We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Derry
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed there last weekend. Impressed with the location and good value but overall it is a medium 3 star hotel at best.
We ate in the bar on the first day. Chowder had plenty of fish but totally tasteless, panini served with wilted undressed leaves and cold chips.
Breakfast while there was a good selection, was chafing dishes packed to capacity with semi coloured rashers, overcooked eggs and lukewarm sausages. They don't have enough seats when the hotel is full and there were people waiting 25 mins for tables on the second morning, not acceptable. The rooms were clean, quite small but functionable. There were 3 different hen parties staying there so it was quite noisy.The sofas and chairs throughout the hotel are in need of repair and a good cleaning .
And lastly, I was very surprised how surly and unfriendly the majority of the staff were with only 2 exceptions. I have stayed in a few worse hotels but a lot of better ones.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
I appreciate you taking the time to post your review.
On behalf of the entire team , I would like to sincerely apologise that you found us lacking on this occasion , I can assure you it was not our intention to disappoint .
Since you last stayed , We have now re branded to Maldron Hotel and undergone a refurbishment .
We do hope you will consider giving us an opportunity to restore your faith in us ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

959 - 965 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tower Hotel for three nights during a works event and it was a pleasure, I really loved the bar food and the relaxing atmosphere within the hotel, the staff are among the best I have ever experienced in ANY hotel and due to my job I have stayed in plenty. Well done guys and I would choose this hotel again anytime.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrboyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Warmly welcomed by friendly staff who could not do enough for us. Great attention to detail in the Dining Suite. Tables and chairs were laid out with blue bows which shows the detail the staff go to make our event very colourful. No problem with the comms either. The bar was good afterwards.
Staff were very friendly always with a smile . The rooms were spacious and comfortable. The Breakfast was excellent. the location is great to walk the Walls of Derry .
Overall we had agreat stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOHNLIMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed for 3 nights & were particularly impressed by its convenient location inside the city walls, with secure parking underneath. Our room was very spacious and comfortable, with bath & shower. Breakfast was fantastic, with huge choice, staff were friendly & helpful. Really outstanding value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreservedKillick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I stayed at the Tower Hotel in Derry for 2 nights during a tour. The hotel is pleasant and the rooms are clean but need updating. The staff was very helpful and the hotel is in a great location with an adjoining bar, the Lyric. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Tower hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay . Our entire team pride themselves on their customer service and I am delighted that you experienced this first hand.
Since your last stay , we have had a refurbishment and we are now re branded to the Maldron Hotel.
We do hope we can welcome you back again soon ,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I was never in Derry before, we stayed at the Tower Hotel on Butcher Street and it was fantastic. The buffet breakfast was amazing. 10/10. We will definitely go back. We spent most of the day walking the Walls of Derry and this was followed by an amazing Chinese. The weather was dry which made our stay even more fantastic. We ended our week end away with a visit to Primark. The receptionist allowed us to check out and leave our car in the under ground car park of the hotel which I thought was very kind of her. I would recommend any one who has never been to Derry that they should go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concepta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here at the weekend. Warm, quiet room in what can be a noisy City on a Saturday night. Extremely helpful staff and Manager to a point of beyond the call of duty.Would definitely recommend staying here when in Londonderry/Derry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silverbadger1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaldronHotelDerry, Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest ,
Thank you for your fantastic review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay .
Since you last stayed with us , we have undergone a bedroom refurbishment and we have re branded to Maldron Hotel.

We do hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Warm Regards,
Linda Folan,
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#8 of 13 in Derry
2,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
661 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#4 of 13 in Derry
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
0.1 mi away
Shipquay Boutique Hotel
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
Price Range: £51 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing