We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A damn good hotel and a damn good price !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Derry
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A damn good hotel and a damn good price !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

I traveled to Derry in January to witness the finest city to still be within walls in UK, that includes Chester. The Hotel is almost part of the walls and views are spectacular especially from the gym, the size of rooms for the money £49 a night is top hole and the surroundings bar and staff were second to none, what a fantastic long weekend, cant wait to go back for the festivities for city of Culture in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    317
    127
    35
    11
See reviews for
183
440
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed here over the St Paddys day weekend and although the hotel was full you never got the feeling of being crowded or rushed. The layout in the public areas is ideal with the bar and restaurant in separate closed off locations which means that the comfy sofas are available to enjoy for guests. Family room was an excellent size with double bed single and wee camp bed which wasn't bad quality - suited my 8 year old. Breakfast is fantastic. Kids both said sausages were brilliant ;-). All in all a great hotel, excellent location and helpful staff make this a place to want to go back to.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahMcg_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

we stayed in the tower march 2013 myself my husband and my granddaughter, the hotel is beautiful, spotless clean, great food, staff very helpful, friendly and bent over backwards to help you enjoy your stay. If you need any extra in your room as ie birthday, annaversary let the staff no and they will do something special for you. Breakfast is fantastic starting with cereal, porriage with fruit or whiskey, selection of breads and pasteries and an irish fry also fruits and yougarts. the music in the bar and the cocktails are outstanding. You couldnt be more central staying in this hotel with the shops a 2 min walk away and if you fancy a good pint of the black stuff go to the little pub tracys just round the corner. If i had anything negitave to say about this hotel it is just one tiny thing the parking is a problem but my husband is disabled and we have always got a parking space but it is limited. So this hotel also had toilets and baths for the disabled which was great so just let the staff know and you will get the best treatment. roll on august me and my husband have book this hotel again and we have booked it in october for holloween. would def come back again and again

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcihelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

What a beautiful hotel, stayed there with my mum, staff are very helpful & friendly Michelle the waitress very friendly, the chief Elizabeth great cook food very high standard!!! I will certainly be back, the Derry wall is beside the hotel, your central to everything, no need for transport walking distance to Resturants & bars, bus station 10 minute walk

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irvine86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We were happy to find this hotel at the end of a long day. The location was terrific, the staff gracious and welcoming, parking free, and the rooms clean and well appointed.

We found a great pub just down the street (Wetherspoons?) and were able to take a short walk outside the walls to see the Bloody Sunday memorial. And the breakfast was very good, with lots of choices and good service.

The only thing we found lacking was the pricey wifi option.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awandererx10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for 2 nights bed, breakfast and one evening meal in the Tower Hotel. We stayed in the Elenor Suite and what an experience, it was just fabulous. Both breakfast and dinner at the hotel were superb. The hotel is central to everything and the staff are the most helpful and friendly staff you could ever meet. We were lucky to be there at the launch of the new Lyric bar and would recommend a visit. We could not fault the hotel in any way. We felt so relaxed and refreshed after our break at the hotel and would highly recommend anyone to choose the Tower hotel when visiting Derry - we will certainly be back. Thanks to everyone at the hotel for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Enhance your holiday by booking one of their amazing suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in the Tower Hotel at the beginning of March. What a fab location! Central to city shopping, socialising and the many city attractions. We had a fantastic room overlooking the 'Peace Bridge'. The staff were absolutely amazing and were so helpful in everything we asked off. We got a great rate on our room too. I have never stayed overnight in Derry before, but I can assure you we will definitely visit the Tower again - particularly this year - City of Culture! So much entertainment ahead! The whole experience was wonderful and I would definitely recommend a stay at the Tower Hotel. Don't forget to eat in the restaurant - the food is absolutely superior!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,950 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Belfray Country Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#6 Luxury Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing