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
623 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £61 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing