We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only barely a 4*, but good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Only barely a 4*, but good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A lot of other reviewers have said this is not a 4* hotel, and while I do agree in some respect, it's not quite poor enough to say its should be down graded to 3*.

Pro's:

Great central location within Derry city walls
Nice food, not amazing but decent
Good size standard rooms
Good value (We used a supervalu getaway voucher)
Lots of fresh flowers in the common areas

Con's:

Rooms were a little dated
No swimming pool
Gym was very poor and small (Don't go expecting a full fitness centre!)
The Wifi is not free, and is extremely expensive to buy, See my travellers tip! ;)

Room Tip: Do not buy the hotels very expensive Wifi, instead go out to the old derry city walls outside the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SligoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    317
    127
    35
    11
See reviews for
183
440
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel being the only one inside the wall had a perfect location for me. I could enjoy the rich history of the area and then simply walk the wall back to the hotel. It was within walking distance of the Peace bridge and many shops and restaurants. The rooms were fine and comfortable and breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

very good lovely views good breakfast fast efficient hotel well run very clean good info given by staff
parking car no hassle
food in restaurant very good and service great
very handy to peace bridge and main shopping

Room Tip: very central to shops taxi or bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Domnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I decided to book my hen weekend in The Tower hotel as I stayed here last year for a weekend away and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.. All the girls have been raving since our return how well treated we were by the staff in the Tower.. Food in the restaurant was top quality, breakfast just delicious and rooms beautiful.. I just want to thank all the staff we encountered on our stay for making my hen memorable.. Keep up the good work, and no doubt we will be back soon for a relaxing break .. Thank you.. From miss j Gribben and her hens xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgribben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Aussies travelling found this hotel on Laterooms. Difficult finding parking, but eventually found parking underneath for free. Wouldn't want to have a large car. Amazing room, actually a suite, with a separate lounge/dining & large bedroom. !80 degree views from 3rd floor right next to wall. Beautiful dinner with a fantastic waitress, Kadie. Staff helpful & friendly. Good breakfast. We got a good deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canberra39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stay here for one night at the start of my trip around Ireland. The hotel has a great location next to Diamond Square.

Upon arrival I got checked in quickly. The room was a good size but in need of deceration. The view from the room was ok, overlooking the back of the hotel but cound see the Peace Bridge over the River Foyle in the distance.

The tv in the room was not the newest and at an angle that was not easy to see from the bed.

Wifi was not free which is a bit disappointing.

The staff were excellent, always friendly and helpful

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottooooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We started a trip around Ireland and our first stop was The Tower Hotel in Derry. What a start! Staff were great, really friendly and helped in any way they could. Rooms were modern and spotless with comfortable beds and amazing views of the Foyle river from the window. We had dinner included in the offer and it was great to have such tasty food after day of sightseeing. The waiting staff were lovely and easy to talk to and did whatever they could to help. The dining room overlooks the town walls and we had lovely seat by the window to take in the views. In the morning we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast before continuing on. It was self service and quantity was matched with quality. It was perfect start to our trip and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delaminco77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing