We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
armagh northern ireland
Level Contributor
343 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed at the city hotel for one night and was happy with my choice . room was large and clean , breakfast was fine and I thought hotel location was excellent . there are lots of good restaurants and bars within close walking distance. I also found staff to be very pleasant . overall I would stay at the city again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armagh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear armagh222
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear the location was perfect for your needs and that you would stay with us again, thank you for your feedback.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Realtions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    605
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
336
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Just back from a lovely weekend in Derry having stayed in the City Hotel on a Treat Ticket. The staff in Reception could not have been friendlier or more helpful and we were able to get checked into our room early which was good. The rooms are lovely and clean and well maintained although I found the shower hard to get to a temperature that was comfortable and it wasn't that powerful either. Also, found the air conditioning annoying as no matter what I did the room was actually rather on the cold side. The noise from the bar entertainment that night was v loud in the room. If i hadn't brought ear plugs I would not have been happy.

We had a meal booked in the hotel that night and had read very good reviews of the food. While my dining companion had no complaints, my food was disappointingly average. The medallions of pork were nothing like medallions, they just seemed to be large bits of pork that were decidedly over cooked to my taste. While the honeyed vegetables were gorgeous, they were luke warm. I tried the chocolate and malteser pavlova for dessert because I was curious as to how chocolate would lend itself to pavlova... it doesn't really. Obviously, this is my personal opinion but I feel pavlova is best with fruit.. not chocolate. However, my companions apple crumble was to die for. The waiting staff were very attentive and very friendly and overall our dining experience was most pleasant.

The hotel is fantastically located just a short walk from lots of shopping, bars and attractions. Just a shame the weather wasn't so nice!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Denise H,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its location, we appreciate all your comments and have passed them on to the kitchen for consideration. We hope you make a return visit later in the year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Just had my wedding reception in The City Hotel and stayed for the night. I can't find one fault with service, food, cleanliness or the staff who were so helpful and bent over backwards to make it extra special. The 4 course meal was flawless and every guest raved about who beautiful it was. I can't say enough amazing things about the whole package but I'll be back again and again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear Natasha H,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted we could help make your day so special and wish to congratulate you both. We hope to see you for your anniversary if not sooner.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Just back from a fabulous one night stay in Derry City Hotel. We stayed in the newly furbished 7th floor rooms, gorgeous decor, spacious with an enormous bath! Staff were so helpful and friendly, and the food was excellent. Looking forward to staying with them again in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosha_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear cosha_ireland,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the friendly staff, we too hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed here for one night last month towards the end of The City Of Culture celebrations. The room was great and the setting was lovely right beside the River Foyle. We were travelling with two children,. one under 5. The location made things easy for us to get around the city. Might be a good idea if your children take one of those wee Disney scooters with them - our child had less walking to do and had fun at the same time going round this very compact city. The restaurant in the hotel was booked out the night we stayed and we soon learned that when visiting this city its best to book a table in advance, or wait for a table to become available. i have to say that the reception staff on duty the Friday night of the Lumiere festival were exceptionally helpful and smiled through all the pressure they were experiencing. They were "flat out" yet still had time to phone round other restaurants for us to check availability for us. A brilliant time and will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Ome P,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a “Really enjoyable stay” and hope you will return soon in 2014.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnlough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night only. We had a great time. The room was cosy, spacious, clean and comfortable. Our only very small gripe would be that the pillows were too hard for our preference but we may have been able to change them if we had asked. The entertainment suited all musical tastes and the hotel was packed with locals and hotel guests -surely a good sign. We didn't have an evening meal but the breakfast was superb with both cooked and continental selections available. We hope to return soon perhaps for a longer stay as there are some great deals available. The friendliness of the staff from the gentleman who greeted us at the door and gave us advice on where to park safely, the girl on reception who gave us advice on sightseeing to the very cheery girl serving the cooked breakfast on the Sunday morning all make for a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear MickeyMac14,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had such a lovely stay with us and hope you may have time to enjoy a meal in our restaurant on your next visit, also please let us know of your pillow preferences and we will do our best to accommodate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

No Derry hotelier could ask for a more decorative and exciting location: hard by the broad River Foyle, yet in the city centre!
This was my second stay here. My first was about 7 years ago. This time I felt the pace a shade more frenetic ---tho' in fairness my recent visit ( Nov. '13 ) was in the closing months of the very successful 'City of Culture' year.
The staff managed well under an apparently continuous barrage of guests...the foyer was like Grand Central Station at rush hour, on almost any occasion I passed through. This profitable onslaught, however, robbed the hotel of some of that laudable 'cead mille failte' that I'd noticed before. I feel sure that this is a transient thing and all will be perfect when they catch their breath.

Room Tip: Try for one facing onto the Peace Bridge.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BD H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us in 2013 for a return visit. It was indeed a very busy year, we do hope you choose to stay with us again in 2014, for that local city hospitality.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing