We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maldron Hotel Derry

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

I had to do research in Derry and the Tower Hotel was where I stayed for an 11-night period. The bed was extraordinarily comfortable and the hotel immaculately kept. The bedding was nice and fluffy and the towels comfortable. Because I was staying for a longer period, I needed bulk laundry to be done and they have the service, rather than an per-piece laundry service. This was fantastic in being able to pack light.

The breakfasts were fairly wide-ranging. One could get a traditional Irish breakfast, or feast on brie and bleu cheese, fruit, yogurt, porridge, and a wide variety of breads. They also offered whiskey for your porridge!

But the staff...they were extremely kind and helpful at every step for me. They were extremely attentive and proud of their city.

I thoroughly enjoyed The Tower Hotel. If you are looking for a hotel in the center of Derry, stay here.

Room Tip: Choose an interior room if you are sensitive to sound. The hotel is inside of the walls, but near W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CubbyBear82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Dear CubbyBear82,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on Tripadvisor, We are delighted to read these comments and are happy the hotel suited your needs, thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mike Gatt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    305
    125
    33
    10
See reviews for
176
430
34
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maghera, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We booked a night's stay in the tower hotel recently and I have to say that our experience there was nothing short of excellent. The staff were all extremely friendly and willing to help us at any time. We also had breakfast in the morning and the food was lovely. The hotel itself is in a great location right in the centre of the city, close to all of the shops and nightlife. I would recommend the hotel to anyone and I will definitely be staying there again, hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Karen H
Thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, Have a very happy 2013 and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

We stayed in the Tower Hotel over the New Years holiday Sunday 30th and New Years Eve. Small touches like the little rope and rail as you enter the hotel from the basement car park set the tone for the excellent standard of care and attention that this hotel and in particular the staff offer. The level of enthusiasm and friendlieness displayed by the staff from arrival at the reception desk to Breakfast and Bar staff was second to none, even when under pressure and working hard - and even on New Years Eve when everybody else was in party mood. I have stayed in many hotels both from a work and holiday persepctive and many could learn from the example set by the hard working people in the Tower Hotel. The room on the third floor was very warm comfortable and spotlessly clean with a large TV and additional seating available in the room. The city itself was also a revelation for a short stay having passed thru on countless occassions but never stayed, it really does match up to all the recent hype. From the Bars on Waterloo street - Peader O'Donnells had a traditional session on the Sunday evening from 5pm to 9pm that would have put many a traditional music hotspot to shame. The Rocking Chair at the top of the hill (the oldest bar in town apparently) really does live up to the tradition of having a drink in the Front Room Carpet and All.

Again the Choice of Restaurants is good enough to match any other city in Ireland we ate in Mama Masalas on the Sunday evening which was excellent, however the Exchange Wine Bar on New Years Eve was first class (the best Sea Bass dish I have sampled in a very long time). We did not have anywhere booked for New Years Eve (mistake) but the Girl we asked in the Exchange initially in the afternoon advised that due to the firework display later they were really only taking bookings for 8 + people. However on explaing our circumstances and first time short stayers in Derry she advised us to come in early before official opening time - order a drink and she would fit us in somehow. The standard of the food was only matched by the care and customer consideration of this employee and it is such people that ensure visiters come and come back again. The Firework display on New Years Eve and the rest of the evening spent in the very quirky and very Derry Sandinos Bar saw us thru to the New Year and a lie in on New Years Day in the Tower.

Do yourself a favour book a weekend in Derry - Stay in the Tower Hotel - Enjoy the people of Derry both at work and at play you will not be disappointed oh and their is even something called the City of Culture this year.

Almost forgot to mention the Walking tour of the walls with CityTours (Martin McCrossin). As someone who thought they new a fair bit about the city and its history this was another revelation from the seige to the more recent history thru to the City of Culture nothing was missed and much more added. Having driven thru the Diamond on many occassions it was only this time that I stood their viewing each of the four gates only a few hundred yards away in each direction, giving a true perspective on the walled city for the first time - Unmissable Take This TOUR.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealMcC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Realmccoy13,

Thank you for your comments and we are delighted you are happy with the Tower Hotel and enjoyed your stay. As there is a lot going on during 2013 to celebrate our City of Culture year we hope that you choose to come back and stay in the Tower Hotel the only Hotel located within the historic city walls.

Kind Regards

Mike.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Would like to congratulate an amazing team of staff for their outstanding efforts in ensuring the best comfort and enjoyable experience for my three friends and I. We stayed in the hotel over the second weekend of December and I have never been treated in a hotel as well as I was here. The management were absolutely amazing as were all thee other staff. The food was absolutely sublime as was the entertainment at the Christmas party night. Totally amazed that a hotel can provide such a service in such a central location. Big big thank you to all staff at the hotel who made our weekend one to remember and I assure you I will be back and recommending you on to friends and family. Thanks again! Mary G Belfast

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Treasach G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Treasach,

We are delighted to read your kind comments and thank you for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel on your recent visit to the City and We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise just after Christmas and i was so impressed with its appearance, layout and lovely staff. On arrival building looked lovely and the clientele were really friendly and helpful. However, on going up to our suite (which also had been booked as a surprise) we did notice a very loud 'wind' noise from the bedroom window which we commented on back in reception. Having tried it that night and not sleeping well we decided to move to a standard room which perfectly fitted our needs. This is a nice hotel in a good location but I just dont think I would stay here again. The restaurant serves very small portions.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room, be wary of 'wind'noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Hello Nuala M,

Thank you for your review and also for choosing to stay at the Tower Hotel. I am delighted to read that our central location suited your needs and you found the hotel to be nice during your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Mike Gatt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We enjoyed a weekend stay recently in this hotel just before Christmas- its a great hotel centrally located within the city walls -ideal for shopping and sightseeing.
The staff on reception were very helpful and friendly -our check in was dealt with efficiently.
The rooms were comfortable and stylishly furnished -the standard of cleanliness is excellent throughout the hotel. I had a great view of the Peace Bridge from my room.
Food and service in the restaurant was superb during our stay including a
wide and varied choice for breakfast.
Overall this is a very friendly and comfortable hotel -staff are very approachable and willing to
deal with any queries you might have- we enjoyed a great weekend and hope to visit again in 2013.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a great view over the Peace Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patriciamc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Over the past few years we have stayed 4 or 5 times in this hotel and it is continually improving. The first time it was just okay but because it was priced so low it didn't matter so much. But since then each visit has been better and better in every area. The staff are lovely. The tv's in the rooms are so much better and good channel selection. Cleanliness of the room and quality of the mattress is excellent. The bar food is lovely and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant, Michelle served us and was adoreable. The restaurant deserves to be busier for the quality and presentation of the food but I know they face alot of competition in the city. The breakfast has improved in everyway by about 100% in quality of produce and in the way its laid out. Even a simple thing such as being asked by the member of bar staff (didn't get her name, sorry) "if we would like another drink?" instead of being ignored as you could be in other places if its quiet. The receptionist was lovely and very professional. Of course the down side is the limited on site carparking space which the hotel doesn't hide and in fairness is beyond their control. In the past we have had both onsite parking and not onsite and I certainly wouldn't let it put me off staying here. I wish the hotel the very best for 2013 as any business which continually strieves to do better deserves every success!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 11 in Derry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
2.8 mi away
Beech Hill Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing