We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 star hotel for the price of a 3 star” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“5 star hotel for the price of a 3 star”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We got a free upgrade to an executive room which made are stay all the more enjoyable.The staff were well trained any very polite especially the ginger and dark haired girls in the restaurant.There was nothing much to fault in the hotel although I couldnt find the ice machine on the 4th floor The gym was nothing special but who really cares about fitness when you're away for the weekend.I was more impressed with the free car parking in a city centre.All in all it was real value for money and would recommend this hotel to anyone so thank you to all concerned

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    305
    125
    33
    10
See reviews for
176
430
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Really great service throughout the hotel. All staff friendly and very helpfull. We stayed in the Eleanor suite which is part of the tower itself and it really was worth the extra bit fantastic room and the view was superb, we were looking down onto the famous wall. Very clean, great food, breakfast in particular was very nice and great bar. Would reccommend it to anyone wishing to stay in the city as its the only hotel within the historic city walls.

Room Tip: We stayed in eleanor suite and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Recently a friend and I stayed at the Tower Hotel in Derry. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and professional receptionist who promptly allocated us our room. The room was a nice size, comfortable,and homely,and boasted two of the biggest single beds I have ever seen,and the last word in comfort to boot. For breakfast which was self service, had a very large selection of all things nice,so top marks for breakfast. Dinner,while I had no faults with it, I feel could be a little more adventurous,and also I would like to see a bit more choice on the dessert menu. Would I go back again? Certainly. Would I recommend it to a friend? Certainly.

Room Tip: Could not really, as the room we were in faced onto the street and was very quite, so no gripes abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

A lot of other reviewers have said this is not a 4* hotel, and while I do agree in some respect, it's not quite poor enough to say its should be down graded to 3*.

Pro's:

Great central location within Derry city walls
Nice food, not amazing but decent
Good size standard rooms
Good value (We used a supervalu getaway voucher)
Lots of fresh flowers in the common areas

Con's:

Rooms were a little dated
No swimming pool
Gym was very poor and small (Don't go expecting a full fitness centre!)
The Wifi is not free, and is extremely expensive to buy, See my travellers tip! ;)

Room Tip: Do not buy the hotels very expensive Wifi, instead go out to the old derry city walls outside the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SligoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

This hotel being the only one inside the wall had a perfect location for me. I could enjoy the rich history of the area and then simply walk the wall back to the hotel. It was within walking distance of the Peace bridge and many shops and restaurants. The rooms were fine and comfortable and breakfast was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

very good lovely views good breakfast fast efficient hotel well run very clean good info given by staff
parking car no hassle
food in restaurant very good and service great
very handy to peace bridge and main shopping

Room Tip: very central to shops taxi or bus
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Domnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

I decided to book my hen weekend in The Tower hotel as I stayed here last year for a weekend away and thoroughly enjoyed my stay.. All the girls have been raving since our return how well treated we were by the staff in the Tower.. Food in the restaurant was top quality, breakfast just delicious and rooms beautiful.. I just want to thank all the staff we encountered on our stay for making my hen memorable.. Keep up the good work, and no doubt we will be back soon for a relaxing break .. Thank you.. From miss j Gribben and her hens xx

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jgribben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing