We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer visit 2014”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Derry city was crowded but the City hotel staff were calm collected and always obliging.
We could not have asked for a more comfortable large room overlooking the river Foyle with a large bathroom with a shower over the bath and good hot water. Good TV and wifi reception free!
Dinner was well presented and good value. We would recommend this hotel very highly.

Room Tip: We were in room 603. It was the day before the tall ships were due in and with crowds very noisy out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we hope you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for recommending us.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 2,079 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

This my first time ever writing a review and also the first time I have felt the need to do so.Brilliant location, staff were more than helpful,very pleasant very professional .Room was very clean great views of city ,could not praise hotel and staff enough .Looking forward to returning sometime in the future

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we take it as high praise indeed if you felt compelled to leave a good review, we hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

After one and half hour drive from Belfast, I arrived at this hotel. Look like the place has been there for quite sometime. However, the facility is well maintained. My room is overlook the river Foyle and Peace bridge. Nice view, comfortable bed, TV screen is a bit small but function well. A lot of restaurants and pub around the area including the famous CityWall tour.

Stayed: June 2557, travelled on business
2  Thank Wichak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we hope your 1st visit to the city won't be your last, thanks for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel wonderful food very friendly and helpful amazing city cant wait to go again i definetly will return to the city hotel customer service is excellent and dinner in the resturant was outstanding it is very good value with free walking tour which was fabulous

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on our customer service, thank you for your kind words.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I don't usually write reviews but I was so impressed with this hotel that I decided I had too!! We had a gorgeous room overlooking the Foyle, the room was clean, spacious and overall I was very impressed. We dined in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner, the staff were so helpful and food was delicious. Overall we had a great weekend in this hotel and we will certainly be back again soon! Loved the clipper festival too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we really do appreciate people taking the time to leave a lovely review, thanks again

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed here for one night, it was our wedding anniversary when we got yo our room lovely anniversary card was in the room from the hotel staff, lovely touch. Stay was lovely couldn't find one thing to complain about. Room was great with a lovely view of the the river and the frontage. Can't wait to return. Thank you City Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we trust you had a wonderful anniversary stay with us and hope to see you again next year

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the city hotel for a wedding in April. It was in a lovely spot in the city over the water with walking distance to the peace bridge. The city hotel caters for all the needs from shopping, tourist walks etc

The staff were lovely and the food was great.

Thanks again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyO65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear AndyO65
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a lovely time here in April and will return again soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
642 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £53 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing