We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot for jazz festival”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great spot for jazz festival”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the City last weekend in order to attend the Derry jazz festival.Had a great time, the hotel is at the centre of the event and was buzzing with music , people and atmosphere. Our room had a lovely view up towards the guildhall and river.Food was great, good deal on dinner with wine. Staff were friendly and helpful. One small grouch, some of the bands playing in the foyer were certainly not jazz, more pop mixed with c and w! However, had a great weekend, sorry when it was over!

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards Guildhall have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear clarebradraff
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the Jazz and Big Band music festival, we agree the festival has grown to encompass other music styles over recent years but still has Jazz at its heart. Top tip is to book early for next year as it keeps growing year on year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    613
    215
    87
    44
See reviews for
341
847
58
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in executive room as a birthday treat, and was very impressed! Room was stunning (guildhall room). Very unique features with impressive mural of one of derry's landmark on the wall; flatscreen 'smart TV'; gorgeous bathroom with excellent rain shower (powerful); wonderful option of having breakfast in the room, which was ample and delicious! Staff couldn't have been friendlier and are a credit to the hotel! All in all a fabulous stay in the heart of the city and I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opheliasleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us for a birthday treat. We thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return for any other special occassions

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donaghadee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. We were greeted by extremely friendly & informative hotel receptionist. She couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Room was fantastic, however only 1 thing - the only lighting was 2 lamps then 3 small lights attached to the side of the bed or above the mirror. No main light, this wasn't a major thing but just made the room have very poor lighting. Enjoyed our stay, and would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

My partner and I chose the city hotel for a spontaneous weekend away. Little did we know that there was a jazz weekend happening at the same time! The hotel atmosphere was fantastic. Although packed and very loud, the receptionist checked us in to hotel, and also showed us what was happening that weekend and were, which I thought was a nice touch. The rooms were great, and very clean, which is important to anyones standards! Looking forward to our next visit!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Chris M
Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed the Jazz and Big Band music festival, it is a highlight every year on our calender and for the entire city, my tip is to book early for next year as it keeps growing year on year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
303 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel does everything right. Our room had the most fabulous view of the peace bridge. The receptionist was probably the friendliness receptionist I've met. The room was a good size with a good shower. The spa was good. The location is the best. Breakfast was very nice. It was great value. I can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and thank you for taking the time to post your kind words, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I would recommend this hotel, I can honestly say that for my stay I cannot flaw one thing!! This is because me and my partner had booked a night away for our anniversary. Due to this upon arrival we had received an upgrade! The 7th floor is fab! The hotel had left us a card and some treats! The staff were extremely helpful providing information and evoked a friendly manor. The rooms were first class. The breakfast the next morning was beautiful, and plenty of it! As we we not expecting of this we were truly delighted! The hotel facilities are compact with the reception,bar and restaurant all side by side, the hotel is extremely central. If there was anything to say was not great was car parking has hotel car park is limited spaces but we didn't do too bad we were lucky to get a space in public carpark near by and it cost us a pound!! We will be back!thank u for making are stay special and looking after us!! Kate

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katezaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay for your anniversary and thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great hotel situated right in the centre of the city where all the activities take place.Great value for money especially when the special offers are on. Rooms are very comfortable and clean with friendly staff and great food. Been there before and will go back again

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for offers. Check their website and send an e-mail address
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing