We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Great hotel in a great city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed at city hotel with my husband in mid- February and had a great two days in the city. From arrival at the hotel the door staff were looking after us from advising us on parking to taking our luggage. Our room was well located with an excellent view over the peace bridge and river. Breakfast next morning was good and waiting staff were very efficient . The lovely events manager - Grainne showed us round the next morning and advised on the city walls walking tour, which is a must do activity whilst in Derry. I had stayed in the city hotel before whilst on business and always enjoy the stay. It was good to return on a recreational stay. Thanks to all the management & staff who set high standards and exceed them at city hotel. See you during jazz weekend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Denise F
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay especially the breakfast and our staff, we look forward to seeing you again during the Jazz festival.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    605
    212
    85
    44
See reviews for
336
842
57
250
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I recently stayed at the City hotel, due to business commitments in the city. When I arrived at the hotel I was quickly checked in to my room by efficient and pleasant staff. After a very long day I was delighted to get to a very comfortable room and on ordering room service it arrived very promptly. The food was delicious and reasonably priced in terms of quality and quantity. After a very good night's sleep I went for breakfast early. On being greeted by the staff member, I was very impressed that he noticed I was carrying work files. He immediately directed me to a larger table (even though I was alone) away from other guests already seated. He explained that it would allow me some room and peace to work. I was very taken with his observation and thoughtfulness, which was matched by other staff members throughout the morning. I remained in the dining room several hours during which time the coffee pot was never allowed to get cold or empty!

I will definitely be returning to the hotel and would highly recommend to business users, tourists and families alike.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Leanne K
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you had an enjoyable business trip, it was myself that showed you to your table for breakfast and I thank you for the kind words, any staff menber would have done the same. We really appreciate the feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armagh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed here for a one night break and enjoyed it. Check in was friendly and and were were able to get our room early at 1pm. We dinned for free with the special offer we got when booking and the menu was excellent. All in all we had a great stay and i would love to return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheesh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear sheesh1
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you had an “excellent stay”, and to recieve such a glowing review from a tripadvisor senior contributor, thank you for chosing to stay with us on your return to the city and we hope you chose to stay with us again on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I'm from Derry originally, now living in England, and have family still in Derry. I have stayed at this hotel every year since it opened. It is in a fantastic location. The reception area are very helpful, as are the bar staff at Coppins bar.
Last year we came for the Fleadh, and booked the Coulter Suite on the 7th floor as a treat- WOW!
I love this hotel, it is consistently good, clean, great food and drink. The entertainment is also very good and it is buzzing on a Friday and Saturday night. We are returning for the Derry Jazz Festival in May for 3 nights, it definitely is the best to be! It is a busy hotel, but this adds to the atmosphere.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to the 7th floor, it really is an amazing experience- a real treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear minx04
Thank you for your review, your continued business and for being a champion of the hotel, we look forward to the Jazz festival and your return.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

spent a overnight celebrating my daughter and my birthday,we were upgraded to a executive suite wow!!, beautiful clean room decor was lovely.. found all the staff to be helpful& polite, nothing was any trouble to them . Good location, easy to get about.. used the facilities before a lovely meal in the hotel.. food was amazing. Even the chef decorated two lovely deserts with happy birthday for us. just can not praise this hotel /staff enough Keep up the good work City Hotel.. we will definately be back..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 58jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear 58jake
Thank you for your review, we are delighted we were able to help make you and your daughters birthday a little more special, we appreciate the kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Spent two nights here over the weekend. Friendly and helpful staff, on arrival, at reception and in bar and restaurant. We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a penthouse room and it was beautiful. Fabulous view over Guildhall and Peace Bridge.
Well equipped and well maintained room.
We ate in the hotel on both nights and it was good. Breakfast fine too.
Music in the bar on both nights also. Great location for exploring Derry sights and shops.
Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank highfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear highfly
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Very central hotel, great for the Guildhall, City Sights, shops and eating houses. Stayed in a riverside room, bit on the small side with a small, badly lit bathroom, toilet in an awkward position, shower not very good. Staff all very good, friendly and helpful, the Foyer/Lounge became very chilly from early evening. The restaurant whilst quite plain was at least warm with friendly staff, food also quite good. Breakfast also quite good again with helpful staff, self using toaster poor, had to put toast through three times.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have a nice view of river and peace bridge, while most rooms on the other side seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Tom M,
Thank you for your review, and for choosing to stay with us, may i suggest next time you can request a larger room and we will endevour to fufil all requests, we appreciate all your comments and will review with the management team.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing