We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is right in the city centre. Very clean, staff are very friendly and offer a great breakfast. Well worth the money. We stayed for my 40th birthday in the hotels New Rooms and we had a fantastic time there is such a good atmosphere in this hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the Birthday treat went well and thank you for taking the time to post a review, we hope you will return again soon

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,061 - 1,067 of 2,096 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here at the weekend for one night dinner b&b. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome by the receptionists. Superior room was lovely with gorgeous views of peace bridge etc. Meal in restaurant was delicious. But the thing that stands out the most is how friendly and helpful each member of staff we spoke to where. Nothing was a bother and one waiter even took the time to bring us a map of bars etc to visit that night. I would recommend staying in the city hotel. The management should be very proud of all staff members as they make each and every person feel so welcome.
Julie

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerr815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the hotel and our staff impressed so much and thank you for the kind words, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We decided at the last minute to overnight in Londonderry as we were driving around Northern Ireland. Despite the jazz festival being on, they had a room available. We got upgraded to a lovely large room, modern decor and with a view of the river. Despite the jazz acts in the foyer, the room was lovely and quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size.
We enjoyed listening to some of the acts in the foyer while enjoying a beer.
All the staff were lovely - as were all people we came into contact with in Northern Ireland.
The buffet breakfast in the morning was also excellent, large selection of hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PRAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location suited your needs and thank you for taking the time to post a review, we hope you will return again soon

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband and myself have just got back from a truly wonderful stay in the superb City Hotel in the lovely city of Derry. The location of the hotel simply cannot be bettered as it is situated on the banks of the River Foyle and is steps away from the Guildhall, The Peace Bridge, the Walls, & the main shopping area. From the very first moment we entered the hotel we were impressed by the warm welcome & genuine friendliness...we were greeted by lovely Laura who checked us in & then took us to our room on the 7th floor. Wow!! These rooms have to be seen to be believed! The entire 7th floor has been dedicated to these penthouse rooms & suites and they are simply stunning....absolutely beautiful & with views to die for. We were in room 707 which afforded us the most incredible views of the Guildhall & beyond, as well as a beautiful vista of The Peace Bridge & River Foyle. We were lucky enough to have had beautiful sunny weather during our stay so as you can imagine the views on such clear days & evenings were just breathtaking. The decor of the penthouse rooms is impeccable & everything looked exquisite & pristine. The huge beds are just so comfy & we both slept very well, awakening each morning with a lovely breakfast to look forward to. Breakfast is served buffet style with a good selection of bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes, scrambled egg etc as well as a varied selection of breakfast cereals, fruit juices,breads, Danish pastries. Your waiter or waitress will serve you tea or coffee at your table & also you can request omelettes, poached or boiled eggs etc should you prefer. The breakfasts are very good & substantial and will set you up for the day ahead. I had a really delicious omelette on our second morning & it was one of the nicest I have ever tasted. Thank you to Evelyn for her excellent service.
We had a delicious dinner in the dining room & the service & food were excellent. Our waitress recommended the seafood chowder & she was absolutely right...it was delicious & so fresh..far better than I've had in San Francisco. Hubby had the chicken & bacon Caesar salad to start & he pronounced it to be delicious. We both opted for the rump steak with peppercorn sauce which is served with mashed potatoes & another side order of your choice...I went for the chunky honey roasted vegetables which were VERY good & my husband went for garlic fries & we ordered some onion rings as well. Delicious! There was nothing left on either of our plates by the time we had finished our meals & we both agreed that it was a good idea to have desserts which we thoroughly enjoyed as well....sticky toffee pudding and ice cream for me and fresh fruit pavlova for hubby. The friendliness of every member of staff we encountered during our stay impressed us both tremendously and the Management of this hotel are to be commended on having created such a lovely, welcoming haven in the Maiden City. We simply cannot recommend the City Hotel highly enough and cannot wait to return again soon. If you are looking for something extra special it is well worth staying on the penthouse floor.....you have to see it and experience it to believe it! We were SO impressed by it that it is safe to say it far exceeded our expectations.....we have stayed at some beautiful hotels around the world and have never seen anything quite this special before.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gottaluvflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the hotel and our staff impressed so much and thank you for the kind words, we hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This is a really great hotel in the city of Derry. Staff are really brilliant, friendly and helpful. Nothing remarkable about the rooms but in many ways that is good. And it is not outrageously expensive like too many places of its type.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gugawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the hotel suited your business needs, maybe you may consider a leisure break in one of our luxury suite next time you visit the city

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Waking up and looking out ouur hotel window at the Guild Hall and Peace Bridge is such a treat, but so is everything about this hotel. Even the buffet breakfast is wonderful. My custom egg white onelet was the best I've ever had. You sleep in a comfy bed in toyr roomy bedroom, get washed up in the modern bathroom, then take two steps to the river, or go shopping for anything you might need. Great plac!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you loved the view, location and service, we thank you for taking the time to post

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I were on a tour of Ireland in April of 2014. This hotel was with our tour. This hotel had a great location in Derry. It was close to walk to the Peace Bridge and to the statue of Hands Across the Divide. The hotel room was comfortable and there was a coffee pot in the room. We ate dinner at the hotel and food was good. There was entertainment in the lobby which included a bagpiper and singers. This hotel was very busy. We ate breakfast the next morning at the hotel - buffet style and there was a good selection of breakfast food and all the food was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed “Derry in April” and hope you may make a return visit one day, we hope the rest of your tour was as nice.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing