We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Derry
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Derry
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good value and good location”
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Clean and nice hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Location is excellent for the centre of town but no real view from the rooms. Decor is a bit dated. Didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food. Wi-Fi was not free but once subscribed, was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiedan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelmanager2013, Guest Relations Manager at Maldron Hotel Derry, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Andiedan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Tower Hotel, we do have 'Bogside' facing rooms on request and these have great views of the city, it is unfortunate you did not experience this on your recent stay. We are delighted that our staff were helpful and friendly and again thank you so much

Angela Fitzpatrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    335
    143
    36
    13
See reviews for
205
465
36
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffield,CT
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We stayed here for a night and wished we could have stayed longer. We had tow rooms which were so comfortable. It was a really pleasant and relaxing stay. The best thing about this hotel is it's location, right inside the walls of the city, everything was within walking distance and easy access to the walk around the walls, shopping and great restaurants. We took Martin's tour which was excellent; he will meet you right in the lobby, a definite must for your trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funloving5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Average hotel, good central location, rooms very average, I've stayed in better budget hotels. The hotel bar serves decent food but can be very quiet. On the plus side the buffet breakfast is good value for money. For a one night business stop an overall 6/10.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over Valentines weekend and have to say I was well impressed. We had booked the Valentines package which meants strawberries and champaign on ice waiting for us as we entered the room. We also had the 5 course evening meal, which was great. The staff where very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is clean, up-to-date (flat screen TV's etc) and has a decent gym on the 4th floor. If i had to find a fault it would be that the room we were staying in was abit of the small side, however it didnt take away from the enjoyment of the stay. The hotel is ideally located, and everything you need is outside the main door. Reasonably priced, and very much enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I stayed there last weekend and canot recommend the hotel enough. The staff were friendly, helpful and couldn't do enough for us. The rooms were immaculate and very comfortable. I had both breakfast, lunch and dinner in the hotel and on all occasions found the food delicious and the service prompt, efficient and courteous. I was very happy with my stay and will definitely us the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed there last weekend. Impressed with the location and good value but overall it is a medium 3 star hotel at best.
We ate in the bar on the first day. Chowder had plenty of fish but totally tasteless, panini served with wilted undressed leaves and cold chips.
Breakfast while there was a good selection, was chafing dishes packed to capacity with semi coloured rashers, overcooked eggs and lukewarm sausages. They don't have enough seats when the hotel is full and there were people waiting 25 mins for tables on the second morning, not acceptable. The rooms were clean, quite small but functionable. There were 3 different hen parties staying there so it was quite noisy.The sofas and chairs throughout the hotel are in need of repair and a good cleaning .
And lastly, I was very surprised how surly and unfriendly the majority of the staff were with only 2 exceptions. I have stayed in a few worse hotels but a lot of better ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Tower Hotel for three nights during a works event and it was a pleasure, I really loved the bar food and the relaxing atmosphere within the hotel, the staff are among the best I have ever experienced in ANY hotel and due to my job I have stayed in plenty. Well done guys and I would choose this hotel again anytime.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrboyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
0.2 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#7 of 13 in Derry
2,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 13 in Derry
592 reviews
1.1 mi away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 13 in Derry
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Da Vinci's Hotel Derry
2.0 mi away
Waterfoot Hotel
Waterfoot Hotel
#11 of 13 in Derry
533 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Plus White Horse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maldron Hotel Derry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Derry

Property: Maldron Hotel Derry
Address: Butcher Street | The Diamond, Derry BT48 6HL, Northern Ireland (Formerly Tower Hotel Derry)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Derry
#5 Luxury Hotel in Derry
#5 Romantic Hotel in Derry
#5 Family Hotel in Derry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Maldron Hotel Derry 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern building and interior, The only hotel within Derry's historic walls - City centre, ideally located and the closest Hotel to both of the Citys Shopping Centres. Has on-site Restaurant, Function room, meeting spaces and Music Themed Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Maldron Hotel Derry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Derry
Maldron Hotel Derry Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing