We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great time in Derry NI”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great time in Derry NI”
Reviewed 14 September 2012

traveled to Derry in September 2012 for a few days. Hotel staff very friendly, hotel was fantastic, great location as well right in the heart of the city.

Superb breakfast, would definitely stay here again, if your looking for a great hotel look no further!.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    320
    129
    36
    12
See reviews for
185
448
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Hotel itself needs updating but that's my only gripe! Staff, food and service was fantastic! The breakfast buffet is like nothing I've seen before! So much choice. Would recommend to anyone visiting Derry!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoswatchinwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I attended a wedding in this hotel on Saturday 1st of September. The location was excellant and very central for all those attending the wedding. The management and staff were magnificient, the service and food second to none. Anyone looking to book their wedding in the near future should definitely check out this hotel.
A big THANK YOU to all the staff and management. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218MarionM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The location of this hotel is excellent, right next to the town walls and convenient for shopping and sightseeing in Derry. As mentioned in other reviews, this means that the parking space is limited but luckily we managed to get a space under the hotel. I am not sure what the alternative parking would be - there is a multi-storey car park about 10 mins walk away but it might be worth checking with the hotel prior to booking what would happen in the event of the hotel car park being full on arrival.

We were greeted on check-in by friendly receptionist in a very modern and stylish reception area. We had booked two double rooms and were assigned rooms on the first floor which had a very large, comfortable double bed and an additional single bed. The rooms we had were large and clean but slightly dated. There was a lot of noise from the pub on the other side of the wall until about 1am, not a problem for us as we had only arrived back in the room shortly before but if you were wanting to get an early night, you might find it distracting. All in all we slept well.

Breakfast was a bit of a disorganised affair. We were 'checked-in' and told to find a table and help ourselves to a buffet style hot and cold breakfast. The tables had not been reset after use and the staff were so rushed off their feet, we had to wait a while before getting our table reset. Also there was no facility to help yourself to hot drinks and we had to ask a number of times before getting a cup of tea. Despite this, the breakfast selection was good and tasty enough. The hotel management might want to consider having extra staff on shifts that are especially busy as the staff that were working were doing the best they could under the circumstances.

We paid £200 for 2 rooms for 2 nights B&B and despite a few small grumbles, I feel we got a good deal. I would return to this hotel if only for the excellent location. The views over the wall and the proximity to everything you would want to see in Derry is excellent. Also there is a Whetherspoons pub 5 mins away in the Diamond (the main square in the centre of the walled part of Derry). Whilst I'm not a massive Whetherspoons fan, this one in particular was excellent - the food, beer and atmosphere was loads better than your average Whetherspoons pub - worth a visit for a cheap bite to eat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_fan_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference recently. The staff were really helpful. The rooms were very nice and well equipped and the bar staff went out of their way to be nice (the taps in their bar weren't working, so they had to pour beers in the restaurant section).

The stay was let down by some issues - hotels that charge for Internet access are a personal bugbear of mine. £8.95 for 24 hours access is a total ripoff and would put me off staying again. Similarly, charging £2.95 for a bottle of water in the room strikes me as a little much.

However, the thing that let this hotel down the most was the fact that there was a *lot* of black mould in the shower in the bathroom in my room. It's not a massive deal - it's just an attention to detail thing. There was quite a bit in the corners of the tub and plenty behind the taps in the bath.

The front of house staff are brilliant here - incredibly helpful and pleasant. Those niggling issues are the type of thing that would put me off staying again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnamhspairne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2012

me and my wife chose this hotel simply because of the wedding packages, we wanted to get married but didnt wanna splash out as we dont believe in payin thousands of pounds 4 people to share your special day, right now down to buisness the first contact in the hotel was connor who was absolutly amazing i dont no how he coped with me and my nerves i was more a groomzilla than my wife was a bridezilla he attended to all our needs and went beyond what was expected 4 the price of the package then the big day arrived nerves up the left met connors colleague jay who was amazing on the day all in all the day went without a hitch and the room was clean lookin over the bogside.

would just like to thank all the staff for an amazing day as i forgot to do it in my speech as the nerves got me

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We got a free upgrade to an executive room which made are stay all the more enjoyable.The staff were well trained any very polite especially the ginger and dark haired girls in the restaurant.There was nothing much to fault in the hotel although I couldnt find the ice machine on the 4th floor The gym was nothing special but who really cares about fitness when you're away for the weekend.I was more impressed with the free car parking in a city centre.All in all it was real value for money and would recommend this hotel to anyone so thank you to all concerned

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 12 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 12 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 12 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing