We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I checked in late but was still given a room with the view of the river as requested. The receptionist, whose name I unfortunately forgot, was also really helpful when I had some car issues when trying to enter the car park not realising that it was already full. She was kind enough to direct me to park someone else. I then left my bags in the lobby and she brought my bags to my room while I was parking. Room wise, it was clean, quiet, and the view was great.
Tip: If you drove there, try to check in as early as possible as there are only 40 parking spaces and are given on a first-come-first serve basis.

Room Tip: request a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to be of service and hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

There is a good buzz about this place. The lobby was full of guests during our 1-night stay. The reception lady was very helpful and on site parking was secure and free.

The hotel was equipped with a small pool, jacuzzi, steam room and gym. The facilities were clean and well maintained.

The room was spacious with a view of the river and the new bridge. It took less than 5 minutes to walk into town so its location is fantastic.

It is functional hotel that does not overcharge and does the job well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CYuenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location suited your needs and thank you for taking the time to post.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My cousin had his wedding at this hotel last June. I booked into the foyle bridge suite on the top floor as a treat for my girlfriend. We requested an early check in due to the wedding and they allowed us into the suite at 12 for no extra cost. We were truly amazed by the suite it was clean smart and very spacious. They were just newly opened. The price was very reasonable. We ordered room service that night and they were very prompt with the service. From start to finish the hotel treatment was excellent. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends wanting a luxury night away at a hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our 7th floor and hope you had a fabulous time at the wedding.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I've stayed here a few times and don't think I would stay anywhere else the rooms are great value and spotless! The food is beautiful and the staff are very friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renitagail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, and you continued business, we look forward to your return

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Thank you to management and staff at The City Hotel, have stayed here on many short breaks so as part of our 25th Wedding Celebrations took a 3 night midweek stay. Arrived early to secure parking at the hotels underground facility, and got parked no bother. Didnt expect room to be ready and didnt mind as we had a light bite at Coppins Bar and coffee of course...staff all newly fangled with thon new machine!! Room ready and bags already delivered we were greeted with 25th Anniversary card and a River view room which was a pleasant surprise.Four course Dinner inclusive in package was delicious as usual and breakfasts always pleasing! no powdered eggs here??? lovely scrambled egg on buffet and fried or boiled egg available on request. Staff friendly and efficient as always. Many thankyous City and hope to get another WEE trip up ther before Christmas

Room Tip: we had room on the 4th floor, road traffic yes.. close the window, it is in a City. Corridors quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazysusanN.Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the kind words and hope you enjoyed the coffee, May we wish you a Happy Anniversary also.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

First time in Derry and we picked the perfect hotel. Location is ideal and the hotel and staff are simply excellent. We arrived at the hotel and pulled up outside the door and were immediately greeted by a kind gentleman/porter. He looked after up so fast and efficiently that I didn't get a chance to thank him not alone tip him. The lady at reception was so curious and friendly that I immediately felt at home. I had mentioned that we had our baby boy with us and needed a cot in the room and it was brought up within minutes and set up by another lovely young lady. We ate in the restaurant and had our one year old son with us and we were fussed over from the second we sat down. The dinner was out of the world delicious and when we finished I literally rolled back up to our room. The only fault(which is a very small one) is that the bed was very short and quiet small & cosy. We are a tall couple so I can't complain to much.
To end: Thank you very much ALL of the staff for making our stay the most memorable one on our short break. Would recommend this hotel to one and all......

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Antoinette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted we were able to make your family break an enjoyable one, and appreciate you recommending us.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Got to say our experience in this hotel was brilliant from the minute we arrived until it was home time.
We had the most beautiful meal well presented -the waiters also did a wonderful job getting everyone served in time.
Well done to all the staff for being helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment about the staff and letting us know you had a lovely night.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
693 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £52 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing