We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here early February, there were 4 couples and we got a very good price. The Hotel has a great location and is walking distance to best part of the City Center. We stayed with Dinner and Breakfast included and both were great, would say breakfast was busy with a bit of a waiting time - but when we got in it was great.

Overall would recommend this Hotel to all, great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Steven B
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you found the hotel to be very good value and the location suited your needs, we appreciate you taking the time to post a review, and hope to see you again later in the year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Realtions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    621
    221
    90
    46
See reviews for
347
856
59
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in the heart of Derry. Excellent food and service with locally employed staff. Swimming pool & gym are perfect to help relax after a busy day. Breakfast buffet is also very good!! Underground parking is a added benefit.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PB2Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear PB2Dublin
Thank you for your review, we are pleased we help make a “Successful Business Trip”, we hope you may consider returning for a leisure break perhaps.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed three days over the weekend in February. Great hotel with very friendly staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Well located but then Derry is quite small so most places would be quite central but nice location on the river by the Peace Bridge. First time I've had to use a swimming cap in a pool so remember to bring your own, but you can buy one there for a couple of pounds.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluey564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Bluey564
Thank you for your review and taking the time to post your experiences. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craigavon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Spent a lovely night at this hotel, staff very friendly, room good, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. Staff very helpful in advising places to visit. Would definitely recommend and would use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TouristCraigavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear TouristCraigavon
Thank you for your review, the best compliment we can get is a recommendation and a return visit, thanks again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holywood, Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 21st Feb and loved everything about hotel absolutely beautiful and modern. We stayed in penthouse room on 7th floor and was not disappointed we were in 705 factory penthouse very cosy. Staff were all lovely. Food top class and great deal for 2. 2 course + wine :-) Entertainment very good in hotel Friday and Saturday night. Had a top class weekend in top hotel we can't wait to go back. :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank yummymum83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear yummymum83,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay on our 7th floor and posted some nice pictures of your stay, we hope you make a return visit soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Staff welcomed you as old friend, very helpful even after I checked out. They stored my bags and rang a taxi for me. Loved my stay, this is a five star hotel the room, facilities, restaurant, breakfast and the staff are fantastic, service with a smile.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliekarsten69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Juliekarsten69
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you left with a favourable opinion of our “Irish welcome”, we hope the rest of your travels are the same and you speak kindly of us.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a pleasant evening and excellent dinner for the price. Staff were generally pleasant and helpful and the room was comfortable. Our stay was made less enjoyable the following morning. The breakfast buffet was not great. Food OK but the hot food bar had a long, slow queue seemingly caused by a toasting machine which didn't work properly. Staff were not ready to see this or sort it out. When checking out, further frustrated by a request for proof of payment of dinner the night before! I had to search through my luggage to get my receipt, returning to the back of another queue to show to the receptionist who was unimpressed and not at all apologetic. That's a first in this type of hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philw108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Dear philw108,
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had a pleasant dining experience at night but disappointed to hear of your breakfast encounter, we do have two toasting stations available for those wishing a speedier service, and encourage guests to come early who wish to experience a more leisurely breakfast, we do however appreciate all your comments and will review with the team and look forward to your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
539 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing