We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative in Derry”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Limerick
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good alternative in Derry”
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while attending a conference that took place at the hotel itself.
The experience was overall positive. The room was spacious and clean, and the staff friendly enough, particularly the conferencing assistants.
One problem was finding a space in the hotel car park. One of my colleagues could not park there and had to go to the pay car park located on the quay, until a space became available. The reception staff were very helpful but had the details of all our reservations wrong for one reason or another, we were lucky that things could be amended without having to try and find another hotel.
Breakfast was average. The bar is a little cramped and the bar staff managed to slip me an out-of-course banknote in change - obviously taking advantage of my not being a local person. There is no free internet access, and we had to purchase vouchers for it.
Overall, it's a good alternative for staying in Derry, central and generally of good quality. It doesn't shine though!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChocFrog75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2009
Thank you for your recent review on trip advisor in relation to your stay at the hotel. In terms of car parking, we are limited with only 40 spaces but we can offer residents special rates with the multistorey car pack next door. We also will be upgrading our internet offering to guests over the summer months.

I hope you will return to the City Hotel again in the future.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    630
    223
    94
    46
See reviews for
355
861
61
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2009

When we arrived there was no problem getting a space in the car park. The pool and steam room was great - I liked the jug of menthol in the latter for clearing your tubes !

Our package included two meals which were both fantastic, my wife had not eaten steak for 20 years but after tasting mine at the first meal, she ordered it herself the next time !

We also got a free tour of the city walls in our package with a Derry guy called Martin which was superb and he went well over the allotted time telling us about the ancient history of Derry up to "Bloody Sunday" and the Peace process.

Breakfasts were great, they even had little pots of Marmite. I usually have to carry my own jar !

Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2009
Thank you for your review of the City Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We will pass on your comments to Martin the tour guide and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Stayed for 1 night and we had a great start with good car parking and very friendly receptionist called Kieva who could not do enough for us at check in.

The room however, was not good. Very small and we got a lot of noise from outside despite our windows being closed. In addition to this there was no air conditioning.

Room service was poor with the food being dry and tasteless. Breakfast was similar with the bacon etc being cold and tasteless.

Check out was again good and I cannot fault the service at the hotel.

However, the hotel despite being close to the city is more 3 star than 4 star and I would not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJMWELLINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2009
Further to your recent review of the City Hotel, i was disappointed to read your comments and feedback.

I will discuss the issues raised with our General Manager and relevant departments and in the meantime i would be grateful if you could forward your contact details to salesmgr@cityhotelderry.com

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast England
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

A five night business stay. I’ve stayed at the City Hotel several times before. As before, I am impressed by the comfort, efficiency and friendliness of the hotel and its staff. I had a room on the 5th floor, with a fabulous river view. Very quiet, no corridor disturbances (even though I was here over a weekend). I had a lot of writing to do during my stay, and the work bench in my executive room made this very efficient (very worth the extra cost to a Premier Inn, where you are cramped at a small desk in front of a mirror).

One benefit of the City Hotel, is its underground car park (space for 40 vehicles). This is great during the week, although gets full at weekend, but there is ample parking outside in the pay-car park by the river. The hotel car park is tightly designed (to accommodate 40 cars) and (driving an unfamiliar hire car) I managed to scrape my car on a concrete pillar. My fault entirely, and fortunately I had taken out maximum insurance at the car hire centre at Belfast City Airport, so it did not cost me. But be warned, be very careful in the car park.

I was working in Derry for 5 days, and people asked me where I was staying. When I told them, all commented approvingly, mentioning the hotel’s reputation for good food. Although I only ate there twice in the evenings, I agree. The breakfasts are good quality and value as well.

Nine out of ten points for the City hotel. Why not ten points? Room service staff in the mornings seem to be a little over-assertive in entering rooms without sufficient enquiries to ascertain whether this is convenient for the guest (I was in the shower on one such occasion – at about 9.15am). For the rest of my stay, I kept the chain on my door when I was in my room.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2009
Thank you for your comments and feedback from your stay in the City Hotel. I will ensure to pass on your comments to our room service staff and in the meantime we look forward to welcoming you back to the City Hotel.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2009

Myself and three friends stayed at City Hotel for 9 nights during the month of April. We were quite impressed with the food, wine, and service. In particular, the evening dining wasincerdible at the hotel. The wine selection was adequate and the food was divine. Some of the benefits associated with our stay was it's convenient location for shopping, other restaurants, and pubs. Also, the Tourist Inforamtion was literally a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The staff were professional and friendly. I would hoghly recommend the Derry City Walk around the walls of Derry. This is a one hour historical walk that commences about a 5 minute jaunt from the Hotel. Interesting history related to the outward migration of Irish citizens to American soil. Beutiful buildings along the route that have been standing for centuries. A must see while in Derry.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banshee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2009
Thank you for your review and impressive comments relating to the City Hotel. Im glad you enjoyed your time in the City and we look forward to welcoming you back to Derry again soon.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wemyss Bay
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Visited City Hotel Derry Easter Weekend. Hotel was great value for money, rooms were smart & clean, executive rooms were a bit bigger. Ate in hotel both nights on the set menu with bottle of wine per couple included - excellent value and food was lovely. Bar was also nice although very busy in the evenings. Staff were at all times pleasant & helpful, all in all a good weekend hotel close to local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WemyssBayKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2009
Thank you for your recent review of the City Hotel and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your Easter break in Derry. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2009

Recently returned from a stay at the City Hotel Derry.What can i say ? We were very impressed with it.The room was great,staff so friendly,even got an upgrade free gratis.Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice,hoping to return again at the end of may if we get a similar deal.Big thanks to Laurie who gave up his time to show us round the city (top man). We would reccomend the hotel to anyone looking for a base to explore Derry.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2009
Thanks for your review of the City Hotel and great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to seeing you back in the hotel soon.

Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#10 of 13 in Derry
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Property: City Hotel
Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing