We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good small hotel. Welcoming.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This is a really welcoming hotel. Myself and my wife stayed here recently and we had a great time. The bar is really good. We did not eat in the Restuarant as we were meeting friends but it looked lovely.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,125 - 1,131 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

I stayed here recently with a large group of girls as we were in Derry for a hen weekend. Everything was perfect in the hotel. As we all arrived a different times the other girls were allowed to check in no problem without us, which i know doesnt happen in every hotel. Staff were lovely the whole time. The next morning we all went down for breakfast and 3 members of staff approached us asking about our night. They then procedded to come over and talk to us while we were eating and asking about our night and what we could do that day in Derry if we werent rushing home. i have stayed in a lot of hotels but the staff have never been as friendly as what they were in Tower Hotel. Although i cant remember all their names, Angela who helped with the booking was very helpful in the lead up and often emailed to check numbers and if we needed any ideas to let her know and she would sort us out. Highly recommended hotel and easy access into city centre. Will definitely be back. :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SH20202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Right in the center of Derry Town,within the old walls and undercover safe parking.Walking distance to many attractions including Free Derry area and Crafts Shops etc.
Above average hotel with most facilities.

Room Tip: We had street facing rooms,no problems as its a side road leading in from the FRee Derry area that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Durbantraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Very nice stay in Derry/Londonderry. Great location. Very close walk to pubs with live music. Right next to walk. Walked up onto wall (just steps from hotel door) at night for a stunning view of city! The lights, the Bogside all lit up - amazing!!
The staff were helpful and friendly. Especially in the bar. Lovely Girl (so sorry, can't remember her name!) in training made stay exceptional! She makes a wonderful Irish Coffee!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loganpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Stayed here for one night as a couple in April 2012. On arrival we were able to use hotel's underground car park by calling reception for access code, was very secure but could be difficult to find a space when hotel is busy as it's quite small. We were greeted by the friendly reception staff and allocated our room which was on the top floor as requested and faced the main road. The room was a good size for 2, nicely decorated with a modern bathroom which was spotlessly clean. There was also ample tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer available. We had a great night's sleep and checkout also went very smoothly, we didn't eat at the hotel or make use of the gym/spa so cannot comment. Enjoyed our short stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Request a high room with a view of river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMcK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Was over for the weekend in November of 2011 with friends. Booked 3 rooms and was greeted very nicely by a lovely girl called Angela on reception who checked us in and gave us our room keys. Rooms were excellent with some great views over the Bogside, and beds were extremely comfortable and décor was very modern and stylish. After freshening up in the room we had a few drinks in the Hotel bar which was quite cheap considering how nice the hotel was. In the morning we went down to the Restaurant for breakfast and was served by a very enthusiastic and delightful girl named Kadie. Since then we have booked up again for June of this year and look forward to returning. Calum.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Stayed for one night, a warm welcome from friendly desk staff and helpful in recommending places to eat. The girl behind the bar was very friendly. Room was very basic and the wife found a small stain on the bed sheet but we were quickly supplied with a new sheet.
Location is great inside the old city walls and the breakfast was nice but fairly expensive.
Overall not sure it deserves 4 stars, that is probably due to the spa but we didn't use that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#2 of 13 in Derry
780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £62 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing