We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
305 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel looked good online and was recommended by a local. Centrally enough located to the city and bars/shops/restaurants all within walking distance. Also has a nice view (depending on what side your room is) of the river.
Check in was a bit slow. There were 5 of us checking in and there was only one member of staff attending to us although there were 4 behind the desk. I ended up leaving my suitcase at reception as had to rush of to a meeting and to be fair they did deposit it up to my room.
Room was nice enough, nothing special and bathroom felt a bit dated. Was clean and well presented though.
We ate dinner out at a local restaurant so can not comment on the food as I also missed breakfast although it was included in the rate.
After eating out came back to the hotel around 10pm. It was in full party mode with a wedding reception in one of the function rooms and a singer in the main lounge. Atmosphere was good and the bar staff were polite and service was good

When I went to my room around 11 I was surprised at how loud the noise was still coming from downstairs as I was 4 floors up. I was extremely tired so managed to get to sleep but I could understand this would be cause for complaint as normally I am not sure I would have slept so easily.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KayleighMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the atmosphere and the staff, at check in although it would be common practice to check a group in together to make sure all arrangements are met for all if you would prefer a separate check in please feel free to approach another receptionist, all our staff are happy to help.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    628
    223
    94
    46
See reviews for
353
861
60
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with our 2 children - 10 and 12 years old. The hotel is wonderfully located on the river with a view of the Peace Bridge. Easy walk to Guild Hall, wall and other attractions. The room was extremely generous in space for our family of 4. The dinner we had in the hotel was one of the best, having just experienced some great restaurants in London and Paris. The hotel is very clean. The staff was lovely and helpful. My problems with hotel are as follows: they only have parking for 90 cars and was full when we arrived and although public parking is located next door for a fee I felt they should have covered that fee or have negotiated with garage for discount for their guests, no A/C in the room, our window only opened a little bit, we were provided a fan but with 4 people and no exhaust fan in the bathroom to take away steam it was uncomfortable; no beverage fridge or ice machines; no safe; no tissues; lighting was very bad and made the room dull and gloomy especially since we faced out onto other hotel rooms; I was told at check in that there was no problem to print our boarding passes but when I checked out there was a small charge that I felt should have been told up front; eggs at breakfast buffet are watery and disgusting - powdered eggs maybe, asked for 2 eggs to be made and I think they were powdered eggs also. That was disappointing after having such a great dinner. Lastly, Wi-fi was free for one device and with 4 people that became a problem. Also, the code for the Wi-fi was only good for 24 hours so you had to go the desk for updated passwords to access.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with AC and if you have a car if parking is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted the location and food impressed, for your next stay it may interest you to know, that the adjacent car park costs only £1 for 4 hours and is free overnight from 6.30pm until 8.30am, and we do have a negotiated discount with the multi-storey when paying at reception. Air conditioned rooms are available upon request at the booking stage if you would like to contact reservations directly for the best available rates. We offer scrambled eggs on our buffet cooked with fresh eggs and a little milk, all other eggs are cooked to order, boiled / poached / fried and delivered to your table upon request. We hope you return soon and that you had a great vacation.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roma
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very easy to find when arriving by car and right in the city center. However was disappointed not to have the view of the city although advertised for triple rooms, but on a brick wall and this renders the room rather gloomy since lightning is very sparse. Bathroom definitely needs refurbishment although kept nicely clean. Was also suprised by the absence of fridge.
On the positive side, room is spacious and the 2 beds are excellent.
Car park is tiny, fortunately car park nearby is not very expensive especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dangpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, All our suites and superior rooms come with coolers in each room and we also can supply to other rooms upon request, we are at a loss to discover where as you state a city view is advertised for triple rooms as this is something we do not advertise, if you would kindly update me so I can further investigate.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for one night in May and was very impressed by the location and the facilities. Reception was well presented. Bar was excellent and the breakfast was very good. Car parking facilities were a little short and our room seemed a little dated and noisy but all in all a good experience in a city with not too many options. Recommend!

Room Tip: Higher up and away from the main road if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnie1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and for recommending us, we have a continual renovation policy in place so hopefully some nice changes for your next visit.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Had not been in this hotel for at least six years and that was a business seminar, so we decided to take an overnight break in the city and get a taster of Londonderry as a tourist visitor. Well what a change there is in the city since that visit.The City hotel is a great location to base your stay around.Welcoming staff and superb service and information from John the concierge started our stop over on just the right note. Check in painless, good room size although would go for river view the next time. Having disability parking right at the main entrance was an added bonus.Lounge bar and staff set the tone far a pleasant refreshment after the days sightseeing and walking. Breakfast as an opional extra was superb especialy with it's view across the river and Harbour square to thhe Guild Hall. Cerainly will be back for a longer stay at this great hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with a river view have more natural light and obviously a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review, and for returning to visit us, we are pleased to hear you were impressed by the changes experienced.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maghera, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

wasnt impreesed with the entrance. on arrival a fleet off stairs, wen we got 2 our room and ready 2 head out we rang down for a cab. we were waitin on a call back wen cab was there as we didnt we went down 2 c wat was happenin, the lady said she rang up but guess wat no fone in the room, didnt find the receptionist very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breige S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you liked the location, unfortunately your issue with waiting on a taxi is beyond our control and dependant on their business levels, we are happy to arrange taxis for guests but recommend booking in advance if time is a concern.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed 28th-31st July. Another great stay, we stayed three nights and had a great time.
The hotel and staff were excellent as usual....had the two's company meal on the first night, excellent value.
Can't wait to be back in November (Getting married at the hotel).
Keep up the good work, your staff are a credit to you.
Kind regards Paul & Theresa

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear guest
Thank you for your review, and your continued support, we look forward to looking after you and your friends & family in November, best wishes.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
563 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing