We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base to explore Derry”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The hotel is ideally located for visiting Derry, most things are within walking distance and the staff are absolutely fantastic, they couldn't have been more helpful. We needed to change rooms because of last minute changes and everything was taken care of seamlessly.

Room Tip: Avoid one near the lifts, the tourists can be a bit chatty whilst they are waiting for the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location was perfect for your needs and the staff were able to help with your room change request, we hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

They don't come more friendly.
Been to a few events at the hotel.
They have always been great fun and excellent value.
The staff are excellent. Events are well organised. Facilities are good. Food is tasty and good value.
Lots of fun and good humour in abundance.
Perfect location for visiting city and surrounds.
But definitely not the location for anyone wanting a quiet time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Nicola C
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you have had “Great fun” each time you have visited us, and thank you for posting.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Let me first say that I didn't actually stay at the City Hotel - just attended a wedding reception there as a guest. But the quality of food and service was such that I have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone who is thinking of holding a similar function. The serving staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive; the food and drinks were very good [only the choice at the bar failed to meet my 'real ale' requirements!]; and the attention to detail was perfect. [For example, my daughter is a vegan, and when more food was brought out late at night she was sought out specifically and presented with a tray of her own!] What's more, it was a very large reception, but the kitchens and the number of serving staff together made sure that no-one felt as though their food was being delayed. Altogether a 5-star event.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Bob B
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you felt compeled to post a lovely review after your experience, we are pleased to be of service.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Visited 2-5th May for the Jazz Festival. Booked an executive room. This is our 15th stay at The City Hotel. I've been visiting since the hotel first opened. The staff are so warm and friendly, all we heard was 'no bother' this was definitely their moto! We were shown to our room and presented with a card and bottle of wine for my husbands 40th birthday. The hotel was exceptionally busy, as was everywhere this weekend, but it wasn't a problem. The hotel is the hub of the city. Locals head there for their weekend.
The atmosphere is amazing, honestly,on a typical Sat night,
just experience it! We had lunch twice, sandwiches and soup-lovely. Drink prices for the hotel are reasonable and service is good. The door men are so friendly and helpful. I'm sorry, but im not convinced by the reviewer who wrote 'worst hotel ever' honestly, it's fab. We've stayed in hotels in The Maldives, New York, Barbados.
etc. I work for a company and go away on business often.
The City Hotel is my favourite-my husband chose his 40th here rather than a weekend in Barcelona! Derry people are the best-friendly and so warm (I'm one originally). I champion this hotel time and time again. We are coming back again in July

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear minx04,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us again and thank you for being a champion of the hotel and returning so often, we take it as a compliment, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed at the City last weekend in order to attend the Derry jazz festival.Had a great time, the hotel is at the centre of the event and was buzzing with music , people and atmosphere. Our room had a lovely view up towards the guildhall and river.Food was great, good deal on dinner with wine. Staff were friendly and helpful. One small grouch, some of the bands playing in the foyer were certainly not jazz, more pop mixed with c and w! However, had a great weekend, sorry when it was over!

Room Tip: Rooms facing towards Guildhall have lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarebradraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear clarebradraff
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you enjoyed the Jazz and Big Band music festival, we agree the festival has grown to encompass other music styles over recent years but still has Jazz at its heart. Top tip is to book early for next year as it keeps growing year on year.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed in executive room as a birthday treat, and was very impressed! Room was stunning (guildhall room). Very unique features with impressive mural of one of derry's landmark on the wall; flatscreen 'smart TV'; gorgeous bathroom with excellent rain shower (powerful); wonderful option of having breakfast in the room, which was ample and delicious! Staff couldn't have been friendlier and are a credit to the hotel! All in all a fabulous stay in the heart of the city and I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Opheliasleeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay with us for a birthday treat. We thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return for any other special occassions

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel. We were greeted by extremely friendly & informative hotel receptionist. She couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring we enjoyed our stay. Room was fantastic, however only 1 thing - the only lighting was 2 lamps then 3 small lights attached to the side of the bed or above the mirror. No main light, this wasn't a major thing but just made the room have very poor lighting. Enjoyed our stay, and would most definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gebz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, we are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay and thank you for taking the time to post, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
698 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing