We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,181)
Filter reviews
2,181 results
Traveller rating
1,096
677
247
103
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,096
677
247
103
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeace bridgeseventh floorriver viewcar parktrouser pressguild hallsuperior roomleisure facilitiessteam roomcentral locationexcellent hotelcourse mealsaturday nightreception staffboth nightsjazz festivalweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,037 - 1,042 of 2,181 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Spent three days at this hotel recently. Food in the hotel is really good, with a great choice of breakfast. We also had an evening meal in the restaurant on two evenings and on both occasions could not be faulted. Having said that, there is one issue which I believe needs to be addressed. We were on the sixth floor of a seven storey building and the room we were in did not appear to have any air-conditioning. It was extremely stuffy and hot during the night hours, while it was not possible to open the window more than about 30 millimetres. This I can understand would be due to safety concerns. However the temperatures were still unacceptable, and need to be addressed. So if making a booking try to get a room on one of the lower floors.
The car parking is very limited in the free underground car park. The parking spaces are also extremely tight if you are driving a medium to large car and you could end up (having managed to park your car) not being able to get out of it! Finally just be aware the television in your room does not have Ireland's main TV channel, RTE1, on it, which we found hard to understand. For the reasons mentioned above what should have been a five-star rating ends up as a three. Having said all that we will return, but only to one of the lower floors.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mingmoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Dear mingmoos
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed the service and the food during your stay, we do have air-conditioned rooms available upon request please feel free to request this at the time of booking and we will endeavour to fulfil all requests whenever possible. Due to RTE1 recently changing broadcast frequency your TV did need a retune, all other RTE channels are available, we apologise if this caused any inconvenience and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Not long back from this hotel after spending 3 nights there. We were checked in by a nice receptionist quickly and efficiently in the smart lobby. We were in a family room with 2 double beds. Requested a room near the lift, which was given. Despite being beside the lifts, we never heard any noise coming from them. The room was large and airy and nicely decorated. Beds were large and very comfy. The seating area near the window was comfortable and good for having a cup of coffee at or working if you needed to. There was a good-sized TV in the room with lots of channels. Other facilities such as tea and coffee tray, hairdryer, trouser press and ironing board and iron were included in the room. The bathroom was of a good size and had a bath with a shower over it. Lots of towels were provided and as well as a range of toiletries. The was very clean. We met members of the housekeeping team on several occasions during the stay, who were very friendly and did a great job. There is a buffet breakfast in the morning, served from 06.30 - 10.00. There is a continental selection (fruit, yogurt, cereal, croissants, Danish pastries, ham, cured meat, fruit juices) and the a selection of cooked food to make up an Irish breakfast. I felt the quality of the food was excellent at breakfast and this is something which I feel can often let many hotels like this down. The only minor issue at breakfast was getting a hot drink order. On morning 1 we had to ask twice to get coffee, on morning 2 we asked and never got any coffee yet on morning 3 there were no such issues. I did write this on a comment card in the room and have no doubt this issue will be rectified. We also dined in Thompson's restaurant and had a delicious meal with brilliant service. We had dinner the other 2 nights in the lobby area. Kieran, who served us on our last night, is a real asset to the hotel. This was a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we can't wait to return to maybe try out one of the superior rooms or suites. This is a great option in Derry for those wanting a luxurious break or to sightsee as the hotel is very close to the main city. Would recommend - 5* stay

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank xxMissAxox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for recommending the hotel.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I checked in late but was still given a room with the view of the river as requested. The receptionist, whose name I unfortunately forgot, was also really helpful when I had some car issues when trying to enter the car park not realising that it was already full. She was kind enough to direct me to park someone else. I then left my bags in the lobby and she brought my bags to my room while I was parking. Room wise, it was clean, quiet, and the view was great.
Tip: If you drove there, try to check in as early as possible as there are only 40 parking spaces and are given on a first-come-first serve basis.

Room Tip: request a view of the river
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diary12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to be of service and hope you will return soon.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

There is a good buzz about this place. The lobby was full of guests during our 1-night stay. The reception lady was very helpful and on site parking was secure and free.

The hotel was equipped with a small pool, jacuzzi, steam room and gym. The facilities were clean and well maintained.

The room was spacious with a view of the river and the new bridge. It took less than 5 minutes to walk into town so its location is fantastic.

It is functional hotel that does not overcharge and does the job well.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CYuenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are pleased the location suited your needs and thank you for taking the time to post.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

My cousin had his wedding at this hotel last June. I booked into the foyle bridge suite on the top floor as a treat for my girlfriend. We requested an early check in due to the wedding and they allowed us into the suite at 12 for no extra cost. We were truly amazed by the suite it was clean smart and very spacious. They were just newly opened. The price was very reasonable. We ordered room service that night and they were very prompt with the service. From start to finish the hotel treatment was excellent. I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends wanting a luxury night away at a hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CityHotelDerry, Guest Relations Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed our 7th floor and hope you had a fabulous time at the wedding.

Yours sincerely
Conor Friel
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews