We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, penthouse rooms are super”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent two nights here over the weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, on arrival, at reception and in bar and restaurant. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a penthouse room and it was beautiful. Fabulous view over Guildhall and Peace Bridge.
Well equipped and well maintained room.
We ate in the hotel on both nights and it was good. Breakfast fine too.
Music in the bar on both nights also. Great location for exploring Derry sights and shops.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear highfly
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very central hotel, great for the Guildhall, City Sights, shops and eating houses. Stayed in a riverside room, bit on the small side with a small, badly lit bathroom, toilet in an awkward position, shower not very good. Staff all very good, friendly and helpful, the Foyer/Lounge became very chilly from early evening. The restaurant whilst quite plain was at least warm with friendly staff, food also quite good. Breakfast also quite good again with helpful staff, self using toaster poor, had to put toast through three times.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a nice view of river and peace bridge, while most rooms on the other side seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Tom M,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us, may i suggest next time you can request a larger room and we will endevour to fufil all requests, we appreciate all your comments and will review with the management team.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed. Great hotel. Great location. Great food. Used the leisure facilities which were good. Would recommend.for a night or two if you are in Derry. We ended up in the Gweedore Bar again which had great live music.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyGweedore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear BarneyGweedore
Thank you for your review, and for returning to stay with us, we appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here for a very special occasion recently. Booked a standard room as this was pricey enough in the hope we might get a nice view or even an upgrade. Also, being heavily pregnant, I asked for a quiet room. Reservations were a nightmare to deal with. They informed us that they could not guarantee any of our requests and I almost cancelled as I was so worried about what lay ahead. I usually try to avoid city centre hotels on Saturday nights, having had bad experiences with interrupted sleep before. I contacted the manager who said they 'would do their best!'
Anyway, we did get a room with a nice view but no upgrade unless we paid 100 extra and the guests in room around corner from us made alot of noise in the early hours both in room and out on corridor so it wasn't exactly a quiet room!
The room was very basic for the price and we would have been very disappointed if we had had no view over river. The reception staff left a card to mark the occasion that we were celebrating which was a nice touch!
The hotel bar & foyer are very lively on Saturday night so avoid if you are looking for a quiet drink! We enjoyed this however, as it was part of our plan for celebrating the special occasion.
We went down for an early breakfast and this was good, only 3 tables, however there are notices in the lift about waiting times for breakfast being longer when hotel is busy.
Hotel is in a great location, walking distance to most tourist attractions, shops, bars & restaurants. This is probably the best aspect of the hotel.
Overall, I think the hotel would be better value for money if the rooms and foyer area were given a bit of a face lift with a few more little extras thrown in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funmummy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Funmummy2014
Thank you for your review, we do endevour to fulfil all requests and never wish to disappoint. We do hope the complimenary River view, Birthday card, wine and chocolates left in your room did enhance your experience, we apoligise if another guest made noise, we aim to rectify this the moment we are made aware. To clarify,I can confirm the upgrade price to a superior room was only £15. We do appreciate all your comments and hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Took a group to the hotel. Great location. Helpful staff. Rooms clean, bright and modern. My view was the Peace Bridge was just wonderful. I had a group with me they loved the hotel, the staff and the food ! Check the small print if you are booking a group particularly if you are likely to have drop outs. You may end up paying for them luckily I didn't . One of the nicest yet as they say it is location, location, location

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliodhna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Cliodhna M,
Thank you for your review, and for visiting us with your group, we are glad to be of service and hope it won't be too long until your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Generally I don't do reviews but after looking forward to returning to the city of my birth as a birthday treat I was so incensed by my stay in the City hotel that I have to share my experience there. On arriving we were aware that there might be difficultly parking which proved to be the case one of the alternative parking areas that was suggested was the Quayside Shopping Mall next to the hotel, the general cost of .80p per hour was discounted by the hotel making the cost for 2 days parking £26.00. On checking in we were asked to sign a waiver that we would not consume alcoholic beverages or food not purchased in the hotel anywhere in the hotel, according to the staff this included the rooms. The room we were allocated was equipped with a disability bathroom which meant that all facilities were designed around wheel chair users. Being over six foot I found these very awkward as the sink was at knee level and the showers maximum height was chest level. Our room was positioned beside the lift shaft which was very noisy, that combined with the weekend revellers and a very hard bed mattress didn't offer a decent sleep. We were told that the hotel was full and alternative room accommodation was not available to us. Our original plan for the Saturday evening was to dine out but the weather turned bad so we tried to reserve a table in the hotel restaurant but were told that it was fully booked and no provision was made for being residents. Based on the previous nights experience on how busy the bar area had got we decided to order room service for 8:00 pm three hours later. At 8:30pm our meal arrived on the menu as Sirloin steak with Chunky chips and honey roast veg, the steak was reasonable but the Chips turned out to be two halves of an undercooked roast potato and the honey roast vegetables looked like myself very middle aged and been around for a long time. Overall my experience was one I will not be repeating, I will certainly be visiting Londonderry/Derry as I think that it's an exceptional city but unfortunately I won't be staying at the City Hotel any time soon.

Room Tip: Consider alternate hotel accomodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Dear Trevor C
Thank you for your review, we were disappointed to read your birthday treat comments. The room you were allocated was due to booking through a 3rd party website which classes that room type as a standard double as it poscesses all the same facilities, unfortunately we were full so unable to move your room on this occasion. Our restaurant is quite busy. All residents wishing to dine are advised to book at the reservation stage. We appreciate all your comments and do hope you will return to stay with us again, can i recommend booking directly with us or our website as we have a price match guarentee, this way you will have opportunity to experience the high level of service we have become known for at every step of the way.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for a work trip & for this it was fine.

Room was very large with a desk area where I could work as well as table & chairs area. Room was clean but I thought quite basic.

Used the gym & whilst their wasn't a lot of machines their was no issues using the machines you wanted to.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinkletravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear twinkletravel1
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us, maybe next time you might try one of our Penthouse suites to experience the added luxury they provide.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
694 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing