We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at The City Hotel and was pleasantly surprised at how clean,tidy and comfortable the hotel was. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Our room had a double bed and as we needed 2 singles..it was sorted in less than 15 minutes when there was a single bed set up in the string area. The food in the restaurant was fabulous as was the breakfast. I have nothing negative to say about the hotel and would definitely return again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Avril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Avril M
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a “Fabulous!” stay and would return, high praise indeed, thanks again.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,021
    629
    223
    94
    46
See reviews for
354
861
60
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel. The staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. I had a disabled room with plenty of room for my mobility scooter and a wet room so I had all my needs catered for. We dined in the restaurant and had a fabulous meal. My complements to the chef.the hotel is perfectly located to see all the sights especially The Peace Bridge which is beside the hotel . I recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrick340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Patrick340
Thank you for your review, we are delighted the room and hotel catered for your needs so well and hope you will return again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed last weekend in room 704 - it was our first time at the hotel and will be our last.

Firstly the room was beautiful - really well finished and excellent bedding. The girl who checked us in also needs to be commended - she was very hospitable and welcoming and it was nice to get a tour of the room.

Here's the negatives!
- MAJOR POINT - THE REST OF THE HOTEL IS NOT MODERN - the 7th floor is new and nice therefore what attracted us but after this stay and the GM's attitude we will not be back!
- a coffee machine eg nespresso - at this level of room this would be a big plus - you are provided with instant coffee!!
- I was a bit surprised there was no separate shower - you also have a jazzed up plastic curtain in the bath
- car parking was not reserveable and not a priority for those in the new rooms. Although good that discounted to £12 per night - this added on £24 to the stay
- the pool is like a paddling pool!!! very tiny and the changing area etc is very dirty - plus you need to wear a swimming cap (costing £2.50 each if you don't have one!)

MAJOR HEALTH AND SAFETY ISSUE....
We used the pool facilities on the 2nd floor at approx 445pm on 22.3.14. We were told that the sauna was out of order which was fair enough. We purchased swimming caps and used the changing facilities. Most of the lockers did not work. Other clients had to assist us in getting them to work as there were no instructions.

We used the pool and the jacuzzi. At approx 1715 while I was in the jacuzzi I started to cough quite a lot and had to sit on the edge. The smell of chlorine was very strong. Another customer also remarked on this and advised there was a problem with chlorine levels. We left the area after this to have a shower in the room. We struggled to get the lockers open and I asked the member of staff to sort these. I would not say that the changing room areas were very clean. We were also disappointed with the facilities in the pool area. We both showered and when going for dinner at a nearby restaurant we both noted that we could still smell chlorine of ourselves. I also felt very itchy. I mentioned this to the 2 girls on the reception desk when we came back - they were very understanding and asked if I reported to the pool staff. To be honest they did not appear very interested in customers and it never crossed my mind. increase of chlorine in the water. Fortunately after showering on Sunday we could no longer smell the chlorine - maybe because we were used to it!

The remainder of the hotel does not come close to the 7th floor. We used the bar area once for this reason - perhaps if common areas were styled like the 7th floor this would match the rooms more appropriately.

I emailed the GM with my points raised above and his comments was that the chlorine was within legal levels. I am not convinced!

If you like hotels of 4 or 5 star standard I would not recommend this one. The 7th floor would get at least 4 stars but the rest of the hotel is very poor. I am sure that the hotel will post something on here but I did give the hotel a chance to redeem themselves as I do not post negative comments where not warranted. I hope fellow tripadvisor users see my other reviews and hotels I have stayed to see the standard I expect from this class of hotel which would not be found at City Hotel Derry.

Room Tip: If you are staying here get the 7th floor - avoid the rest of the hotel! There are some nice bars a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyMcComb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear JohnnyMcComb
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the 7th floor, we do have a continual improvement policy and as such we appreciate all your comments and have discussed with the management team.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

We had our second large event here in the beautiful Corinthian Ballroom overlooking the city where we had a large craft and gift fair. From the moment of booking to the staff who helped each of the stall holders in to set up, customer service at bar, restaurant and reception we received first class service and hospitality. The events team are outstanding and nothing was too much trouble. If you are thinking of booking an event for business I cannot recommend highly enough.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Acoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Acoyle,
Thank you for your review, and for your continued business and support, we are glad to be of service.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our daughter gave us a Living Social Voucher at Christmas which we used recently. The welcome we received on arrival was wonderfully warm. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable compared to most . There was a lovely friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel and a good "buzz" all weekend.
The food was very good and the drink prices were very reasonable. There was good entertainment on both nights. We didn't use the leisure facilities but others who did were impressed.
All staff were terrific and amazingly friendly and helpful. We will visit again hopefully !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinJimmyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear DublinJimmyj
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to here we were able to make your daughters gift such a nice experience for you and thank you for the kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed last year for 5 days 4 night for work, cant really say it was an awesome time, the gym and the pool was outdated and the steam was dark and not really inviteable... Got dinner at the restaurant was allright and the breakfast also good nothing special really! I was lucky got a room overlooking the brigde , really nice view! Will i stay here again ? Nah i dont think so -:)

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ephie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear Ephie L
Thank you for your review, we hope you choose to stay with us again, if so can i recommend trying one of our luxury suites or penthouses for a touch of real luxury.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed at the City Hotel for a special weekend! It certainly was special.

We stayed on the 7th Floor "The Collection" rooms and suites. These were magnificent!

We cannot thank the staff enough for their assistance in making this a wonderfully memorable surprise birthday weekend.

Thank you

Room Tip: ask about "The Collection" on the 7th floor. For that something special for only a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank designminkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear dominic p
Thank you for your review, we are delighted we could add to a wonderful Birthday and hope to see you return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing