We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers Day”
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here the first week in Jan, had booked it as a present for the better half hoping for a nice relaxing few days away. The rooms were o.k., the leisure centre nice, the staff were very pleasant, dinner was nice but breakfast bland and not a great choice.
What messed up our stay was that the hotel had a big Fawlty Towers moment.

The system for the electronic swipe cards for the room doors wasn't working properly and then not working at all. We had to get the porter to use the master card to get us into our room every time we wished to go into it - on the 6th floor. On one occasion, his card wouldn't work and after sitting in the hallway for 30mins in our gym gear they allowed u into one of the empty rooms. They had to break into the other room (with our permission) as the keys wouldn't work so we then moved our stuff from that room to the newer room which management said was an upgrade. (If you are thinking about upgrading, don't, you get a similar room with 2 bottles of water, 2 mini kit-kats, a weighing scales and more noise).
The trip to Derry was ruined by the messing at the hotel, we had driven a long way to relax but couldn't feel comfortable while staying here. No offer of a stay on some other night, no free dinner which would have gone a long way, instead we get moved rooms because mgt had no choice, our room door was broke and we had already moved into the 'upgrade' room.
The hotel might be an ok 3 star if mgt could guarantee the doors would work but in the 2 days we were there the staff apologised a lot but didn't know how or when it would be fixed. I assume it is fixed but what are the chances that it will happen again...

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, General Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

We apologise for the failure of the Lock system you experienced during your recent visit to the hotel. Without getting over technical we had a hard drive failure of computer that operates our key card system which prohibited us to enable new key card for arrivals on that day. Technology can be great but Im sure you have experienced in our modern world it can also be frustrating at times.
The problem was fixed immediately the next morning with a replacement hard drive installed.
I believe that the manager on duty handled the situation in a professional manner and decided to move you to a new room as this was the best option. It was unfortunate that this occurred just when you returned from the gym although i can assure you that this was an isolated incident which unfortunately no hotel could ever plan for and it was the first time we experienced such a problem in 8 years of operation.

If you wish to contact us directly we would be happy to discuss the matter further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,839 - 1,845 of 2,109 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2011

My dad was having his 80th birthday and all the family came back from all over Ireland and the uk for this event. My wife and I usually stay with family, but we decided to stay at the city hotel and left family from England stay at home. We had a fantastic time. It's great going home, but not staying with family, we had a break inside a break nearly. This was all helped by the super, super efficient staff. From the girl who cleaned the room to the duty manager and bar man, they all went out of their ways to make sure we had a great stay, and we did. If I have a complaint, I would have liked a larger bed, but I was happy with my room.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theohares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the City Hotel and for your comments in relation to your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at this fantastic hotel and are intending to stay there next time we visit Londonderry. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and really have everything you could need for a relaxing stay. Beds are the most comfortable we`ve ever slept in ANYWHERE and the hotel facilities are first rate. The food was great and the staff very helpful as well as efficient. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who wants a great place to stay with the city centre just a few minutes walk away. Looking forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetwotravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for your review of the City Hotel and for the feedback on all aspects of your stay. Im delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for a wedding, which also took place at the hotel.

Bedroom spacious but small bed, food good, swimming pool facilities good. I would recommend this hotel should any of my friends decide to visit Derry.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the City Hotel. Great to hear such positive feedback and we hopefully will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2011

We recently stayed in the City Hotel Derry from our arrival we were greated with warmth and exceptional welcomes from all members of staff. A particular girl Margaret-Mary was more than helpful she suggested all our activities and places to eat and boy did she get it right. We had two wonderful days and cant wait to go back. make sutre and get on their mailing list for special offers. We got 2 nights B&B aqnd one dinner for a great rate.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edellagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Many thanks for your review of the City Hotel and im delighed you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to feedback to Margaret -Mary. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2011

What we liked was that things worked as they should, warm room, hot shower,etc prompt service, efficient but not overbearing. Room comfortable and clean which helped as I had to spend a couple of days in bed sick. Could've been worse, 6th floor views were great! Breakfast not bad, good for the money. Seems to be a well run ship, somebody in charge knows what they're doing

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spicenicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Thank you for your comments and feedback on the City Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

Stayed in the suite with my boyfriend for two nights
And had an amazing time
Views were to die for and the room was gorgous
Only downside was the breakfast
The hot food was cold and there was not a huge variety of foods.
My boyfriend whos usually at heaven when it comes to hotel breakfasts only managed a measly bowl of cereal
Overall we had an amazing stay but would probably choose to eat somewere else next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britton92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CitySales, Sales Manager at City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2011

Many thanks for your review of the City Hotel. Im delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and we hopefully will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Derry
0.3 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
693 reviews
1.4 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
1.8 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Queens Quay, Derry BT48 7AS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Derry
#6 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#7 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £51 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary hotel located on the bend of River Foyle, 200 yards from Guildhall - Many rooms overlook these points of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hotel Derry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing